We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
I camped in Grace Coolidge

Crack Coolidge creek is a lovely creek. You can camp by the creek, and also go fishing in the... read more

Reviewed 13 October 2019
eggersty
,
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
Nice little creek, home to wild sheep!

Nearly every time we drove or walked by this creek we saw a group of wild sheep that made it home... read more

Reviewed 8 October 2019
David W
,
McFarland, Wisconsin
Read all 40 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Custer
from US$325.00
More Info
Reviews (40)
Filter reviews
40 results
Traveler rating
26
10
4
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
26
10
4
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews center lake poison ivy go fishing custer state park beautiful area black hills wildlife loop campground wade road buffalo
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 40 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2019

Crack Coolidge creek is a lovely creek. You can camp by the creek, and also go fishing in the creek too.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank eggersty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 October 2019

Nearly every time we drove or walked by this creek we saw a group of wild sheep that made it home, It didn't matter that there is a road that goes right by, they are frequently in the middle of the road. This was a delightful surprise but could be a bad one for a driver that is going to fast or not paying attention.

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 October 2019

This was an amazing trip. Probably the best “State Park” I have ever visited. It is by far the biggest with multiple lodges and extremely good wildlife viewing from the Wildlife Loop road. We arrive 2 days after the buffalo round up and there were not may buffalo in the fields or on the road but they can easily be viewed at the southern tip of the wildlife loop. We saw big horned sheep, coyote, pronghorns, white tailed dear, mule deer, and the famed begging burros. The burros were exceptionally fun as we brought carrots and apples to feed them. You must not feed the wildlife but the burros are not considered wildlife as they were previously domesticated. The
Grace Coolage Creek is an amazing hike. There are several pools to fish and wer just ok to catch fish but were amazing to view. There are several creek crossings that were difficult as they were stones just haphazardly set out. It is 3 miles each way starting at the campground going all the way to the lake. This park is on par with many National Parks and worthy of a visit. Over all the Black Hills are simply amazing. From Hot Springs to Spearfish and everywhere in between, it was a great trip.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Dan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 September 2019 via mobile

This place is so relaxing with the little river flowing by. We stopped and had a picnic. Great stop and take a little walk

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Jodi56257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 July 2019 via mobile

The trail is three miles in length, and begins at the Grace Coolidge Campground and meanders towards Center Lake. The creek is beautiful, but unfortunately the fish weren't biting on the day that we visited! The trail is a little overgrown, and there was poison ivy everywhere! With kids of all ages in our group we stressed over them stepping off of the trail. We did enjoy the numerous log and plank bridges, but on a hot day it was even more fun to wade in the clear, cool creek! Beautiful area of Custer State Park.

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank MKTBE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews