We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Washington Square Hotel
Nearby Hotels
The Watson Hotel(New York City)
US$174
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Ace Hotel New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$209
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Room Mate Grace(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$178
US$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$193
US$172
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$278
US$237
Renaissance Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$239
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Dream Downtown(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$254
US$239
Dream Downtown
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$214
US$192
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
The Plaza(New York City)
US$966
US$895
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$188
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,542)
Filter reviews
1,542 results
Traveler rating
606
671
181
57
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
606
671
181
57
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreenwich villagewaverly placecontinental breakfastbob dylanbagelsgreat locationnew yorkrooms are smallart decofresh fruitdeluxe roomboutique hotelbrick wallaround the cornerlower manhattanstreet noisesubway station
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 1,542 reviews
Reviewed February 28, 2018 via mobile

I recently stayed 3 nights in this hotel. It is an uninspired and tired place. But it's in a nice neighborhood and the price is right. A continental breakfast comes with a reservation. Rooms are serviceable, desk staff are friendly.

Stayed: February 2018, traveled solo
2  Thank Charlotte P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonny C, General Manager at Washington Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2018

Hello Charlotte,

We greatly appreciate your feedback, and sincerely apologize you were not completely satisfied with your stay. We want you to know that we are in the process of renovating, and updating the property with the aim to also preserve the historical charm and character. We hope for the opportunity to see you again, and we will definitely request a renovated room for your next stay. Thank you for sharing your experience, and we look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2018

The WSH is a fantastic place to stay whilst in NYC. In the middle of Greenwich Village on Washington Square Park. The decor is beautiful throughout the hotel. All arranged by the current owner's family. The uniquely decorated tiled walls with such beautiful pictures. Each room has large black & white pictures of the stars of the 30's/40's/50's. Every member of staff were really helpful & friendly. They could not do enough for Philippa & I. Our room, 220 1st floor was more than large enough, very clean & comfortable. The house keeping staff made sure it stayed that way during our 5 night stay (Thank you). Continental breakfast was perfect for us (cooked breakfast was also available at cost if needed). A variety of cereals, toast, bagels, fresh fruit, yoghurt, muffins & cheeses, fresh juice, tea's & coffee. Either in the North Square restaurant or a smaller self service dining area. We ate Sunday Jazz Brunch in the NSR. It was perfect. The band were brilliant. The restaurant has a huge vase of freshly cut flowers to enjoy each day. The WSH is ideally located for the best jazz clubs & some very good restaurants. We visited the Blue Note & The Village Vanguard Clubs. Only minutes walk away. By the way only a few years ago, a young waitress who served Sunday Brunch in the North Square Restaurant, offered a CD of her music to the management, they liked it and offered her a gig or two on Sundays.... It was Nora Jones... Well done WSH. Whilst in the area you must visit McSorley's Old Ale House. Have a Liverwurst, onion & mustard sandwich, with light or/& dark ale. Also Arts & Crafts Beer Parlour & have a hot pretzel with beer cheese dip (you wont get it anywhere else).We ate in other local restaurants, Malay food so authentic & delicious, The Rasa. Oh & The Meatball Shop is a must too. We walked the length of Central Park in the snow one day & took the metro upto Harlem & walked the length of 5th Avenue back down to Washington Square. We also took the metro to Brooklyn Bridge City Hall & walked over Brooklyn Bridge & had lunch in Brooklyn Heights. From the WSH the metro stations are just a short walk away. The WSH was perfect for us made that much more comfortable by all you lovely staff members, Thank you ALL.

Room Tip: Ours 220 1st floor was fine.
  • Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonny C, General Manager at Washington Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2018

Hello Stephen,

Thank you for taking the time to write such an amazing, extensive review! We sincerely appreciate all the wonderful, positive feedback, and the amazing tips for anyone considering to stay in the West Village. We promise to continue to be the perfect place for you while you stay in New York, and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2018

WSH is lovely. It is located in the village, easy walk to everything, yet situated in a quiet spot. The staff was friendly and warm and so accommodating! The room was clean and comfortable. We will definitely stay here again!

Stayed: February 2018, traveled with friends
Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonny C, General Manager at Washington Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2018

Hello Ann,

Thank you for the fantastic review! We are so glad you enjoyed your room, and a had a great experience with our staff. We look forward to making your next stay just as memorable!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2018 via mobile

My son and I arrived on a red eye from San Francisco to the hotel hours before check in. We were warmly received by the staff who held our bags for us and directed us to the complimentary breakfast in the lobby. The dining area was clean and lively while the bagels were fresh and coffee was hot.

We checked in after a school tour and lunch. Our room was clean and well appointed. The beds were very comfortable and we slept well. The location is perfect for visiting NYU. The proximity to the subway station is also a plus. I would highly recommend staying here.

Stayed: February 2018, traveled with family
Thank Michele A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonny C, General Manager at Washington Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2018

Hello Michele,

Thank you for choosing us as your home while exploring the city, as well as the university. We are so happy to know you enjoyed your stay, and found everything to be just right. We wish your son the best of luck on his academic journey, and hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2018

We came for a few days family tourism with my elederly mum and liked everything about this lovely boutique hotel : the location in a quiet street close to beautiful sites and well connected by subway, the rooms (small but confortable and well heated, great beds, nice shower), and above all the staff, who were all pleasant and helpful (special note for Leodi at the bar). Not overpriced. We strongy recommend !

Room Tip: some rooms have a view on washington square
  • Stayed: February 2018, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StephanieSSSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonny C, General Manager at Washington Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2018

Hello Stephanie,

Thank you so much for the wonderful review! We are thrilled to know you enjoyed your accommodations, as well as our pleasant and helpful staff. We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews