We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (694)
Filter reviews
694 results
Traveler rating
506
110
39
16
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
506
110
39
16
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews south beaches main pool romantic dinner tropical garden stayed nights rice fields the hustle and bustle private pool bravo pools concept privacy borneo villa massage seminyak fridge
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 694 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2018 via mobile

I don’t really like to write bad reviews and I usually try to solve my problems before leaving a place but Jerome, the manager of this place, was the most arrogant and careless person I’ve ever met in a hotel. We didn’t have the hot water in the house FOR THE WHOLE STAY, no sorry has been said at all and he purposed me to have the shower near the public pool. On the second day without hot water I called the reception and waited 20minutes but no one came so I started looking for Jerome around the hotel (no one else could really speak English in the hotel) and found him but he made me wait again because he was trying to sell dinner and massages to new guests who were checking in. Then he kept saying that our neighbors were not having any water problem like us (like if it was our fault) and I asked him why he couldn’t say “I’m sorry for the inconvenience” or trying to change us the room or offering some refund (like any other manager would do) he replied that he was already trying to fix all the other guests problems and that he was going to fix it.
Nothing obviously was fixed for our whole stay, no refund no sorry nothing at all. After all this We even had to paid for the minibar but at the same time they were not refilling it.
The hotel was beautiful probably some time ago but now is not well maintained and everything seems overused. (Pictures of dirty menus, dirty bed and dirty shower attached). The bathroom are half open like often happens in Bali but the problem is that all the staff keeps passing by while you’re naked and there’s no way to not let them see inside. At the spa I asked for 1 traditional massage and 1 stress relief (they made me choose from the menu) but me and my partner had exactly the same massage (we were one next to each other so we are 100% sure).
I will suggest to to everyone coming to Bali to choose another hotel as hot water is a basic need and if a manager can’t even apologies for that he should probably change job.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank surfingaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruno B, Public Relations Manager at La Villa Mathis, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2018

Thank you for your feed-back. We have taken your comments into consideration.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 June 2018

We have just returned from our 7th stay at the wonderful Villa Mathis. This hotel with it's secluded Balinese villas and swimming pools makes the perfect base to enjoy Seminyak and its surroundings whilst also providing a welcome calm and relaxing haven away from the noise and tourist crowds of southern Bali.

The hotel owners Burno and Lilka have created a magical space for their hotel with traditional thatched Balinese villas beautifully decorated with art and local antiques all set amongst a landscaped tropical garden. We noticed that many parts of the hotel have been refurbished and improved since we last came in 2016 and the staff are always incredibly helpful, friendly and attentive making you feel like this is your own home. The gardens and different pools also can mean you often feel like you are the only guests at this romantic retreat.

On previous visits Bruno has also been incredibly helpful at suggesting trips and itineraries for the rest of Bali and the Gili islands, not just staying at their other resort in Ubud, but also hotels and villas in more undiscovered corners of the island which we feel has enriched our appreciation of the island of the Gods.

I am sure that this will not be our last trip to La Villa Mathis and we look forward to returning some time in the future.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank K3820ABpauln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 May 2018

This place is perfect for couples. Apartments are really great. We liked the idea that the place has 4 swimming pools of various size which are separated from each other (If want some privacy you will always find a swimming pool just for you). The other good thing is that you can use pools 24/7 which is not a case in bigger hotels.
Staff is very helpful. You can ask for a dinner served in front of your apartment if you wish. We had great time in this venue and we highly recommend it.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Krzysztof O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 April 2018 via mobile

Villa Mathis is fantastic. Bruno (the löner) is Very kind and helpful. The staff is amazing. Pleasent and service minded. Can really recomend staying here while in Bali. Very clean rooms, Nice food and a beautiful pool.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Wille T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruno B, Manager at La Villa Mathis, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2018

Thank you for your positive feed-back. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in our beautiful tropical property. We look forward to your next visit in one of our two boutique hotels Villa Mathis (Umalas) or Mathis Retreat (Ubud). (*) Mathis Lodge (Amed) opening 2019

Enjoy the freedom of our unique LIBERTY PASS concept; Swap booking between any of our properties (depending on availability), without fee.

During your next visit, do not miss the HAPPY MATHIS special: Book combined nights (min 2x3) in both our properties and benefit from free extras such as 60min massage, free transfer or a romantic candlelit dinner in our tropical garden (or in a Balé amongst the rice fields). Book directly with us by looking-up 'Mathis Collection' for more information.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 March 2018 via mobile

Wow ! Words cannot describe the fantastic time we had at Villa Mathis. This felt like an oasis in the middle of the hustle and bustle of the city. Close to the sights and the ocean but you almost do not want to leave. Everything is set in a tropical paradise - where you are woken up by the sounds of birds in the trees. The level of hospitality comes from place of love with special surprises around your villa. The ladies in the spa was professional and skillful. We spent the silent day over New Year at Villa Mathis and could not have asked for a better place - so much space and different pools. We were beyond thrilled that Anna recomended this amazing retreat and cant wait to return.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank CapeTownTravelafrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruno B, Manager at La Villa Mathis, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2018

Thank you for your positive feed-back. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in our beautiful tropical property. We look forward to your next visit in one of our two boutique hotels Villa Mathis (Umalas) or Mathis Retreat (Ubud). (*) Mathis Lodge (Amed) opening 2019

Enjoy the freedom of our unique LIBERTY PASS concept; Swap booking between any of our properties (depending on availability), without fee.

During your next visit, do not miss the HAPPY MATHIS special: Book combined nights (min 2x3) in both our properties and benefit from free extras such as 60min massage, free transfer or a romantic candlelit dinner in our tropical garden (or in a Balé amongst the rice fields). Book directly with us by looking-up 'Mathis Collection' for more information.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews