We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Riu Sri Lanka
Nearby Hotels
US$101
US$92
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$171
Booking.com
View Deal
US$101
US$89
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$114
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$171
US$167
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$130
US$111
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The River House(Balapitiya)
US$163
US$157
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$35
US$33
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$184
US$169
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$280
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,183)
Filter reviews
1,183 results
Traveler rating
735
295
87
31
35
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
735
295
87
31
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool barsteak restaurantsri lankatuk tukkids poolmain restaurantanimation teamspecialist restaurantsall inclusive packageevery other daysea viewevening entertainmenta la carte restaurantsunlimited foodjunior suiteplenty of sunbedsaqua aerobics
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 1,183 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A spotless clean hotel with polite and helpfull staff. Large bedrooms, balcony with table and chairs. Large bathroom with all amenities.
The food in the main buffet was excellent.(having been to numerous all-inclusive this was probably the finest buffet we have been to).
The three themed restaurants were also very good ( book in advance asap on arrival).
Three large pools two being infinite. (one used for sports, one with swim up bar). Plenty of sunbeds although some were very close to each other.
Large expansive beach with lovely soft sand. Unfortunately due to the large waves and currents there are no water sports, also there are no sunbeds etc as the beach is public although the only people we ever saw on the beach were from the hotel.
Minor problem with local hawkers as you enter the beach, but a polite "no thanks" normally will suffice.
Only down side to the hotel are the rather poor furnishings in the lounge area and the cocktails are not "Caribbean" standard. Also the evening entertainment is only average.
So apart from the slight negative comment we had a super stay and would recommend it as 4* plus

Room Tip: Request sea view.
  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Roger C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This Hotel is very nice the pro’s
Hotel very clean and well maintained,
Staff excellent
Pools are very good
Rooms very spacious and comfy
Buffet restaurant excellent plenty of choice
Service excellent - your glass will always be full!!

Cons-
The sun beds are much much too close together many other people thought the same.

Specialist restaurants disappointing not open every night hence hard to get a booking we booked on arrival and got nothing fir 4 days, the menu is very limited and it is never changed.

We went on a trip so had a breakfast box, well it was the worst one I have ever had in any Country, there was only a banana orange and cheap crisp type biscuits and a bottle of water,even our tour guide could not believe how poor it was, he said no other Hotels offer such a poor box. Very poor indeed!
We saw a lot of places during our stay and a trip to the elephant orphanage is a must. We booked everything we did with Asya Tours they were brilliant, please ask for Prasad he is the most friendliest, helpful and polite person you could wish to meet- all their vehicles are fully insured and air conditioned unlike a lot of the beach guys! I highly recommend Asya Tours.

Room Tip: Ask for high floor sea view make sure room not street facing
Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
5  Thank Lyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Arrived after two hour transfer to a speedy bookin and a refreshing drink.shown to our nice room straight away.the room was very nice ,the room lad Nadun was excellent always asking if every thing was alright and did we need anything.the room was always spotless,and we use to find animals made out of towels on our bed very nice touch.our only criticism would be there should have a adult only bar and restaurant if restaurant not possible restrictafter 8.30 /9.00.All the staff were very friendly and efficient.

Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Kimtiffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

RIU hotel is an All Inclusive resort and I like their concept. All what you need on your holiday. Food, booze, beach and fun. The buffet spread was vast and the quality of the food was really good. Unfortunately same could not be said about the drinks, specially the cocktails served at the pool bar which was over-crowded due to a company staff outing of 600 pax on that particular day. The staff could not cater to each and everyone's order effectively.
In my opinion the hotel should not encourage this type of outings, at least not that many people unless the hotel can afford the staffing accordingly. And the pool got flooded by kids and others in the evening and the swimming was virtually impossible and by the pool closing time the bottles and glasses were seen floating about in the pool. I think it is very unfair on other guests who are on their vacations looking for some relaxation.
I would have given only average rating but I'd opted for very good as I loved the food.

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with friends
3  Thank NiliRG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Check in was painful, not 5*. Sweating away in a massive line.

The hotel advertises 5 restaurants. They aren’t all open and anything other than the main buffet is booked out for days. So it’s basically just the buffet - which isn’t too bad and has decent food but feels like a factory.

It’s noisy. Currently sat on my balcony at 10pm listening to a very loud and pretty bad show. Not good when you have a three year old kid trying to sleep. I hope it stops soon.

Room is decent and pretty clean. Pools are big..

Stayed: March 2018, traveled with family
5  Thank Gareth I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Sri Lanka, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us a valued feedback following your recent stay at our hotel.

We are glad that the pools and your guestroom were to your satisfaction and that we were able to meet your taste with our wide
selection of exquisitely presented dishes which are prepared daily with the utmost care and using fresh ingredients.

On the other hand we regret that you experienced some issues during the check in process and that this took longer than usual. We assure you this normally does not happen.

We sincerely hope that we will one day be able to welcome you back to our hotel and have a chance to demonstrate the high standards of guest service that are typical at our hotels.

With our best wishes we remain,

Hotel Riu Sri Lanka
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews