We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very professional and friendly”
Review of Alpa City Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Alpa City Suites
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Mandaue
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very professional and friendly”
Reviewed March 11, 2017

It really depends on which direction you head. If you head across from the hotel, there is an excellent little roasted chicken stand. If you keep going their is a lechon restaurant with great roasted pig.

The room was good. The staff was the best part of the hotel. No pool.

Room Tip: higher the better for the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2017, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philgaunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    104
    36
    12
    5
See reviews for
29
97
39
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2017

when i stayed there all stuff members (except one stubborn person) behaved like 5 stars hotel employees.

the other great point was the breakfast buffet. Small, but in terms of quality and essence for this price it was the best deal i have had in SE Asia at all.

let me get to the room - the most important part)):
spacious, clean, wifi worked well, but the bed was hard and very uncomfortable, one of the worst, if not even the worst (except compared to one bench in a cheap hole) i had in the country.
room suggests a 3 stars hotel at best.

all together this is a good hotel, and if it was not for the bed (which others may not care that much about) i would stay there again.

by all terms, i believe it is in a category somewhere between a good budget hotel and a 4 stars hotel.

location - on extremely busy intersection. it is usually easy to get a taxi in, but it takes forever for the taxi to get out of there. if going somewhere during pick hours this can be a big let down.

Stayed March 2016, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank mspar2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Finland, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2017

Plusses.

* Spacious room, nice bed and recently renovated bathroom
* One of the fastest Wi-Fi during my long travel history in the Philippines
* Complimentary breakfast is pretty nice
* No silly deposit to minibar consumption
* Airport can be reached less than 1 hour, great benefit in the awful traffic jams of Cebu city

Minuses

* Slow check in and check out
* Minibar was left without attention
* Extremelly heavy traffic front of the hotel

  • Stayed January 2017, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niko_sta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2017

positive points, The room was nice, quiet, comfortable. The only noise i heard was from the hallway outside the door. Small ref to store your drinks. Buffet breakfast was just ok, actually was a bit disappointed with the selection. Location is decent, not far from one of the SM malls. Laundry store just outside and a short 1 min walk, 1 day service available. price very cheap, not so cheap if you go through the hotel.

Negative points, so before checking in i contacted the hotel about a early check in and they had no problem and said i just need to pay half the amount of the room, i was in agreement. So when arriving at the hotel at 7am they said they had no available room and the 1 room in the entire hotel that was available was the Royal Suite, most expensive room in the hotel. I ended up paying 2200 peso for about 4 hours worth of time in the room (no choice). Once my time was up in that room i was moving to the room i had booked and asked 2 of the cleaning staff if they had empty rooms like this and they both said there were several empty rooms. So basically the manager lied to me and scammed me. I let it go and just moved on. Dealing with the front desk was always a much more difficult task then it should have been. I will not be giving them my business the next trip to cebu.

  • Stayed July 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank norby621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2017

I will start by saying that I told management and front desk staff that I would go easy on them in this review. So, let's get that out of the way before you hear the nasty bits... Skip ahead if you wish.

Front desk was excellent with check in/out, easy to approach with questions and always had correct answers, directions and scheduling info. We arrived 2 hours early and acted as if they knew we would be early and checked us in immediately.

Housekeeping was friendly, quick to respond and kept the room clean without disturbing our belongings.

Wait staff in the restaurant was hit and miss as they have many trainees standing around observing. However, there was 1 that stood out above the rest, I never got his name but he is a big guy who could dance between tables and guests with armfuls of plates like a ballerina.

24 hour security guards were polite and helpful getting taxis.

Now, the food... We stayed 9 nights, on morning #2 I had a piece of metal pot scrubber (Brillo pad) in my corned beef... Forgivable but unappetizing, this went without complaint. Morning #6, my wife had a piece of plastic bag in her soup, this was brought to Big Guy's attention. He apologized and said that it will be addressed with the chef.

Here is the unforgivable, on morning #8... My wife ate 1/4 bowl of soup before noticing a COCKROACH in it!!! She wanted to vomit and I was furious!

This happened in front of a management meeting in the restaurant that morning, so hopefully the matter has been addressed and the people responsible have been removed from the kitchen. Of course we got the apology but they were at a loss for words. We were offered a fruit platter and a cake and were told by the hotel manager that action will be taken. He also told us that an emergency meeting was held that day to address what happened to us. Hopefully it is true.

Finally, would I recommend this hotel? If you are very careful with what you eat... Yes. Will we return? Not likely.

The location is close to shopping, immigration, 30-40 minutes to airport, walking distance to street food and nite life. Rooms are basic but have big fridge and microwave for long stays. Staff is helpful and friendly. Smoking is not allowed in any common areas, however smoking rooms are available.

  • Stayed January 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daveintoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mandaue
1.6 km away
Andy Hotel
Andy Hotel
#3 of 13 in Mandaue
80 reviews
1.2 km away
BIG Hotel
BIG Hotel
#1 of 13 in Mandaue
84 reviews
1.5 km away
The Orchard Cebu Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Radisson Blu Cebu
Radisson Blu Cebu
#1 of 91 in Cebu City
3,279 reviews
2.3 km away
Quest Hotel and Conference Center - Cebu
0.6 km away
Leope Hotel
Leope Hotel
#5 of 13 in Mandaue
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpa City Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpa City Suites

Property: Alpa City Suites
Address: Hernan Cortes corner F. Cabahug sts., Mandaue 6014, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Mandaue
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Mandaue
Price range (per night): ₱1,492 - ₱3,395
Hotel Class:3 star — Alpa City Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest all-studio suites hotel. Strategically located at the border of the cities of Cebu City and Mandaue, we are very near major shopping malls (SM Mall, Ayala Mall and Terraces, Park Mall), Cebu Business Park and Asiatown IT Park, churches restaurants, Cebu International Convention Center, the seaport, white sand beaches and the international airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, ACCOR, Travel Book Philippines, Inc., Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alpa City Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpa City Hotel Mandaue

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing