We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stop at Jake’s table...”

Ole Smoky Tennessee Moonshine
Ranked #13 of 120 things to do in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Ole Smoky is the first federally licensed moonshine distillery in the state of Tennessee. A visit to Ole Smoky is the true moonshine experience. As you approach the entrance, you can detect the distinct smell of our grains cooking and fermenting. You'll see authentic working moonshine stills and experience the process from beginning to end. Our distillers will take the time to visit with you and answer any questions about the history and lore of moonshining in East Tennessee.After you see, smell and hear about the process, we offer tastings of our Award winning shine! Samples of our Original Unaged Corn Whiskey, White Lightnin' and Moonshine Cherries as well as Apple Pie and Blackberry flavors - plus we offer seasonal and special flavors that aren't available in package stores. And of course, you'll be able to buy plenty of moonshine and Ole Smoky merchandise to take home with you.
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

After a few distillery tastings the measuring stick of fun comes down to the server, and Jake was great! He was knowledgeable, funny, and willing to chat. It’s easy to recommend both the moonshine and a stop at his table!

Thank Kent S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis H, Guest Relations Manager at Ole Smoky Tennessee Moonshine, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Thank you Kent! We appreciate you kind words about Jake. Hope you can make it back to Moonshine Holler again soon! Shine Responsibly!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (7,140)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"rocking chairs"
in 330 reviews
"blue flame"
in 105 reviews
"rabbit"
in 71 reviews
"free samples"
in 375 reviews
"bluegrass music"
in 137 reviews
"white lightning"
in 71 reviews
"apple pie"
in 289 reviews
"t shirts"
in 164 reviews
"taste testing"
in 188 reviews
"moonshine flavors"
in 95 reviews
"fun atmosphere"
in 92 reviews
"different kinds"
in 83 reviews
"take home"
in 134 reviews
"my favorite"
in 147 reviews
"a lot of fun"
in 179 reviews
"in town"
in 160 reviews
"pigeon forge"
in 74 reviews
Filter

560 - 564 of 7,149 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

My husband and I visited while our daughter went in the Ferris wheel. They have a sampling special for $5 where you can taste the different moonshines available. My husband did this while I explored the store. I really wish there was a touring of the actual distillery in the back for a fee. We ended up buying the moonshine cherries. We enjoyed the experience and would recommend to those visiting the island.

Thank sonny1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis H, Guest Relations Manager at Ole Smoky Tennessee Moonshine, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Thank you for visiting our distillery. We are glad you had a great time. Because we are a working distillery, we are limited on being able to allow people inside. All of the moonshine you see on the shelves came from the still that you see inside each of our three distilleries. We do keep everything visible to the public as far as the distilling process goes. Our cooker, fermenters, and copper still are all visible and used almost every day. Our moonshiner are always willing to answer questions so don't be afraid to ask them anything as well. We hope to see you back again soon! Shine Responsibly!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

Had a wonderful time sampling 13 of more than 20 flavors of the the best moonshine around.. Patrick was amazing and made the tasting fun entertaining the group. We purchased seven of the 13 we tasted. My favorite was apple pie and my husband enjoyed the Java flavor and the straight Bourbon whiskey. We received a free cooler, one free bottle and military discount. Great Experience!!!

Thank Denisemj1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis H, Guest Relations Manager at Ole Smoky Tennessee Moonshine, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Thank you for visiting our distillery and your kind words about Patrick! We hope you can make it back to visit with our Ole Smoky family again soon! Shine Responsibly!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed yourself. Alyssa was funny and really knowledgeable . They have great specials

Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis H, Guest Relations Manager at Ole Smoky Tennessee Moonshine, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Thank you Amanda! We really appreciate you kind words about Alyssa and hope you can visit us again soon at Moonshine Holler. Shine Responsibly!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

Emily was amazing at the sample bar. She made us laugh so much as we enjoyed new moonshine flavors. We left with some new totes and so many bottles. Highly recommend this as a stop for any trip!!

Thank 361jeremyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis H, Guest Relations Manager at Ole Smoky Tennessee Moonshine, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Thank you for your review! We appreciate you kind words and hope you can make it back to Gatlinburg again soon. Shine Responsibly!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ole Smoky Tennessee Moonshine also viewed

 

Been to Ole Smoky Tennessee Moonshine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing