We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Tiny Rooms but Great Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Washington Square Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Washington Square Hotel
Ranked #169 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Tiny Rooms but Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2017

This hotel is perfect for those who are interested in staying near Washington Square Park and are not picky about room size. The continental breakfast is more than adequate and the location was perfect given that my meetings were mostly in the SoHo area. However, my room was barely big enough for one and while my bed was very comfortable, my male colleague told me that his feet stuck out of the end of his bed.

I would stay here again if the price is right, but I would hesitate to stay here if my husband is with me given the space issue.

  • Stayed September 2016, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 49MileDriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonny C, General Manager at Washington Square Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2017
Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are glad to know you found your room just right for your stay, but we definitely have rooms that can comfortably accommodate you and your husband. Before making a reservation we invite you to contact us, and we will gladly walk you through the different room types we offer. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    491
    606
    162
    49
    27
See reviews for
255
516
111
172
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2017

What a great find. I have stayed in big chains on past trips to the city. Wanted something different this time. Was a holiday trip for my daughter who had just turned 21. The staff had a bottle of champagne and a card upon arrival and upgraded. All of them were very nice and helpful with recommendations. So nice to have a quiet retreat away from busy days in Midtown. Spent News Years Eve at Comedy Cellar nearby. Reminded me of European small hotels. Would recommend staying here for sure!

Room Tip: Top floor great view of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2016, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WestGhent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonny C, General Manager at Washington Square Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2017
Hello West,

Brithdays are very special to us, and we thank you for choosing us to celebrate a very important day. We look forward to seeing you and your daughter for 22!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, Italy
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2017

We stayed here for New Year's eve, we didn't stay a long time but it was a nice home based. The staff was extremely nice and the room was very average but comfy. Very old furniture but characteristic. We even found out the breakfast was included ;) The location is perfect, right next to Washington square park which is amazing if you want to stay out of the hustle and bustle of midtown ;)

  • Stayed January 2017, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katia-spera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonny C, General Manager at Washington Square Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2017
Hello Katia,

We appreciate you sharing your experience with us. Celebrating the new year is always an exciting time, and we thank you for choosing us to be a part of your night. Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2017

This was our 3rd trip to NYC, and prior to this, we had chosen chain hotels (Hilton Garden Inn, Fairfield Marriott) due to finding deals on travel websites. For this jaunt, we wanted to stay away from chain hotels and opt for a more local feel. The Washington Square Hotel was the perfect option. If you're looking for a cookie cutter chain hotel experience, the WSH hotel may not suit you. The historic property is 100+ years old and is somewhat dated. However, if you're seeking a property with CHARACTER, HISTORY, and CHARM, you're in for a treat. Due to massive gentrification, NYC is quickly losing the character that has made it such a fascinating city. The WSH is one of the last family owned hotels in the city. It was delightful staying in a hotel with so much character and history. Joan Baez and Bob Dylan are rumored to have lodged in Room 305 in the 1960's when the property was a flophouse (see Baez's song "Diamonds and Rust" written partially about their time in the hotel). Fortunately, the current proprietors have renovated the property. While the paint and carpet are still dated in some rooms, the property is kept EXTREMELY CLEAN considering the age of the building. The quiet stillness at night would make you forget you're in NYC. Yes, the hallways are narrow, but this is characteristic of most hotels in NYC. It always amuses me when tourists complain about the small size of NYC hotel rooms. You're in one of the largest cities in the world, small spaces are expected. In fact, the rooms at the Washington Square Hotel are rather large by NYC standards. It was wonderful to GET AWAY from the bland madness of Times Square Tourism and Mid Town Chaos with a retreat to the WSH in tranquil Greenwich Village. Oh, if those walls could speak, the stories they could tell. For the first 3 days, we stayed in room 810 with a view of the park. Deciding to extend our stay another 4 days, we were assigned room 310, which only had an interior view, but was just fine. We asked for one of the new renovated restrooms, but the staff were unable to accommodate that request. All in all, we had an excellent stay. The room included a safe and coffee maker, and housekeeping did a great job daily. I'm a NYC history fanatic, and I sadly lament that the city is losing so much of its history and character to gentrification. I would rather spend my tourist dollars supporting independently owned properties like the Washington Square Hotel to ensure that class and character continue to exist.

  • Stayed December 2016, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gypsy70Houston_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonny C, General Manager at Washington Square Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2017
Hello Gypsy,

We love you too! We are honored that you continue to choose us when traveling to New York, and we remain committed to providing you with the warm, attentive service you expect when staying with us. Thank you for the wonderful review, and we cannot wait to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2017

Normally a hotel i could not afford. But got a good deal on a prepay close to my arrival , and i suspect the low price was also due to the fact that Waverly place was a mess with construction. paid $210. per night before tax. So my review is from that perspective.
The staff is very friendly to you, if YOU are friendly and polite. As i witnessed the desk man who was nothing but nice to me, Be very short with a man who was very demanding . So... The hotel has an ideal location that is obvious. the neighborhood has a lot to offer and quiet within reason . So much to see and ton and tons of restaurants . there were people on the street at all hours , so a bit of noise. nothing bad. The hotel offers breakfast included in the rate, which is convenient. the door man and the man who stores your luggage are the best. I witnessed them getting no tip from other guests for their services twice. But this did not affect service to others. The hallways were narrow on the guest room floors, i had read this in reviews previous. But it did not effect me in anyway. As they are wide enough for a body and a suitcase. I reserved a park view room with a double bed. And i was facing Waverly place
and Wash Square Park was just to the left. I think it is worth the extra money to get a park view, as i would never want a room with a view of a wall. The bed was very comfy. The closet was small, as i could not close the doors of it my clothes stuck out beyond the door. No matter to me, as i was alone. They supply a portable ironing board. My biggest complaint really. i think a full sized one would fit and be more fitting with a hotel of this caliber. The AC worked well. No noise from other rooms. But could hear in hall.
As i said i had a double bedded room, park view, And it was perfect size for one. For two, i would not think it would be large enough. The bathroom was nice , big counter top , a make up mirror . Bathtub . good pressure in shower, always hot water.
And an clothes line in tub. I loved that.
they also had a car service to JFK $60. before tip. very convenient . Guy was on time. But talked on phone whole time to airport. Why didn't i say something? I will next time. If i found a deal, i would def stay again.

Room Tip: pay for the park view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2016, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Teenatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonny C, General Manager at Washington Square Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2017
Hello,

Thank you so much for the positive review! The village truly is a magical place, and we are glad you love it as much as we do. We apologize if you were unhappy with the size of your room, we do have a variety of room types available, and some do offer more space. We invite you to call us at anytime if you have any questions regarding your next reservation with us. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Greenwich Village
The Marlton Hotel
The Marlton Hotel
#101 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
#117 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
East Village
The Standard, East Village
The Standard, East Village
#150 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Union Square New York
#112 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,498 reviews
Manhattan
Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo
Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoH...
#234 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
#64 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Square Hotel

Property: Washington Square Hotel
Address: 103 Waverly Place, New York City, NY 10011-9194
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Greenwich Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#138 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#150 Family Hotel in New York City
#163 Business Hotel in New York City
Price range (per night): ₱12,695 - ₱23,885
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Square Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Washington Square Hotel has provided a haven for writers, artists and visitors to Greenwich Village for more than a century. Today, savvy travelers enjoy stylish accommodations, warm service, fine dining and easy access to the best of lower Manhattan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Washington Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Washington Square
Washington Square Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing