We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 07/26
Book now, pay at stay
US$231
US$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 07/26
US$178
US$167
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Internet
US$168
US$161
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$127
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 07/25
US$171
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Book now, pay at stay
US$189
US$174
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Alexander Inn(Philadelphia)
Free cancellation until 07/27
Book now, pay at stay
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Book now, pay at stay
US$141
US$129
Curio.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$159/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$151
US$143
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Burbridge Street B&B(Philadelphia)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 07/24
US$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,069)
Filter reviews
1,070 results
Traveler rating
365
446
169
55
35
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
365
446
169
55
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold citygreat locationclub roomcity tavernsouth streetpenn's landingindependence hallhistorical sitesnice hotelliberty bellwithin walking distancehistoric districtvalet parkingindoor poolstarbucks coffeethird floorbeautiful lobby
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 1,070 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

“His breath smelt of acetylene.” Slaughterhouse Five, Kurt Vonnegut.
And so, strangely, do the lifts in this hotel. This is corporate America right in the heart of Old Philadelphia a stone’s throw from Penn’s Landing and everywhere Ben Franklin stepped, including the original Capitol. As if to confirm that this is convention capital, some overexcited polyester princes and princesses were (re)acquainting themselves one night in the rather nice bar.

Lovely atrium, intriguing water sculpture and a quasi Starbucks - they have the cups and the coffee but there it ends - leads you to the lofts. Apart from a certain aromatics slickness, the buttons have a worrying colour change around them, for this is the 1970s in all respects save extra electrical sockets and flat screen TVs.

Breakfast poor, frankly - $50 for two, Arrived with pre-buttered bread and seared, but not cooked, cold ham and kinda fried but more congealed eggs.



And so it goes ...

Stayed: April 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank louisdunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager375, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Thank you for staying at the Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill on your most recent trip to Philadelphia. We thank you for your comments and appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. Come back and stay with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 April 2018

Where do i begin??
1) We booked a package that included parking, and Club Lounge privileges, however, we received an additional charge for daily parking, and had to contest it with the front desk at checkout
2) We stayed at room 3084, and mid-stay we had a leak in the bathroom, where water or urine (we don't know which), was leaking from our bathroom ceiling, directly above our toilet seat, and I'm assuming, directly under the upstairs bathroom's toilet (yuck!)
3) Have you ever tried the so called Continental breakfast at the Club Lounge? There was a hot plate with sausage, and another hot plate with a very salty quiche. They bought tasted terrible. Definitely from an economy frozen package. The orange juice was equally terrible. Kids did enjoy the cereal, toast, milk and bagels.
4) The deciding factor in choosing this property was the indoor swimming pool, since our party included 4 little boys, and we wanted to give them the option to go to the pool for an hour each day. The temperature of the water was COLD. Not even lukewarm. Plain COLD! We called and complained, in hopes that they can bring the temperature up. Nope, it remained cold the 4 days we were there.
5) The valet, front desk, and cleaning staff were responsive and helpful. Can't really say that about the concierge! He or she, was missing most time we called, and they never told us about the City Pass that would have given us access to most of the historical sites and museums.
6) The room is small, the beds are small. Beds were definitely not a Queen size.

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank 115elenia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager375, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your stay. We appreciate your feedback as we continually look to improve upon the experience of our guests. Please accept our most sincere apology for the issues with your final bill, the leak in your guestroom, as well as any other inconveniences you experienced during your stay with us. We appreciate your understanding as this is not typical for our property. Your comments have been shared with our engineering associates as well as our management team. We urge you to reach out directly to Martry Julias, our Guest Relations Manager so we can resolve any outstanding discrepancies. We hope that you will give us another chance and let us exceeds your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

Just came from my Philly Easter vacation. The hotel on the older site needs some improvement in - customer service at the front desk. We had a leak in our bathroom - the part of the carpet was wet. And the spot was getting bigger each day. First the front desk promised to talk to service man while we went to city. After coming back a new front desk person knew nothing. Disappeared to ask somebody, came back with “you are all set” info. We went to our room and....nothing was done. We called asking if the leak was fixed. This time the service man came and could not fix it. So - there was no room to change - supposedly no extra room was left for the weekend- and the only solution was getting extra towels on the wet carpet. We got vouchers for breakfast buffet for the next day as a “sorry”. Besides do not expect smiles from them. Or “Have a nice day”. Dry service.
Parking - only valet. Use spot hero or parkings nearby if $$ is too much.
Location is awesome. Close to everything you want to see. If you take a BigBus trip one of the stop is very close to the hotel.

Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank IwonaIwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Was conveniently within walking distance of everywhere we like to go: South Street, Market Street, even the Italian Market was a nice excursion. The pool was decent, a little murky but considering all the kids in the pool, it's to be expected. Apparently, towels were delivered late on Saturday, so our room wasn't cleaned. But housekeeping was courteous to deliver fresh towels when they were available. The staff was friendly and customer-service oriented. Comfortable beds, just enough room for 2 adults and 2 tween boys, a generally good feeling type of place that made for a perfect weekend. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nami R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 March 2018

I have never stayed in such a poorly maintained and managed hotel and I was paying 200+ dollars for a Junior Suite. Cigarette burns on the carpet in my room, frayed carpet in the hallways. TWO long hallway walks just to get to my room and I am handicapped (although did not report it prior to visit). No ventilation in the bathroom. When I checked in, I was told that I was not eligible for the Club privileges because I was not SPG Platinum. That had nothing to do with it. I was in a junior suite and that was part of the deal. The desk attendant said he would check with his supervisor who said she would give us complimentary access. It was NOT complimentary, it was part of the room extras. Just an overall terrible experience. The only bright spots were the maid service and the bellmen, who were very helpful. Overall, I just felt that the ownership/management put profit ahead of customer satisfaction. I will never stay here again. They also do not offer free WiFi to all customers. TERRIBLE policy for the 21st century.

Room Tip: Don't Come to This Hotel
  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank sjstake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager375, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2018

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your stay. We appreciate your feedback as we continually look to improve upon the experience of our guests. Please accept our most sincere apology for any issues you experienced during your stay with us. We appreciate your understanding as this is not typical for our property. Your comments have been shared with front office associates as well as our management team. We urge you to reach out directly to our Front Office Manager, Jordan Kaley at 215-238-6000 so we can resolve any outstanding discrepancies. We hope that you will give us another chance and let us exceeds your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews