We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gede, the most patient guide”

Gday Bali Driver - Day Tours
Ranked #12 of 45 Outdoor Activities in Legian
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Bali English speaking driver,private tour, flexible arrangements, comfortable air conditioned car, and reasonable rates
Reviewed 13 February 2018

Gede was my local guide when I had two days visit to Bali in Jan 2018. He knows everything how to manage the itineraries according to the visitor's preference. Recommend him 100% even if you plan to travel alone to Bali.
I got many amazingly beautiful photos also :)

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank khinezarchioo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GdayBaliDriver, Owner at Gday Bali Driver - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2018

Thank Khine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (36)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"great history"
in 2 reviews
"pak gede"
in 2 reviews
"helpful person"
in 2 reviews
"an excellent guide"
in 2 reviews
"monkey forest"
in 2 reviews
"knowledge"
in 3 reviews
"bali"
in 28 reviews
Filter

7 - 11 of 36 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2017 via mobile

Gede and his father were recommended by a friend before I came to bali, and it was the best recommendation that I have ever had!!

The first trip we spent all day going through Ubud and discovered so much and visited so many places including the monkey forest, coffee tasting and to a family home to see what it is like to live in Bali!

We enjoyed the trip so much we had a second day trip with gede, where he took us to the water park in kuta and then to tanah lot temple.

Both trips were so enjoyable, had many laughs with gede and his father!! They were very knowledgable about Bali too which was great, as we would not have learnt so much without their guidance.

They are also very flexible with where they take you so you can design your own trip. The value for money is outstanding (especially compared to what others in our hotel have paid for similar services!)

A great family, such lovely people and would definitely use their service again when I come back to Bali!!

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank Sophie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 June 2017 via mobile

Pak Gede is an excellent guide n person. He manages time so well that you won't loose a minute. My small daughter made him friend because he is so trustworthy. I will choose him always in Bali and also recommend others.

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank sambit m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 June 2017 via mobile

He know anything about bali. From the north to south. West to the east also. This is my best brotha . Enjoy this island with this guys. Recomended

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank mahe m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed 30 April 2017

To put things short, Gede is the new standard we compare to when booking a driver or taxi.

Our day began thinking that we were going to be picked up at 830 AM from our Villa in Ubud. It turned out that we had gotten our timing wrong and Gede was supposed to pick us up at 900 AM. Gede arrived 835 AM leading us to think he was a tad bit late when in fact he was ridiculously early. That was the first sign that we picked up on indicating his professionalism and dedication to the job.

He drove us to the Tegenungan waterfall which was surprisingly close. He guided us a bit and let us take the trek down to the waterfall while waiting back at the top. When we were done admiring and got back in the car he provided bottled water which was sorely needed for our worn out selves.

Our next stop was the turtle conservation center which was a bit uneventful, but we did take a scenic route on a small road that looked out to the sea.

Afterwards Gede took us to an authentic Nasi Padang restaurant where we chose our dishes to eat. Gede had no problem waiting for us to finish and at no point in time did we feel rushed.

We proceeded to our Nusa Dua hotel to check in and rest which unfortunately left Gede to wait for us for the few hours we would take, but we could count on him to be there once we finished decompressing at our hotel.

Following this, we went to the Melasti Cliff where Gede picked some nice spots for picture taking and helped take photos of my partner and I together which we very much appreciated. At this point Gede already felt more like a friend and companion to us rather than a plain old hired driver.

The highlight of this review starts here: our next destination was Uluwatu, a famous destination that is always packed. Upon arriving my partner went to purchase entrance tickets while Gede helped put on and tie sashes to the both of us and led the way (this alleviated a LOT of hassle for us since we weren't sure if we needed sarongs). Gede first led us to the cliff area which was beautiful and had a lot of roaming monkeys which can be pretty mischievous. Once again he helped us take photos together and kept an eye out for our belongings. We witnessed a first hand monkey snagging a pair of sunglasses from a tourist which broke unfortunately. When we were done guffawing at the scenery he led us towards the Fire and Kecak dance. He purchased our tickets for us (we provided the money of course) and took our sashes so that we wouldn't need to bother with them when the dance was finished and everyone would be scrambling to return them. Looking back I felt like that was an ingenious move on his part and at this point felt like he was more of a guide to us which we were not expecting at all.

After finishing the dance we met Gede outside the gates of Uluwatu and hustled to Jimbaran for our evening dinner by the beach. He chose just the right spot for us because the food was out of this world! We were dropped off at Made Bagus which was at the edge of all the restaurants hugging the jimbaran beach so we didn't feel claustrophobic, but the quality of food was not sacrificed one bit. The king prawn they provided was heavenly.

Finally Gede dropped us off at our Nusa Dua Resort and we bid farewell, I only wish we could have known about him earlier. My experience with Gede at Uluwatu is what Bali needs - people who are willing to guide and inform their customers as well as act on their best interests. To top it all off the whole trip did not put as much of a hole in our pockets as the spas we went to on our trip! Gede is a MUST if you plan to travel in Bali and need a private driver, you will not find anyone else who is willing to walk you through Uluwatu and pass through its shortcomings unscathed.

Thank you Gede from the bottom of our hearts,
Tri and Lynn

Date of experience: April 2017
Thank Novaeangliae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gday Bali Driver - Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to Gday Bali Driver - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing