We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Washington Square Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Edison Times Square(New York City)
US$181
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness center
Novotel New York Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$263
US$227
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$297
US$267
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$166
US$152
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$198
US$162
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$235
US$219
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$259
US$233
Residence Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Avalon Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$219
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
US$275
US$169
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Blue Moon Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$283
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,552)
Filter reviews
1,552 results
Traveler rating
611
673
182
59
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
611
673
182
59
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreenwich villagewaverly placecontinental breakfastbob dylanbagelsgreat locationnew yorkrooms are smallart decofresh fruitdeluxe roomboutique hotelbrick wallaround the cornerlower manhattanstreet noisesubway station
Filter
Updating list...
204 - 209 of 1,552 reviews
Reviewed January 4, 2017

What a great find. I have stayed in big chains on past trips to the city. Wanted something different this time. Was a holiday trip for my daughter who had just turned 21. The staff had a bottle of champagne and a card upon arrival and upgraded. All of them were very nice and helpful with recommendations. So nice to have a quiet retreat away from busy days in Midtown. Spent News Years Eve at Comedy Cellar nearby. Reminded me of European small hotels. Would recommend staying here for sure!

Room Tip: Top floor great view of the city
  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank WestGhent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonny C, General Manager at Washington Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2017

Hello West,

Brithdays are very special to us, and we thank you for choosing us to celebrate a very important day. We look forward to seeing you and your daughter for 22!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2017

We stayed here for New Year's eve, we didn't stay a long time but it was a nice home based. The staff was extremely nice and the room was very average but comfy. Very old furniture but characteristic. We even found out the breakfast was included ;) The location is perfect, right next to Washington square park which is amazing if you want to stay out of the hustle and bustle of midtown ;)

  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katia-spera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonny C, General Manager at Washington Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2017

Hello Katia,

We appreciate you sharing your experience with us. Celebrating the new year is always an exciting time, and we thank you for choosing us to be a part of your night. Happy New Year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2017

This was our 3rd trip to NYC, and prior to this, we had chosen chain hotels (Hilton Garden Inn, Fairfield Marriott) due to finding deals on travel websites. For this jaunt, we wanted to stay away from chain hotels and opt for a more local feel. The Washington Square Hotel was the perfect option. If you're looking for a cookie cutter chain hotel experience, the WSH hotel may not suit you. The historic property is 100+ years old and is somewhat dated. However, if you're seeking a property with CHARACTER, HISTORY, and CHARM, you're in for a treat. Due to massive gentrification, NYC is quickly losing the character that has made it such a fascinating city. The WSH is one of the last family owned hotels in the city. It was delightful staying in a hotel with so much character and history. Joan Baez and Bob Dylan are rumored to have lodged in Room 305 in the 1960's when the property was a flophouse (see Baez's song "Diamonds and Rust" written partially about their time in the hotel). Fortunately, the current proprietors have renovated the property. While the paint and carpet are still dated in some rooms, the property is kept EXTREMELY CLEAN considering the age of the building. The quiet stillness at night would make you forget you're in NYC. Yes, the hallways are narrow, but this is characteristic of most hotels in NYC. It always amuses me when tourists complain about the small size of NYC hotel rooms. You're in one of the largest cities in the world, small spaces are expected. In fact, the rooms at the Washington Square Hotel are rather large by NYC standards. It was wonderful to GET AWAY from the bland madness of Times Square Tourism and Mid Town Chaos with a retreat to the WSH in tranquil Greenwich Village. Oh, if those walls could speak, the stories they could tell. For the first 3 days, we stayed in room 810 with a view of the park. Deciding to extend our stay another 4 days, we were assigned room 310, which only had an interior view, but was just fine. We asked for one of the new renovated restrooms, but the staff were unable to accommodate that request. All in all, we had an excellent stay. The room included a safe and coffee maker, and housekeeping did a great job daily. I'm a NYC history fanatic, and I sadly lament that the city is losing so much of its history and character to gentrification. I would rather spend my tourist dollars supporting independently owned properties like the Washington Square Hotel to ensure that class and character continue to exist.

  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gypsy70Houston_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonny C, General Manager at Washington Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2017

Hello Gypsy,

We love you too! We are honored that you continue to choose us when traveling to New York, and we remain committed to providing you with the warm, attentive service you expect when staying with us. Thank you for the wonderful review, and we cannot wait to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2017

Normally a hotel i could not afford. But got a good deal on a prepay close to my arrival , and i suspect the low price was also due to the fact that Waverly place was a mess with construction. paid $210. per night before tax. So my review is from that perspective.
The staff is very friendly to you, if YOU are friendly and polite. As i witnessed the desk man who was nothing but nice to me, Be very short with a man who was very demanding . So... The hotel has an ideal location that is obvious. the neighborhood has a lot to offer and quiet within reason . So much to see and ton and tons of restaurants . there were people on the street at all hours , so a bit of noise. nothing bad. The hotel offers breakfast included in the rate, which is convenient. the door man and the man who stores your luggage are the best. I witnessed them getting no tip from other guests for their services twice. But this did not affect service to others. The hallways were narrow on the guest room floors, i had read this in reviews previous. But it did not effect me in anyway. As they are wide enough for a body and a suitcase. I reserved a park view room with a double bed. And i was facing Waverly place
and Wash Square Park was just to the left. I think it is worth the extra money to get a park view, as i would never want a room with a view of a wall. The bed was very comfy. The closet was small, as i could not close the doors of it my clothes stuck out beyond the door. No matter to me, as i was alone. They supply a portable ironing board. My biggest complaint really. i think a full sized one would fit and be more fitting with a hotel of this caliber. The AC worked well. No noise from other rooms. But could hear in hall.
As i said i had a double bedded room, park view, And it was perfect size for one. For two, i would not think it would be large enough. The bathroom was nice , big counter top , a make up mirror . Bathtub . good pressure in shower, always hot water.
And an clothes line in tub. I loved that.
they also had a car service to JFK $60. before tip. very convenient . Guy was on time. But talked on phone whole time to airport. Why didn't i say something? I will next time. If i found a deal, i would def stay again.

Room Tip: pay for the park view
  • Stayed: June 2016, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teenatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonny C, General Manager at Washington Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2017

Hello,

Thank you so much for the positive review! The village truly is a magical place, and we are glad you love it as much as we do. We apologize if you were unhappy with the size of your room, we do have a variety of room types available, and some do offer more space. We invite you to call us at anytime if you have any questions regarding your next reservation with us. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2017

This is a fine hotel if you do not expect anything fancy. It's a good choice with basic clean, rather small rooms. Everything seems a little dated, but it's working. It's a rather cheap hotel for NYC and the location is perfect. Don't book the cheapest room category ("superior with partial view") as the only view you'll have from their windows is a wall and there's almost no natural light coming in. Take a superior room with full view, they are only a bit more expensive and offer great views over the City.

  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MajorMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonny C, General Manager at Washington Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2017

Hello Major,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We appreciate you highlighting the positives of your stay. We are in the process of renovating many aspects of the hotel, and hopefully your next stay with us will feel a little more updated without sacrificing the historical charm of our property. We wish you a happy new year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews