We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Amarta Retreat(Tabanan)(Great Value!)
US$106
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 07/21
Book now, pay at stay
US$17
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Aura Shanti Retreat & Villa(Tabanan)(Great Value!)
US$25
US$22
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$23
Agoda.com
View Deal
Soori Bali(Tabanan)
US$611
US$424
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
WakaGangga(Tabanan)(Great Value!)
US$196
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Balian Princess Villas(Tabanan)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (164)
Filter reviews
164 results
Traveler rating
132
23
4
1
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
132
23
4
1
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate pooltropical gardentanah lotricefull body massagepersonalized tripchamomile teahome theater roomgiant stonecanggu beachtwo bedroom villamain pool is lovelyunique architecturethe open air bathroommother natureview from the balconylarge living room
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 164 reviews
Reviewed 2 June 2018

Me and my boyfriend had only been in Bali for two days and had already decided we are gonna come back next year to de moksha- it was just perfect and the best way to chill and relax. WiFi wasn’t the greatest but we didn’t care as it was so tranquil. Staff were very friendly. Cocktails and food was great. The outdoor bathroom was amazing.

Room Tip: If you want a flower bath make sure you tell the staff the day before!
Stayed: June 2018, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank srai359092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 May 2018 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at De Moksha Boutique Resort and experienced some excellent service and great hospitality. Despite this, our only disappointment comes from not receiving our welcome drinks - this is something we didn’t make a point of complaining about, but something we’d like to mention since we were promised them after being showed around our villa! Odd.

However, without dwelling on this too much, our time at the Resort was excellent. A lovely villa with semicircular private pool to the rear, enclosed exterior bathroom with perfect stone, freestanding bathtub, large kitchenette area and good quality electronic devices e.g. the flatscreen television and Bluetooth connectivity bass speaker.

My partner had a full body massage and described it as the best she had ever received.

The communal pool overlooking the treetops and villa roofs was divine in the mid morning sun on the day of our departure and the added perk of complimentary bicycles were very useful as we rode to Tanah Lot for the sunset and Temple views.

All in all, with exception to the welcome drinks not being received, we thoroughly approve and endorse staying at De Moksha Boutique Resort.

Stayed: May 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Greg W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 May 2018

Beautiful romantic villa with a great outdoor bathroom. The sheets on the really big bed felt like silk. The breaksfast is very luxurious and you get a lot of it. The staff members are very friendly and personal. The call you by your name and are interested in what you do.

Stayed: May 2018, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank tanjavanthooft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 April 2018

This resort was, at first glance, a beautiful escape from the chaos of Kuta. The eco-lodge concept is great in a region devastated by rubbish in parts. However, the experience at De Moksha was not as perfect as we had hoped.

Firstly, the villas themselves were less private than we had expected. In other parts of Bali, the villas were completely private with high walls surrounding the villas. Here, the villas with their 'private pools' were completely open to anyone else staying there as there was no wall around the villa to retain privacy. This ultimately lead to us keeping our blinds closed as anyone walking past our villa could peer through the windows and see us.

The second fault of the villas was the partially open air roof. This minimised the effectiveness of the air conditioning and also resulted in numerous bugs getting in the villa at night.

The completely open bathroom was nice during the day, but was a little uncomfortable at night, especially as there were a number of spiders around outside at night.

We thought the breakfast was very well prepared, but we were disappointed to see the street dog (which hangs around the resort, but which has mange and worms) was walking in and out of the kitchen/food storage area. We commented on this to staff who laughed and said, 'yes. She likes to sleep in there'. After that, we were really uninterested in continuing to eat at the restaurant.

The yoga pavillion is located by the dining area and is a beautiful set up. However, classes are $25 for a single person to attend, which is incredibly expensive and unreasonable. I notably never noticed any classes taking place and I assume the price is probably the offputting factor here.

The private pool was very small and was really only a dip pool beside our villa, but it wasn't clean (we could see green algae in it) and so we never decided to use it. We also noticed the main pool wasn't particularly clean and this was quite disappointing.

Lastly, the villa is really far away from anything, so you have no option but to organise drivers, which is very costly. If the resort had a more appealing pool, restaurant and affordable activities, this might be less of an issue, but as these were all sorely lacking, we left the resort for other activities at a significant cost.

Despite all my comments above, I do believe the resort has great potential if the above issues are addressed. The location is really peaceful and could be a very idyllic escape for couples.

Stayed: April 2018, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank macej001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 April 2018 via mobile

We absolutely loved the way everything was organised here. The villa was perfectly clean, picture perfect. Outside shower and bath give you that right holiday feeling. Breakfast was served at a terrace near the ricefields. Lovely private pool, and excellent lager pool. It feels like being in a tropical garden, the way the villa’s are situated. Flowers and green everywhere. Very quite. If you are looking for a lot of entertainment, this is not your place. Looking for privacy and relaxing surroundings? This is it!

Stayed: April 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews