We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bella Vista Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$116
US$103
Priceline
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$175
US$171
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$222
US$192
Priceline
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$336
US$323
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$65
US$62
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,905)
Filter reviews
1,906 results
Traveler rating
255
486
480
343
342
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
255
486
480
343
342
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe busentertainment every nightbus servicerooftop terracebad reviewsbugibba squarecold meatsplenty of choicefresh towelscleaned every daypasta dishescleaned dailyvincekeyboard
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 1,906 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Did not think it possible for an hotel to be this bad but I was wrong.
Luckily we were bed and breakfast did us not have to face the dirty cups and disgusting food too much.
The entertainment was a guy try to ring the same songs 10 different ways.
It is also a long way from the centre so you have a good 10 minutes walk through the dog mess covered streets to get there.
If you are desperate for a break then possibly would recommend stay ing at home rather than go to this place. Horrendous never again it has put me off the place forever

Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Freddymay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaltaCorrection, Manager at Bella Vista Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

dear Freddymay, we thank you for your review.My apologies nothing seemed good enough for you in the hotel.The cups are all cleaned in the washers and each and every one is polished by our staff.We are human beings and we make mistakes, surely not all the cups were dirty.You were on bed and breakfast, surely you could not judge the food if you only ate an egg & sausages.Again my apologies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We've just got back from a 4 day trip away with friends and in summary, don't judge Malta based on this hotel! When we arrived, it was quite early due to early flights, we couldn't check in til 2pm which was fine as we already knew about it. There was a lot of paper work to complete on the reception desk asking personal details for each guest like name/address/telephone/email/passport number etc. I just think that this level of intrusion is a bit excessive as you aren't told what is going to be done with your personal details. I can understand your passport for obvious reasons but not the rest, bit unnecessary.

We had a walk around the hotel area and went outside to see the pool area. There was no water in the pool and it was cordoned off with red tape, when we asked about it we were told it was broken but they couldn't tell us when it would be fixed and said " it's too cold to swim there anyway, use the indoor pool".

Being English, we think temperatures in double figures is hot enough to get you bikinis out and sunbathe! So it certainly wasn't too cold for us. That was probably the biggest let down for us because we like to sit around the pool and enjoy the sun having a laugh but it was just desolate. The pictures on here from the hotel themselves are taken about 9am when the sun is over the pool but after about midday you never see the sun again! Big big shame we feel like we were misled booking this hotel it was nothing like what we expected.

There's a lot of bad reviews about food on here, personally I'm a really fussy eater, but I would say there really isn't a lot of choice for the meals and I wouldn't even bother with breakfast to be honest! We decided to eat out the last two days because we were absolutely starving. Lots of places in buggiba square to eat and it's much better food choices than here trust me! We were all inclusive but this is the last time we ever do this!

The rooms. Where do I start. We had 2, one was facing a solid 15 foot high wall and had a 2 foot tall fence between the neighbours (no privacy whatsoever) and the other was overlooking construction work next door. Really disappointing views to say the least. My bedside table callapsed and was never fixed during our stay, the sheets were not changed once but beds were made, the cups provided in the room were never removed or replaced despite clearly being used so we had to use dirty cups every morning! The toilet leaked when flushing, the shower was spraying water everywhere out of the pipe and falling off the wall. Just really not 4 star quality. I also asked for a softer pillow as they were really hard and lumpy this was never received. Didn't feel like we could complain to anyone cos the staff are very rude on reception, I think it was Omar who we saw the most. Very rude man.

Malta is a very lovely island but avoid this hotel at all costs!

Stayed: March 2018, traveled with friends
3  Thank Danielle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaltaCorrection, Manager at Bella Vista Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

dear Danielle, we thank you for your feedback.It is normal for hotels in Malta to ask for guests details in case something happens.We had guests travelling on their own who were hospitalised and their relatives could be contacted from the address and details given.The outside pool needs maintenance and we have to do it around March/ April before the summer season.It needs to dry properly ( about 10 days) before they work on it.My apologies if our staff were not very welcoming.We have managers on duty everyday in case guests feel
they were not well served.My apologies if things were not up to your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Just returned from a four day break at this 4 star hotel - firstly this is not a four star hotel more like two - on arrival Omar in reception is very rude he doesn’t seem to care if people complain which various people did- on arriving to the room (we had two rooms booked) the view from the balcony was a brick wall facing us no privacy and the building work is horrendous next door ( ok not fault of the hotel) but need to let guests know the true extent - on getting to our room it looked ok on first inspection but sadly that two was a let down pillows were lumpy, bedside cabinet collapsed toilet and shower leaked and only one toilet roll - on asking we were told this would be rectified but we took to hiding toilet rolls to make sure !!! No tv showing sport entertainment poor nothing for children to do pool was empty or broke we couldn’t decide furniture round pool dirty - our room was only cleaned once during our stay beds were not made cups not washed - on the whole staff in restaurant and bar work hard but they look like dont enjoy their job - location too far away from anything - on the plus side the shop stocks most things the excursion guy is spot on and the weather was good - there is a box in reception asking for any complaints to be made during your stay but personally I would not have complained due to the rudeness of the staff- avoid if possible this hotel and do not judge Malta on this hotel

Stayed: March 2018, traveled with friends
3  Thank janiceberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaltaCorrection, Manager at Bella Vista Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

dear Janice, my apologies if the staff were not very friendly during your stay with us.The rooms are cleaned daily and bedding changed every three days.Our staff enjoy their work, it is true the hotels have problems because we cannot find local staff to work in the catering industry.Most hotels have to employ foreign staff and unfortunately their English is not always perfect, and it is not easy for them to communicate with guests.We appreciate when guests tell us were we can improve, if possible when they are still in the hotel.That way some things could be rectified there & then. My apologies some things were not up to your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2018 via mobile

We stayed 11 nights at this hotel. Rooms were a bit dated but very clean. Had a kettle and tv. The cleaners were thorough every day. The reception staff were efficient and Omar was helpful on a few occasions. The meals were good but repetitive. Plenty of choice at each meal. The waiting staff were quick and efficient. We were all inclusive and were able to get packed lunches if ordered previous day. The drinks were limited but the coffees and hot chocolate were delicious. In the evening they had entertainment. Karaoke,guitarist,singers,keyboard player. Quite good.The ground floor is set up as a snack bar area with TVs showing sport and the lounge area for entertainment. Worked well as my husband watched football and I could still enjoy the music etc. The hotel has a complimentary shuttle bus (an open topped bus) at 9am & 10am to the local bus station in the town centre.From there you can go all over the island. We found the rooftop sun terrace good but a bit windy. The inside pool and jacuzzi were great with showers for after your swim. The sauna was chargeable. They have safes in each room which you pay for. Remember to take beach towels for pool areas. Across from hotel is Kennedy Park. A very good ,new Children’s play area. Park area for walks with a commemoration to President Kennedy.We enjoyed our stay and will return in November.

Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
2  Thank issy6922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaltaCorrection, Manager at Bella Vista Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

dear guest, we thank you for a good review. We are pleased you found our staff very helpful and efficient.We had a number of windy days in March, but we did have some sunny days as well.Thank you for choosing Malta, it will be nice to see you again in November.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2018

ive gotto say this hotel and its staff are amazing and will go out there way to make you happy, vince on the front desk is the most nicest guy ive ever met and bent over backwards to make his customers happy, he should be called super vince as there nothing this man cant sort out for you and if he cant im sure he will make you happy with another solution, the hotel is spotless and from 7am in the morning to late there cleaning the place all day long!! the meals where really nice with lots of Choices each night but after 8 weeks (3 weeks in hospital 5 weeks in hotel) you can get a little fed up but thats not the hotels fault as some would say!! the entertainment at nights is a guy on the keyboard or karaoke and had a good few nights singing along with the rest of the customers, the place is very friendly and met some wonderful people and some real funny ones too, our room was very big and had an extra bed too and the cleaners come in every morning and make the place spotless again, they are a very friendly and very helpful too, i just want to say a very personal thank you for everything you done for us while we where staying and a big thank you for helping us out so much the way you did!! all in all YOU GUYS ROCK!! thank you!!

  • Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews