We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Novotel New York Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$202
US$146
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 31% below average rates

The price you found is 31% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$211/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$294
US$248
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Sofitel New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$252
US$189
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 07/26
Book now, pay at stay
US$224
US$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$233/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$144/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Stewart Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 32% below average rates

The price you found is 32% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$168/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 07/27
Book now, pay at stay
US$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The New Yorker a Wyndham Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 07/28
Book now, pay at stay
US$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$149/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Blue Moon Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 07/23
US$139
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 53% below average rates

The price you found is 53% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$192/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

YOTEL New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$163
US$116
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$145/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (1,581)
Filter reviews
1,581 results
Traveler rating
630
681
184
59
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
630
681
184
59
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreenwich villagecontinental breakfastwaverly placebob dylanvisiting nyubagelsgreat locationnew yorkrooms are smallart decodeluxe roomfresh fruitboutique hotelbrick wallaround the cornerlower manhattanstreet noise
Filter
Updating list...
49 - 54 of 1,581 reviews
Reviewed 28 February 2018 via mobile

I recently stayed 3 nights in this hotel. It is an uninspired and tired place. But it's in a nice neighborhood and the price is right. A continental breakfast comes with a reservation. Rooms are serviceable, desk staff are friendly.

Stayed: February 2018, traveled solo
2  Thank Charlotte P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonny C, General Manager at Washington Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2018

Hello Charlotte,

We greatly appreciate your feedback, and sincerely apologize you were not completely satisfied with your stay. We want you to know that we are in the process of renovating, and updating the property with the aim to also preserve the historical charm and character. We hope for the opportunity to see you again, and we will definitely request a renovated room for your next stay. Thank you for sharing your experience, and we look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 February 2018

The WSH is a fantastic place to stay whilst in NYC. In the middle of Greenwich Village on Washington Square Park. The decor is beautiful throughout the hotel. All arranged by the current owner's family. The uniquely decorated tiled walls with such beautiful pictures. Each room has large black & white pictures of the stars of the 30's/40's/50's. Every member of staff were really helpful & friendly. They could not do enough for Philippa & I. Our room, 220 1st floor was more than large enough, very clean & comfortable. The house keeping staff made sure it stayed that way during our 5 night stay (Thank you). Continental breakfast was perfect for us (cooked breakfast was also available at cost if needed). A variety of cereals, toast, bagels, fresh fruit, yoghurt, muffins & cheeses, fresh juice, tea's & coffee. Either in the North Square restaurant or a smaller self service dining area. We ate Sunday Jazz Brunch in the NSR. It was perfect. The band were brilliant. The restaurant has a huge vase of freshly cut flowers to enjoy each day. The WSH is ideally located for the best jazz clubs & some very good restaurants. We visited the Blue Note & The Village Vanguard Clubs. Only minutes walk away. By the way only a few years ago, a young waitress who served Sunday Brunch in the North Square Restaurant, offered a CD of her music to the management, they liked it and offered her a gig or two on Sundays.... It was Nora Jones... Well done WSH. Whilst in the area you must visit McSorley's Old Ale House. Have a Liverwurst, onion & mustard sandwich, with light or/& dark ale. Also Arts & Crafts Beer Parlour & have a hot pretzel with beer cheese dip (you wont get it anywhere else).We ate in other local restaurants, Malay food so authentic & delicious, The Rasa. Oh & The Meatball Shop is a must too. We walked the length of Central Park in the snow one day & took the metro upto Harlem & walked the length of 5th Avenue back down to Washington Square. We also took the metro to Brooklyn Bridge City Hall & walked over Brooklyn Bridge & had lunch in Brooklyn Heights. From the WSH the metro stations are just a short walk away. The WSH was perfect for us made that much more comfortable by all you lovely staff members, Thank you ALL.

Room Tip: Ours 220 1st floor was fine.
  • Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonny C, General Manager at Washington Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2018

Hello Stephen,

Thank you for taking the time to write such an amazing, extensive review! We sincerely appreciate all the wonderful, positive feedback, and the amazing tips for anyone considering to stay in the West Village. We promise to continue to be the perfect place for you while you stay in New York, and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 February 2018

WSH is lovely. It is located in the village, easy walk to everything, yet situated in a quiet spot. The staff was friendly and warm and so accommodating! The room was clean and comfortable. We will definitely stay here again!

Stayed: February 2018, traveled with friends
Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonny C, General Manager at Washington Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2018

Hello Ann,

Thank you for the fantastic review! We are so glad you enjoyed your room, and a had a great experience with our staff. We look forward to making your next stay just as memorable!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 February 2018 via mobile

My son and I arrived on a red eye from San Francisco to the hotel hours before check in. We were warmly received by the staff who held our bags for us and directed us to the complimentary breakfast in the lobby. The dining area was clean and lively while the bagels were fresh and coffee was hot.

We checked in after a school tour and lunch. Our room was clean and well appointed. The beds were very comfortable and we slept well. The location is perfect for visiting NYU. The proximity to the subway station is also a plus. I would highly recommend staying here.

Stayed: February 2018, traveled with family
Thank Michele A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonny C, General Manager at Washington Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2018

Hello Michele,

Thank you for choosing us as your home while exploring the city, as well as the university. We are so happy to know you enjoyed your stay, and found everything to be just right. We wish your son the best of luck on his academic journey, and hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 February 2018

We came for a few days family tourism with my elederly mum and liked everything about this lovely boutique hotel : the location in a quiet street close to beautiful sites and well connected by subway, the rooms (small but confortable and well heated, great beds, nice shower), and above all the staff, who were all pleasant and helpful (special note for Leodi at the bar). Not overpriced. We strongy recommend !

Room Tip: some rooms have a view on washington square
  • Stayed: February 2018, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StephanieSSSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonny C, General Manager at Washington Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2018

Hello Stephanie,

Thank you so much for the wonderful review! We are thrilled to know you enjoyed your accommodations, as well as our pleasant and helpful staff. We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews