We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Raw chicken”
Review of Captain's Table

Captain's Table
Ranked #26 of 40 Restaurants in Custer
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Custer locals and visitors have been taking a seat at The Captain's Table for over six decades now, and there are plenty of reasons why. To start, we're the only restaurant in town that serves crab legs and lobster tail daily. Plus, we're known for having the best prime rib in all of Black Hills. But more important than the food we serve is the hospitality we provide for our guests. Visiting us from down the street or from across the country, you can always expect to feel welcome aboard our wood-detailed dining room. When you're casting your anchor at The Captain's Table, you're casting your anchor at home.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Absolutely horrible. Should have known when we walked into the restaurant and saw several flies! Our dinner salads were wilted and the ranch was warm! The main meal had severely undercooked chicken. When we sent it back the chef literally took the raw chicken off the noodles, re-cooked the same chicken then placed it back on the same pile of noodles that were already contaminated! When we refused the meals we decided obviously this was not a safe place to eat the manager still made us pay for our cokes and salads! Unbelievable! And, likely food poisoning from the warm ranch….or bad salad! You take your pick! There was no “zero” option which is what this place deserves!

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank bethpj13
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (102)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2021

It was very good! If lived in the area would go back. You do need a reservation at times, as could not get in after July 2nd.

Date of visit: July 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Y2568CCjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 July 2021 via mobile

Tastes like hospital food. The 5 Oz. Filet looked more like 2.5 oz. ordered medium received a well done steak. Waiter took the steak back to the kitchen. Instead of bringing back one cooked close to correct he just brought the bill. Spend your $100+ somewhere else.

Date of visit: July 2021
Thank Maps16108962335
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 July 2021

Food doesn't match the photos. Bland, shortcuts are obvious. My daughter-in-law had the wrong side wrong on her plate. She told the older lady, who then acted like it was my daughter-in-law's fault. Yikes! Bitchy much?
Most of all, the place is dated and dirty. Usually, we would walk back out. We should've. But the restaurants in Custer are limited. And we were starving.
Not a good dining experience.

Date of visit: June 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank S2067RDdans
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 June 2021

The restaurant was clean and attractive, friendly staff. Busy place, always lots of cars in parking lot. Nice selection of food which is very good.

Date of visit: June 2021
1  Thank 944judif
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Captain's Table? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Philippines. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.