We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Ujung Water Palace
from US$32.37
More Info
from US$42.00
More Info
from US$30.00
More Info
Reviews (1,123)
Filter reviews
1,123 results
Traveler rating
587
418
102
13
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
587
418
102
13
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews water palace tirta gangga lovely garden peaceful place beautiful park entrance fee worth a visit climb the stairs take your time beautiful water couple of hours fish food walk around water features per person stepping stones king
Filter
Updating list...
556 - 561 of 1,123 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2012

A lovely spot to visit and a great place to buy fruit.

Date of experience: June 2012
Thank JudiQ191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 June 2012

On my second day in Bali, I did a short, half-day 'program' which included this palace and Tirta Gangga. After the much busier Tirta Gangga, Taman Ujung was a quiet change of pace. There were no more than six people on the grounds when I visited. The entry fee was 20,000 rph (twice as much as Tirta Gangga) but still a bargain. My understanding is that much of the palace was destroyed when Mount Agung erupted and further damaged by a subsequent earthquake. Now the palace has been beautifully restored. If you're up for it, climb the stairs to see an amazing view of the grounds and the ocean beyond. This is another attraction you can see on your own without a guide. Off to one side, I discovered a fenced area with several deer. A lovely place to wander at a leasurely pace.

Date of experience: May 2012
1  Thank Nancy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 June 2012

We visited this Water Palace on the outskirts of Amlapura on a day trip from Amed, hiring a car and driver for 300,000 ($35). This place was built by the king of Karangasem in 1919 and has several different structures in quite a few large areas of water. It was almost completely destroyed in the eruption of Mount Agung in 1963 but is in the process of being restored; to me, the restoration looked almost complete. Taman Ujung is much larger than the better-known Tirta Gangga, having temples and various other architectural structures, as well as fountains and sculptures, arranged throughout the site. We walked through the Balai Gili, the main building standing in the middle of the largest pool with two bridges that connect it to either side; this was the resting place for the royal family. Inside, two different couples dressed in white were having their wedding photos taken. In style the building seems to combine what look like Islamic features with European and Balinese ones. Outside, in the garden, another couple dressed in purple and gold Balinese dress posed against the beautiful backdrop of the Balai Kambang, the floating pavilion from whose tiled floor we could see the Round Building, the ruined gatehouse, and a long set of stairs leading up to another pavilion on the far hill. Taman Ujung is lovely. See pictures here: http://lmaclean.ca/2011/11/amed-road-trip-vienna-beach-japanese-wreck-and-taman-soekasada-ujung-karangasem-water-palace/

Date of experience: November 2011
1  Thank lisaannem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Big, royal, ecxellent. It is nice place for romantic walks, or for spending time alon. You can go to the top bale and sit there and look on the Agung, ocean, palace panorama. Best time here are at morning & at evening

Date of experience: May 2012
Thank MyOwnFall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Having visited Tirta Gangga 12 Years ago on our honeymoon, I truly had no idea that Ujung existed until reading the DK travel book.

The description piqued my interest so we wanted to add it to our time in Candi Dasa.

All the drivers know of Ujung, so that was easy and we did Tirta Gangga later in the day (they're about 20 mins apart).

Ujung in my wife and I's opinion is the best, we loved TD, but Ujung is like a wonderland. Not so touristy although bridal parties (apparently primarily from Jakarta) book the place to get their photos done.

Easy to spend an hour or two at least idly wandering the grounds and soaking up the atmosphere. It was (from memory) about 20,000rp to enter (for 2 adults, our 3 kids were free).

Beautiful drive there too.

Date of experience: May 2012
1  Thank neartheblowhole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews