We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Worth the trip, historic and informative

This was a stop on the way home, and well worth the stop on our way. This is history that you want... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Michael S
,
Point Lookout, Missouri
Nicely preserved and important part of our history...

Very interesting and important location in our history. Many original buildings and structures are... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Gregory B
,
Topeka, Kansas
Read all 450 reviews
  
Reviews (450)
Filter reviews
450 results
Traveler rating
238
170
38
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
238
170
38
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews audio tour visitor center national historic site american history pony express enlisted men westward expansion trading post gift shop well worth the visit answer questions real history park ranger couple of hours two hours road trip north platte
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 450 reviews
Reviewed 12 September 2021 via mobile

This was a great look back at history. Good 18 minute introduction video gave the forts history. The fort is spread out with the old structures and ruins along with the renovated areas. Little disappointed you had to peer into the rooms through plexiglass.

Date of experience: September 2021
Thank dundeeb0y
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 August 2021

We could've easily spent hours to all day here. But, we were using this as a break during a long day of driving so we could only spend a couple. They have an interesting 18 minute movie in the visitor's center that gives the history of the location. There are several buildings to explore. They offer guided ranger tours. Their map is very helpful. Best of all....this is free! Would love to come back to explore the parts we had to miss.

Date of experience: August 2021
Thank Docsbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 August 2021

The people who've restored and kept up this fort over the last decades deserve a real hand. It's so well done, from the displays to the rebuilt buildings to the period furniture.

Highly recommended for anyone, including children. The kids we saw appeared to be having a great time.

Date of experience: August 2021
Thank W1659QQdanielr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 August 2021 via mobile

This is a great National Park to visit. It's very interactive and educational. They have done a wonderful job preserving a piece of history. There are many "ruins" yet also many maintained and furnished buildings to explore. The kids had a great time and even earned their ranger badges. Stop at the "bar" on the way out for a root beer or cream soda. They also have cannon firing demonstrations at certain times of the day/week.

Date of experience: August 2021
1  Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 July 2021

This is a great place to tour and it is free! There is so much to see and there are plenty of people to answer questions or take you through the buildings with lots of good information to share. Many of the buildings are original and have furnishings to see what it was like back then.

Date of experience: June 2021
Thank Ld B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews