We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“why invest in your hotel when it's in a choice location?”
Review of Parker New York

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Parker New York
Ranked #267 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed December 5, 2017

This hotel is in a great location. That's about it.

The lifts function, and have a cute cartoon screen so you'll look at the CCTV camera that's hidden there. As another writer said, it has all the charm of former DDR hotels: not really disgusting, but screaming for an urgent overhaul. The 50s/60s atmosphere is not deliberate, but stems from neglect and lack of investment. The bathroom is small but the room is very large for New York which made us comfortable.

For $600 or so, they could add a kettle to the room, some teacups, and milk in the fridge. Even some instant coffee if $600 is not enough for a coffee maker. There is of course a Starbucks right across the street but you hafta get dressed to go there.

Ultimately, one shouldn't go to NYC for the hotel, and this one certainly encourages you to leave the room and explore the greatness of this amazing city.

Room Tip: the higher you go, the more light, less noise, and better view of Central Park
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank intrepid1406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,705)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

50 - 54 of 5,705 reviews

Reviewed December 3, 2017 via mobile

This hotel has controlled climate systems. The room was so hot that is was unbearable. Their solution was to open the window and give us a non-functioning fan. It’s loud with the window open and the room isn’t free so a loud, hot room is not an option. The night Manager Mantif did the best he could. It’s not his fault and he was as helpful as he could be. The hotel is dated and only has its nice view going for it. A lot of hotels in NY have a nice view. Stay somewhere else.

Stayed: December 2017, traveled on business
1  Thank HotelsImpossible
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2017

I've stayed here twice, once at Christmas two years ago and again for a quick recent getaway. It's one of the nicest places I've stayed anywhere. The lobby is large and spectacular, you can check out the photos on the hotel website. The rooms are very comfortable and pretty spacious. There's a top-floor indoor pool with great views, but if you want some quiet time, you'd better hope there aren't any kids there as they will be noisily enjoying the pool while their parents may be joining them or may be ignoring them.

There's a very lovely bar near the back of the lobby (near 57th Street entrance) that serves as something of a coffee bar in the morning. There's also a burger joint that serves a truly magnificent burger, but it's very small (there is almost always a line anywhere near meal time) so you may have to share your table with strangers...no matter as the burger is sufficiently enthralling to make anyone friendly and welcoming.

I've seen this property priced all over the map - the times I stayed there, it was a good express deal on the "P: website (including the Christmas trip, what are the odds of that?), but at other times the fare can be pretty steep.

I love this place and will be happy to stay there again anytime that the price is right.

  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GaNavy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2017 via mobile

Business trip. I am in a pretty high rate room (500$/night). There is no mini bar, no water, no European adaptator or USB plug in the room and internet does not work. 4am i have to call the front desk to get a bottle of water. This is not serious at all. We should be able to put negative rate sometimes.

Stayed: November 2017, traveled on business
1  Thank jackthew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkerGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Parker New York, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2017

Dear jackthew,

Thanks for staying with us. I'm sorry your experience left you frustrated. While we do not have European power adapters in our rooms, we have plenty on hand for guests to use. We would have been happy to send one up to you along with any beverages you might want. I'm very sorry that this did not meet your expectations. In the future, we'd be happy to have the things you need waiting for you, just send us a quick message before your arrival. Thanks again.

Best regards,
Jon Dietrich
guestrelations@parkermeridien.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2017

We stayed for a weekend in November. The location is great and the staff was very nice. The room is pretty small and a little ugly. A curtain separated the closet area from the room, the furnishings were kind of basic and the shower curtain smelled a little mildewy. Hallway was also very dark. The reason for the 4 stars was location, nice staff and overall cleanliness of the room. I did however, expect nicer rooms for this price point.

Stayed: November 2017
Thank gabe2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#40 of 471 in New York City
3,014 reviews
Midtown
Viceroy Central Park New York
Viceroy Central Park New York
#229 of 471 in New York City
1,448 reviews
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#110 of 471 in New York City
4,519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
JW Marriott Essex House New York
JW Marriott Essex House New York
#242 of 471 in New York City
1,854 reviews
Manhattan
Royalton Park Avenue
Royalton Park Avenue
#90 of 471 in New York City
2,395 reviews
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#275 of 471 in New York City
5,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parker New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parker New York

Address: 119 West 56th Street, New York City, NY 10019-4000
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Spa Hotel in New York City
#69 Family Hotel in New York City
#130 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#134 Business Hotel in New York City
#181 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: ₱10,549 - ₱32,865 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Parker New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 730
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Parker New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Parker Meridien Hotel New York City
Meridien New York City
Meridien Le Parker
Le Parker Meridien New York
Le Parker Meridian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing