We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pasta dishes”

Enoteca L'Alchimista
Ranked #6 of 36 Restaurants in Montefalco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$42
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: L'Alchimista è una scienza il cui primo fine era trasformare metalli vili in oro. L'Alchimista per noi è l'intento di trasformare i prodotti della natura in piatti che possano essere "d'oro".
Reviewed 30 March 2016

We had lunch here shortly after arriving in Montefalco. We shared an artichoke parmigiana starter and then each had a different pasta dish (white veal ragu and "fake carbonara"). All 3 dishes were excellent, especially the carbonara-like dish made using a saffron butter, courgettes and pancetta.

L'Alchimista is also an Enoteca and has a great selection of old vintage wine bottles from across Italy. We came back the next morning before leaving Montefalco and bought a couple. Hopefully they have been stored well, but certainly we're looking forward to cracking them open sometime soon.

Date of visit: March 2016
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,954)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

134 - 138 of 1,954 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2016

The restaurant is set in the main square of Montefalco and has some table outside, surely great in the warm season. We took a starter and a second dish: the artichokes were amazing and the other dishes were very good too. We came in a pretty busy moment but the plates arrived on time and everything went smooth.

Date of visit: March 2016
Thank Gippuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 March 2016 via mobile

Excellent food and good atmosphere. Not the standard trattoria as they also offer things like pigeon and a full menu based on artichokes. Would definitely go back if I'm in the area.

Date of visit: March 2016
Thank PPPawel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 February 2016

This is by far my fav restaurant. Their food is delicious and very delicate. whichever food you pick from the menu will never let you down. The best time to come is summer, because they have tables outside where you can have lunch or dinner looking at the Piazza. Inside the restaurant is also beautiful but with small children it is more convenient to stay outdoor.

When do you want to satisfy your palate, come there!

Date of visit: January 2016
Thank Syarifah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 December 2015

We went here on the advice of Trip Advisor. It was a great experience. We sat in the lower level which has a great feel of archways of brick and appropriate lighting. The food was excellent. We were there for lunch and had salads and pastas. Also a very nice wine selection. In the upstairs entry, you can buy local wines and EVVO. We took home a couple of bottles of the local Montefalco red.
We highly recommend this charming restaurant.

Date of visit: December 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 727keng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Enoteca L'Alchimista also viewed

Montefalco, Province of Perugia
Montefalco, Province of Perugia
 
Montefalco, Province of Perugia
Montefalco, Province of Perugia
 
Montefalco, Province of Perugia
 

Been to Enoteca L'Alchimista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing