We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$244
US$229
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Best Western West Towne Suites(Madison)(Great Value!)
US$94
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$111/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

AmericInn by Wyndham Madison West(Madison)(Great Value!)
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$96/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Comfort Suites Madison West(Madison)(Great Value!)
US$84
ComfortSuites
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$115/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$240
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$329
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (865)
Filter reviews
865 results
Traveler rating
589
168
52
38
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
589
168
52
38
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslake mendotarelaxation poolresort feeboathouse restaurantice rinkbeautiful hotelsteam roomfloor to ceiling windowsself parkinga lake view roomroom servicebeautiful roomstate streetrestaurants and barswalk in showerking roomfitness center
Filter
Updating list...
575 - 580 of 865 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2015

We had a great stay. The Statehouse restaurant was delicious. We dined on the beautiful terrace and enjoyed Lake Mendota while eating. Our room had floor to ceiling windows that made it seem more like a view from a vacation house than from a hotel. The front desk staff and especially the Statehouse manager (Craig Madigan) was excellent.

  • Stayed: August 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Madtownlovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, Manager at The Edgewater, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2015

Dear Madtownlovers,
We appreciate the review, and thank you for the positive feedback! The Statehouse is our signature restaurant, and features spectacular views of Lake Mendota with outdoor seating during good weather. We are so happy you were able to enjoy our desirable location on Lake Mendota as much as we do. I have passed along the good feedback to Craig Madigan as well, thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 August 2015

We came after attending the PGA Championship in Kohler - our desire was to watch the final afternoon play in our room. Apparently, this hotel's cable service doesn't provide CBS in the rooms. When we called the front desk, they told us we had to watch it in the bar. So we went to the bar - which had numerous people watching it - the only open spots were in front of where the bartender makes drink. The more senior bartender actually seemed to enjoy standing right in front of us so we couldn't see. We saw him do several things that don't seem very sanitary - scooping ice and patting it with his hand, handing all the glasses at the rim where people have to drink from - and then inserting a straw to "taste" the drinks before he served them. Yuck.
We ordered take out one night and the delivery person was stopped at the front - hotel staff called and told us they could not allow him up .. we had to come down. I've had deliveries in fine hotels in NYC - so I am unsure what the "safety" issue is.
None of their staff has any answers to why no CBS (or MSNBC), why no deliveries to rooms, .. just a half smile and a shrug.
The parking is kind of ridiculous too - hotel guests have to drive down 5 flights - while day guests can park the minute they enter the garage.
The room was nice - but when in Madison - who really sits in their room all day? For the price, it is really not worth it.

Room Tip: If you stay on floors 3 or 4 - you can park your car and walk right to your room
  • Stayed: August 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank jjm_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, Manager at The Edgewater, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2015

Dear jjm_Texas,
I apologize for your inadequate experience during your stay with us. Our cable provider for our guest rooms is Dish Network, and unfortunately they were going through a dispute with CBS during the PGA Championship. Luckily, we also have DirecTV available in any of our bars, so we were still able to broadcast there. I apologize for the inconvenience this caused, and we certainly would have preferred alternate arrangements as well, but these unfortunate circumstances do sometimes occur.
For the security of our guests, we do not allow delivery drivers to wander the hotel looking for rooms. If orders are pre-paid, we are more than happy to accept delivery and bring the food straight to guest rooms ourselves.

Thank you again for your commentary on rooms and the constructive criticism you provided on our operations. We hope to be able to regain your trust during a future stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 August 2015

Stayed at The Edgewater for one night as part of a conference. The conference included a explanation by the project manager for the renovation of this gem, and I would say mission accomplished.

The renovation is well done. Beautifully appointed rooms, excellent service, great food, great views, great conference center and amenities. I recommended to my brother who is located in Chicago as a great escape for his wife and him, should the need arise.

Rooms were clean. Service was great, and considering I was there for a customer satisfaction conference, we were likely scrutinizing the place more than the average customer.

Great stay, I would highly recommend.

Room Tip: I had a courtyard/entrance view on 11th floor. No issues, and nice room.
  • Stayed: August 2015, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The_G_Family55378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica P, Manager at The Edgewater, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2015

Dear The_G_Family55378,

Thank you for the great review; we always appreciate positive feedback! We are pleased to offer over 45,000 square feet of event spaces between our indoor and outdoor facilities. Between our expansive facilities and desirable location, we hope to be the premier Madison conference destination. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Edgewater on your future Madison travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 August 2015

The Edgewater is a very understated sophisticated, elegant hotel with great design features. The location of the hotel is spectacular . The hotel is situated with the Capital on one side and the lake on the other side.
The architectural details are amazing. Traventine tile in the luxurious bathrooms, granite, large windows, iron balconies etc.
Traveling is not always easy but the bed was so comfortable . The bed linen was very high quality. It was better than home, I felt pampered and safe.


The service at the Edgewater was warm ,friendly and helpful . I noticed the hotel employed many young university students. What a wonderful opportunity to offer
your students.
I do not expect perfection but this experience was pretty darn close. Great Job!

Room Tip: A room with a view is a must. The exterior balconies are wonderful to relax and enjoy your morning cup coffee.
  • Stayed: August 2015, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank violet m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica P, Manager at The Edgewater, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2015

Dear violet m,

We appreciate the great review and are overjoyed that you had an unforgettable experience at The Edgewater! Because the Wisconsin State Capitol is located on an isthmus, we are fortunate enough to be located in a supremely desirable location. On one side of the building we have spectacular Capitol views and on the other side we have breathtaking lake views. As a matter of fact, our Capitol facing rooms are some of the best kept secrets at The Edgewater. We hope to welcome you back in the future so you can experience even more that we have to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 August 2015 via mobile

Stayed in Madison for 3 nights. 2 at another hotel which was very good experience. Front desk staff at Edgewater was very nice and helpful in suggested restaurants. Boathouse staff was hit or miss and not the most attentive. Cheese curds are ok save them for the Old Fashion so yummy there. Room was nice but many spiders found there way in my husband got them all!! In the shower was a big wad of hair not ours...yuck. AC could be colder. Statehouse Bar is nice with good service and menu. Coffee shop closed in afternoon. No little convenience store to buy forgotten incidentals. Nice modern new hotel but didn't feel that welcoming. Tried to arrange pedicures at the Spa and the technician was not there for two days. Wanted to sit outside when raining under an awning for the AC in the Lobby is chilly but absolutely no covered patio options Probably stay at other hotel next time in Madison.

Stayed: August 2015, traveled as a couple
Thank Meredith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica P, Manager at The Edgewater, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2015

Dear Meredith M,

We appreciate the constructive criticism on our operations. I have forwarded your comments on to our Executive Housekeeper, because the condition of the room you described is completely unacceptable and I am sorry that is what you experienced. If you would like to discuss this further, please feel free to reach out to me via 608.535.8200. To continue, our Front Desk houses all potentially forgotten bathroom amenities, and our Spa actually features a gift shop with The Edgewater apparel and snacks. Finally, thank you for submitting the review! The only way we learn and grow as a hotel is with feedback like yours. Thank you and we hope we are fortunate enough to welcome you back to The Edgewater on your future Madison travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews