We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
US$205
US$175
View deal
Expedia.comUS$175
FindHotelUS$175
PricelineUS$175
Hotels.comUS$175
TravelocityUS$175
ZenHotels.comUS$205
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,319)
Filter reviews
2,319 results
Traveler rating
1,062
871
249
80
57
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,062
871
249
80
57
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the crow's nest captain's deck downtown anchorage corner room large hotel snow city cafe valet parking bit dated room was spacious stayed one night fletchers cruise alaska bellman mountains luggage robes
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
587 - 592 of 2,319 reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2017

Very nice hotel lobby, restaurants, shops, plus friendly personnel. We stayed 3 nights in a spacious, but ordinary hotel room 1074 in Tower 3 (safe, refrigerator, Keurig coffee maker with some kcups). It was quiet with a street view; cars could be heard but there was hardly any traffic. A nice feature in the bathroom was the shower head being in the ceiling above the tub. We had a few housekeeping issues. Breakfast at the Café was very good (way too much bacon in the omelet!) and a dinner for our group in the Quarter Deck room was outstanding.

Room tip: Higher floors are quieter with better views of either the city, surrounding mountains, or the water.
Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bglhvn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cookconcierge, Guest Relations Manager at The Hotel Captain Cook, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2017

Dear Bglhvn,

Thank you for staying at the Hotel Captain Cook and taking the time to provide this review. We're so glad you enjoyed the accommodations and our friendly staff. It sounds like the dining options in the hotel were a great fit as well. We hope you'll return to Anchorage for another pleasant stay!

Louisa, Concierge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 June 2017

I stayed at Captain's Deck 3 nights before I start Denali. I like the pool. Gym is small but has enough for me. Good Sauna and Steam room though can be busy at peak hour. Swedish Massage was not what I expected. Front desk is always so busy you can hardly get their attention due to massive cruise crowd. Give yourself at least 15min. to check out! Breakfast at Captain's Deck is very average. Overall a good hotel if not at peak season.

Date of stay: May 2017
Thank SuperShan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cookconcierge, Guest Relations Manager at The Hotel Captain Cook, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2017

Dear SuperShan1,

Thank you for staying at the Hotel Captain Cook and taking the time to provide this review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay overall, especially the pool and athletic club. Anchorage is much busier during the summer months with so many visitors, but we make it our priority to attend to each of our guests with the same service and attention. We hope you'll return to Anchorage for another memorable trip!

Louisa, Concierge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 June 2017

We stayed for three nights at the end of our trip. Location is ideal. Our Junior suite was spacious with a wonderful view. Staff was pleasant and accommodating. Crow's Nest was outstanding for dinner and drinks!

Room tip: Junior Suite is nice with a great view!
Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ugadog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cookconcierge, Guest Relations Manager at The Hotel Captain Cook, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2017

Dear Ugadog,

Thank you for staying at the Hotel Captain Cook and providing this review. It sounds like the spacious suite and attentive service helped to make it a memorable stay for you. We're so glad you enjoyed dining in the Crow's Nest also. We hope you'll make your way back to Alaska for another great trip!

Louisa, Concierge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 June 2017 via mobile

We stayed at the Captain Cook after our Denali tour post cruise, it was a big hotel in a great location.
Comfortable room with good bedding and facilities for the one night stay.
Our only issue was the dining in the hotel, with only one restaurant /bar open (the restaurant had a private function), hundreds of tourists from the tour and also those coming or going on the cruises it was very busy as was the town.
Delays in waiting for tables over 1 hour.

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Bernadette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cookconcierge, Guest Relations Manager at The Hotel Captain Cook, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2017

Dear Bernadette S,

Thank you for staying at the Hotel Captain Cook. We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with feedback about your stay. We're happy to hear that it was a comfortable stay and that you enjoyed own downtown location. We usually have two or three restaurants open each night in the hotel and we don't often close those for private functions. We appreciate your patience the evening you were here and we hope you enjoyed the meal at Fletcher's.

Louisa, Concierge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 June 2017

Nice, big room. Friendly, helpful staff. Hotel is in heart of the city and an easy walk to most places. This was part of our Princess Land/Cruise Package and everything was effortless with the transfer and luggage handling.

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank lovestotravel55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cookconcierge, Guest Relations Manager at The Hotel Captain Cook, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2017

Dear Lovestotravel55,

Thank you for staying at the Hotel Captain Cook and taking the time to provide this review. We're so glad you enjoyed the service you received and the spacious accommodations. We love partnering with Princess Cruises and it's our pleasure to make your arrival easy. We hope you'll return to Anchorage for another great stay!

Louisa, Concierge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews