We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (994)
Filter reviews
994 results
Traveler rating
514
302
128
36
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
514
302
128
36
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews loyalty program jennie wade house great location within walking distance free breakfast breakfast sandwich room was clean sausage gravy in town place to stay waffles top floor street noise parking lot bike week late check cemetery hill
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 994 reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2018

We booked a room here for a weekend getaway. You couldn't beat the location, price and quality honestly. All the restaurants and tourist attractions you'd want are within a comfortable walking distance (except possibly the battlefields, do the auto tour!)

The room was clean and towels were surprisingly soft! All of the staff we came into contact with were friendly and welcoming. We would definitely stay again and recommend to others.

Room Tip: If you don't prefer road noise, ask to be on the opposite side of the road.
  • Stayed: August 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 412Courtney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2018

We are glad that you enjoyed your visit with us. Thank you for the wonderful review. We appreciate it. Please come back and see us again. It would be our pleasure.

Sincerely,
Norma Herring
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 August 2018

Me my wife and grandson stayed in this wonderful inn In August, when we arrived at 11 am from Long Island NY Knowing tha check in was at 3:00 in the afternoon I was met by our check in person that we would be able to check in at 12:00 and she was giving us a top floor view of the countryside being able to see the Blue Ridge Mountains were a treet. thos Inn offered free breakfast from 6 am to 10:30 am this was a very good choice of breakfat for everyone including biscuts and gravy, scrambled eggs sausage fresh biscuts and so much more. Our room was very spacious with two beds a sitting chair a desk and chair mini fridge and an assortment of toiletries, I recomend this wonderful Inn to all who travel to Gettysburg I know we will stay there again when traveling to Gettysburg.

Stayed: August 2018
Thank lizfalco50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2018

Thank you for the wonderful review! We are glad to hear that you were pleased with your room and the staff. Our goal is to provide each guest with a clean, comfortable room at a reasonable rate. Our staff will do whatever they can to ensure that our visitors have an enjoyable stay. Please come back to see us again. It would be our pleasure.

Sincerely,
Norma Herring
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 August 2018 via mobile

$600 for 2 days with this view.
We had trouble with our motorcycle and had to move our trip 1 day. Every hotel on the trip accommodated, maybe if the south had won you would know what hospitality means.

Stayed: August 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2018

First let me apologize on behalf of Hotels.com. When I spoke to you this morning I was a bit confused when you said that they contacted us to ask that we change the date on your reservation. There was no such call made.We contacted customer service and was told that they tried to call us on August 7th, however, when the phone call was picked up by the auto attendant they never left a message or called back. We were unaware that you had an issue and needed to change your date of arrival. We never spoke to anyone about the issue. We would have been happy to change your arrival date due to the circumstance. I have requested that they make a refund to you for the night of August 10th. This was clearly an issue with them-not us. Unfortunately it has resulted in a very harsh, unwarranted review. Our guests are very important to us. That is why I made the call to request that they make this right and refund the one night back to you. I do hope that you reconsider the review as we were in no way at fault. In the future I suggest calling the hotel directly to make reservations-no matter what hotel you are considering. Again, I apologize for what was clearly an error on their part. We do know what hospitality means here in Gettysburg!! :)

Thank you,
Norma Herring
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 August 2018

This was our first trip to Gettysburg and we weren't sure what to expect. We chose this hotel based on positive reviews and with no real understanding of the area. I'm so glad we chose it....it was perfect.

Pros: Rooms are spacious and super clean.Comfy Beds. Ample room to put bags/luggage/all the stuff you tend to over pack.

Super Pro: (I just made that up because it's that awesome)---LOCATION. The hotel is located just a few miles from the Battlefield, so getting to and from is very easy. There is a TON of parking too, so there is never doubt of leaving for the day and having a space to park when you get back. There are adorable shops right outside your doorway, and the town square is a very quick (and if you like architecture, gorgeous) walk. We had our choice of fantastic restaurants right outside the hotel. The Jenny Wade museum is literally in the parking lot. The National Cemetery is close enough that you can walk to it as well.

  • Stayed: August 2018, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Thank you so much for the wonderful review. We are delighted that you enjoyed the hotel and found everything to be to your liking. We do have a great little property here. The staff works so hard to make sure that every guest has a wonderful visit. We hope that you will stop to see us again. It would certainly be our pleasure!

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 August 2018

We stayed here a few years ago and it is much improved since our last stay. The rooms are nicer and the free Wifi is trouble-free. Also, the free breakfast is much improved, now with fresh cooked scrambled eggs, sausage and potatoes. It has one of the best locations in Gettysburg, a "stone's throw" from the Cemetery Hill military cemetery and battlefield area. Will definitely stay here again on our next trip to Gettysburg

Room Tip: There is some road noise for rooms at the front (west side) of the hotel. If that's an issue, ask for a room at the rear.
  • Stayed: August 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dino705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2018

Thank you for the review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Please come back to see us again. It would be our pleasure!

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews