We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,606)
Filter reviews
2,606 results
Traveler rating
1,398
933
172
56
47
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,398
933
172
56
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviews upper west side museum of natural history central park amsterdam avenue nice martin new york columbia university attached restaurant great neighborhood subway line two blocks wonderful hotel coffee maker times square queen room hudson river business center
Filter
Updating list...
523 - 528 of 2,606 reviews
Reviewed 26 March 2016

We stayed from 3/21/2016 to 3/25/2016. The concierge, Elizabeth, was extremely helpful, as was the front desk staff. The room was small but lovely, the beds quite comfortable. The 79th Street subway station is a five-minute walk away. We took the 1 train up to Columbia: from hotel to the school gate was a twenty-five minute trip. Central Park and the Museum of Natural History are a ten-minute walk east. Right across the street is an excellent coffee shop: Irving Farm. There is a nice Catholic church on 82nd street between Broadway and Amsterdam. Free internet made day-to-day planning easy.

We had a great trip and the Lucerne was a big part of it.

Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peterp404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 March 2016

We stayed at the Lucerne for an extended family weekend. The location on the upper west side is close to the Museum of Natural History and many eating places, and about 15 minutes by foot from Columbus circle. This worked well as we wanted to stay away from the noise and bustle of midtown.

The hotel is in an architecturally notable building. The lobby is small with some seating, but the staff are very efficient and check in and check out was quick. The rooms themselves are neither too big nor tiny. One of our rooms faced a small inside vestibule (a "quiet" room) with very little light, and the other faced Amsterdam Avenue, but was also quiet. The rooms themselves have good furniture, comfortable beds, good Wifi and TV. The bathroom was clean and made with good quality equipment. The shower/tub combo had good water pressure and hot water. It is an older building, so the heating is old style, and getting the right temperature meant using the knob and adjusting, and one can definitely hear the hum. The room did have a well functioning coffee machine and enough towels, which some other reviewers seemed to have missed but perhaps the hotel has addressed this. Housekeeping was always efficient, though their timing was unknown from one day to the next. However, the hotel adds a nice touch by calling to check if the room needs to be cleaned, if the "do not disturb" card is left on the door as we did once forgetfully.

One of our rooms was opposite the service room so it did get a bit noisy during the day sometimes. Also, one could hear other guests as they walked by, but I think that is an etiquette issue for hotel guests and not something the hotel can do much about.

Most notably, all staff from the doorman to the reception staff and the housekeeping were very helpful and courteous throughout. This hotel does all the essentials right, with a good location, rooms that feel comfortable, and a price point that for frequent NYC visitors like us make a lot of sense.

Room tip: Rooms facing south and east are nice and bright.
Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Subir L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 March 2016 via mobile

One expects certain standards from a 4 star establishment... For instance a few extra towels, not the bare minimum... A coffee machine and mini fridge are standard these days... None of that at the Lucerne. Tiny room. Very poor lighting. Front desk people, indifferent.
Despite the great location...should be 3 star, and charge less.

Date of stay: February 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank 705gabriellag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 March 2016

Me and my family members have been being here for at least 2 months and i love it. Best client service i enjoy it come check it out u would not want to leave the rooms are in excellent situation. If You want Enjoy fully then visit here with family...

Date of stay: January 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank eldadlieberman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 March 2016

This hotel gets the highest rating because of its excellent location (if you want to be in the upper westside) and its great staff and flexibility around guests's needs.
I got a corner room which was rather small -- with just one chair at the desk -- would have been all right except the French aesthetic determined that the room was overstuffed with furniture and heavy draperies so there was not much room to move around. But I am not complaining because the view was fantastic!
My business stay was bordering on a trip outside the country for 6 weeks -- the front desk was fantastic about accommodating a late check-out, storing my heavy luggage etc. Housekeeping in the room was exceptional. I just had a very stress-free interface with the hotel right before some heavy travel and I am really appreicative of their sensitivity.

Room tip: Corner rooms have views
Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank rh24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews