We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kevin saves the day!”
Review of Kona Honu Divers

Kona Honu Divers
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Kona Honu Divers is locally owned and operated. From the moment you step into the shop or prepare to board our boat, you become part of our "ohana" or family. Our boat is safe and comfortable. Our dives are guided by knowledgeable instructors who brief you on what to expect to see before you enter the water. Encounters with dolphin, turtles, and manta rays are common in the placid Kona waters.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Reviewed 4 April 2018

Awesome time! We lucked out with 17 beautiful, majestic mantas coming out to play with us! Big Bertha (always a marvel) to see was there, along with Eli, who was made famous by the news when he got injured by a motor prop. On this night he came by he had a fishing line with a floater wrapped around him. He circled around us, and hovered near our dive leader Kevin, and Kevin was able to remove it with his knife! Awesome job! We will definitely be back soon!

Thank chadderck2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KHD96740, Shop Staff at Kona Honu Divers, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Aloha chadderck2018,

So happy to hear that you were able to experience the beauty and wonder on our Manta Night charter. Seventeen mantas is amazing! With Big Bertha herself is quite the show stopper. We are glad that Eli is on the mend and doing much better too. Our dive guides are very experienced and prepared to help our underwater friends whenever necessary and it sounds like Kevin was at the right place at the right time. (Good Job Kevin!) I will be sure to let him know how much his efforts were appreciated. We would love to have you come back and dive with us again. Our Black Water Night Dive is also very fun and interesting. If your looking for something different we would love to show you.

Mahalo,
Ashlie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,221)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"manta dive"
in 138 reviews
"night dive"
in 118 reviews
"valet service"
in 16 reviews
"dive shop"
in 82 reviews
"the big island"
in 116 reviews
"captain tom"
in 17 reviews
"great dive"
in 45 reviews
"manta heaven"
in 14 reviews
"these guys"
in 69 reviews
"between dives"
in 36 reviews
"discover scuba"
in 13 reviews
"black water dive"
in 27 reviews
"octopus"
in 48 reviews
"experienced divers"
in 24 reviews
"hot shower"
in 24 reviews
"diving experience"
in 29 reviews
"two tank"
in 25 reviews
Filter

100 - 104 of 1,247 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2018

Incredible night dive with a GREAT crew. Conditions were shady while on land, but the crew did a great job and it went well. 17 mantas including Bertha, Kai-Zed, Linda and others!!! Nice to see the dive master help out one that had fishing wire wrapped around it. Kevin helped me with my camera while underwater which made a difference in the videos!!! Do this dive 2-3 times a year and wouldn't do it without using Kona Honu Divers..

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank alohablm808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KHD96740, Shop Staff at Kona Honu Divers, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Aloha alohablm808,

We love our return customers and can't thank you enough for choosing Kona Honu Divers to meet your diving needs and to make more manta memories. We are fortunate to have such an amazing crew who go beyond their scope of duties to make the best experiences possible for our guests and our underwater companions. If your not already a member be sure to checkout our Ohana Dive Club Program (must have valid Hawaii ID and live on island for at least 6 months) which offers lots of great discounts on charters, shop merchandise, tank rentals, air fills and other VIP events. Thank you for the review and we to see you on the Honu One again soon.

Best Wishes,
Ashlie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

We did the Manta Snorkel because my husband did the Manta Dive with them before and had a good experience. A short boat ride out and we were given a briefing and went out for our first snorkel. We saw a manta and it swam under us for quite some time. We were able to see a lot of fish, the staff was knowledgeable on the location and where to take us. Back to the boat for refreshments of wraps, chips, cookies. Then the evening Manta Snorkel. The staff did a great job keeping the divers and snorkelers separate and gave us plenty of time in the water. My husband said the snorkel was good but as a diver (none of us other than him dive) it was better from the divers perspective as the mantas swim much closer to them.

We all enjoyed the trip.

Thank Savvy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KHD96740, Scuba Instructor at Kona Honu Divers, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Aloha Savvy S
Wonderful to hear you had a good time. Don't feel short changed on the manta snorkel, they come right up under you as you experienced. Sometimes divers just like the mantas diving better. Although we have a lot of divers that dive the manta and then come back and snorkel it too. I'm so glad you where able to do the two snorkel manta charter too because you were able to see all of our beautiful tropical fishes. People that do the single manta snorkel only see the mantas, which is definitely fantastic, but they miss out on the other cool animal life Kona has to offer.
Mahalo
Stacey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

Best Dive Ever! I am a masters trained diver and have experienced dive companies all over the world! This company is the best quality and experience. First, they have you sign the waiver electronically. Second, when you arrive a nice lady checks you in at a display table. She gives free pens and cool looking stickers. Third, the crew does everything for you from setting up your gear to switching between dives. When you enter the water all you have to do is mask and flipper up. The captain hands you your camera and gear on the back deck. The customer service prevents guests from losing their balance on the rocking boat. Fourth, the briefing covers safety and has pictures of the sea life likely to encounter. Lastly, one couple had difficulties diving. The husband could not clear his ears and the wife was a bit nervous as a new diver. Their dive master spent a lot of time discussing the physiological aspect of diving and the psychosocial challenges. His tips I found very helpful for even a seasoned diver as myself. In addition I heard the dive master tell the couple that he would talk them on a separate dive to enhance their skills. He even offered dive time on his own time and penny. Overall, the quality and customer service exceeded and other boat dive trip that I have ever experienced. The topping on the cake was the manta rays of course. This adventure is a must do!!!

Thank Amy l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KHD96740, Shop Staff at Kona Honu Divers, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Aloha Amy,

Picture someone bursting with happiness and smiling ear to ear. This is the ultimate review and what we work so hard for and strive to accomplish for our customers. I am ecstatic to hear that your dive with us was the "Best Dive Ever" and that we were able to give you the highest quality experience you could of asked for. It's true, we literally do all of the work from setting up your tank and weights to helping you put on your BCD. All you have to do is do your pre-dive safety check, jump in the water and start blowing bubbles. It is our job to make diving fun and as easy as possible for everyone. Our crew is one of the best out on the water and we are so lucky to have their experience and expertise. Also glad to hear that you enjoyed the pens and free stickers. Often people don't realize that we have other fun souvenirs and trinkets in our dive shop so tell your friends or feel free to stop by next time your on island. Our shop staff is wonderful and loves to help pick those little special somethings out. And last but not least the MANTAS!!! Personally my favorite and always the highlight for anyone who goes and gets to experience their majestic-ness. They simple are amazing and leave you in awe. Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We would love to have you come back and dive with us again.

A Hui Ho,
Ashlie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2018

We went with high expectations, and they were exceeded with the first belly-to-belly experience with one of beautiful mantas we saw that night. The staff on board were all so friendly and helpful which made our dive even better. I would highly recommend this adventure. It is not at all scary, and the mantas are so peaceful and graceful. It will be a highlight for years to come.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank caramelbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KHD96740, Shop Staff at Kona Honu Divers, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2018

Aloha,

We are so excited to hear you had a amazing time out on the Honu One. Our crew works very hard to make sure all our customers on board have a amazing experience. And it sounds like you did!!! The manta's are gentle giants and we are so excited you were able to see them glide through the waters and perform there belly to belly rolls.
If you though our manta adventure was amazing you should check out our black water experience we have every Wednesday and Friday nights next time you are in Kona.

Mahalo,
Laurel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kona Honu Divers also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Kona Honu Divers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing