We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (664)
Filter reviews
664 results
Traveler rating
267
223
104
43
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
267
223
104
43
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews stuffed animals sealife center historic section new wing alaskan animals fishing guide charming hotel an older hotel halibut cheeks shared bathroom in town small town twin beds view room hotel lobby private bath alaska sea life center
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 664 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2018

Seward is only about 1 mile from end to end so getting around is easy especially with the free shuttle bus in town. The busiest/noisiest part of town is the harbor area since all the tours are based out of there. So at the other end of town lies Hotel Seward, a quaint old school type hotel with a friendly staff and decor from the turn of the last century when the original part above Ms. Gene's was built. The decor for the new addition ties in perfectly with the old giving it tons of charm. There are plenty of food and beverage choices at that end of Seward as well as the SeaLife Center(covered in my other reviews).

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michaelcunningham75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 August 2018

The building in itself is charming and has a historic feel to it, but the rooms themselves are a bit outdated and in need of some work.

The absence of an AC system makes for hot and stuffed rooms, even when you open all the windows of the room. We were also on the ground floor so leaving them open during the night or when we were not in the room was unfortunately not an option. The provided fan doesn't do much to help either. The bed was also quite narrow for two people to sleep in, especially in such a hot room. None of these would have bothered me half as much if it weren't for the price they ask for their rooms.

Room tip: Avoid the ground floor so you can open the windows
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Rita593
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 August 2018

I really enjoyed my stay at Hotel Seward. I was bringing tourists to Alaska with me, and wanted to give them a real experience, and we got it, from the lovely room, the colorful and cozy lobby, and the small attached restaurant and bar, with it's own chess set where the 13-year-old and I had a rousing match after a fun day of sight-seeing.

I also got excellent advice from the desk clerk about the best choices for our day boat trip, and good advice from the bartender too, on things to do in Seward.

Best of all was being able to walk down to the shore and skip rocks, wander around town, and go to the Sea Life Museum. We saw moose wandering about town, and 10 humpback whale-sightings on our boat ride!

In all, a most delightful trip and stay with Hotel Seward as my base station. Note: we did leave before a big Princess Cruise ship arrived, so things may have gotten a bit more crowded after we left. Perhaps arriving in the middle of the week was the best choice of all!

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 July 2018

Hotel is central in Seward and you can have a quick walk around the central business area as well as the shore side. Close to a number of restaurants and the micro brewery. Let down a bit as we were not told that there was a restaurant in the Hotel and we went elsewhere, only advised on our return of a new chef and menu! Perhaps a bit over priced for the room, but had parking next to the hotel which was great,

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bricari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 July 2018

Fire suppression pipes are run through the rooms in a visible manner. Some rooms have bathrooms "down the hall." Furniture is old, but the people are outstanding. Very helpful and friendly. Check in was very slow. Check out was fast. The lobby was nice, the room was very dated. No A/C, windows open to cool air but neighborhood is busy and not quiet.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews