We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Taman Ujung water Palace”
Review of Ujung Water Palace

Ujung Water Palace
Book In Advance
More Info
US$59.00*
and up
East Bali Cultural and Tradition Tour
Ranked #2 of 50 things to do in Karangasem
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Taman Ujung ( Edge Sukasada Park ) was built in 1919. In the area , there are some buildings also large and spacious pool. There are three or entrance gate to the park area. The main gate is at a height on the west side as an entrance that is called "Bale Ship" because the build was once made to resemble a ship. Furthermore, this bale of our entrance into the park area with hundreds of fruits down the stairs. From this spot the entire area of the park can be enjoyed. According to the predicate as the Kingdom Water Park on the Water Place, The Park has three large pool and spacious. In the middle of the pond, they have on the extreme north of main building called " Gili Bale " which area connected by bridges to the south.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Food available for purchase, Lockers / storage
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Taman Ujung water Palace”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Me and the good lady wife visited the water palace when we where on a P&O cruise , it is a very lovely and quite area where you can sit on the steps and view the lush mountains and sea that suround the Palace .

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lex1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

774 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    380
    311
    69
    11
    3
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
158 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“worth a trip”
Reviewed June 28, 2012

A lovely spot to visit and a great place to buy fruit.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Judi Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Captain Cook, Hawaii, United States
Level Contributor
92 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Quiet”
Reviewed June 26, 2012

On my second day in Bali, I did a short, half-day 'program' which included this palace and Tirta Gangga. After the much busier Tirta Gangga, Taman Ujung was a quiet change of pace. There were no more than six people on the grounds when I visited. The entry fee was 20,000 rph (twice as much as Tirta Gangga) but still a bargain. My understanding is that much of the palace was destroyed when Mount Agung erupted and further damaged by a subsequent earthquake. Now the palace has been beautifully restored. If you're up for it, climb the stairs to see an amazing view of the grounds and the ocean beyond. This is another attraction you can see on your own without a guide. Off to one side, I discovered a fenced area with several deer. A lovely place to wander at a leasurely pace.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
139 reviews
107 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
“Beautiful Water Palace”
Reviewed June 22, 2012

We visited this Water Palace on the outskirts of Amlapura on a day trip from Amed, hiring a car and driver for 300,000 ($35). This place was built by the king of Karangasem in 1919 and has several different structures in quite a few large areas of water. It was almost completely destroyed in the eruption of Mount Agung in 1963 but is in the process of being restored; to me, the restoration looked almost complete. Taman Ujung is much larger than the better-known Tirta Gangga, having temples and various other architectural structures, as well as fountains and sculptures, arranged throughout the site. We walked through the Balai Gili, the main building standing in the middle of the largest pool with two bridges that connect it to either side; this was the resting place for the royal family. Inside, two different couples dressed in white were having their wedding photos taken. In style the building seems to combine what look like Islamic features with European and Balinese ones. Outside, in the garden, another couple dressed in purple and gold Balinese dress posed against the beautiful backdrop of the Balai Kambang, the floating pavilion from whose tiled floor we could see the Round Building, the ruined gatehouse, and a long set of stairs leading up to another pavilion on the far hill. Taman Ujung is lovely. See pictures here: http://lmaclean.ca/2011/11/amed-road-trip-vienna-beach-japanese-wreck-and-taman-soekasada-ujung-karangasem-water-palace/

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank lisaannem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“glorious”
Reviewed June 8, 2012

Big, royal, ecxellent. It is nice place for romantic walks, or for spending time alon. You can go to the top bale and sit there and look on the Agung, ocean, palace panorama. Best time here are at morning & at evening

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank MyOwnFall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ujung Water Palace also viewed

 

Been to Ujung Water Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing