We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant location ”
Review of Pod 51 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pod 51 Hotel
Ranked #232 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 24, 2017 via mobile

Travelled on my own in October 2016. After doing extensive research I decided to stay here.
This hotel is in a brilliant location, within walking distance of Times Square, Central park and is near Lexington avenue which has a few subway lines. So access around the city is simple.
I had a single room which was very small but fulfilled my needs. The bathroom was shared but this wasn't an issue.
The staff were very helpful including one of the porters: I enquired about getting a shuttle bus to JFK and he promptly booked me on one for less than $25, far more comfortable than lumping my suitcase on the subway.
Overall I didn't spend a huge amount of time in the hotel; but when I did, it was safe, comfortable and I would contemplate staying there again if I was travelling on my own to NYC.
It was cheaper than all other 3/4 star accommodation which was a big help.

Stayed: October 2016, traveled solo
2  Thank mickeyb489
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,009)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

47 - 51 of 5,009 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2017 via mobile

I've stayed here twice in the last year. There's no ice machine which is unheard of in a hotel. There is a canteen that will reluctantly give you a glass or two but they close far too early to be useful. No restaurant. Shared bathrooms are ok but my room did not have an indicator light like last time and so I've go from WC to WC trying to find an open one..there usually is but not always, though the wait isn't too long. The drains don't always drain quickly so I have short showers to avoid standing in water. I've always had hot water. The rooms are very small but clean. Linens clean. Bunk bed is a bit of a pain but worth the price. The location is fantastic....a short walk to Times Square, Central Park, Radio City Music Hall, Broadway, subways. A bit farther to Grand Central Station, Empire State Building, shopping. Some good restaurants and pubs around. A grocery store, wine and spirits store (see my comment above about no ice) and a great pizza place not too far away. Front desk weren't rude but they aren't warm and welcoming. Cleaning staff very friendly. Will stay again. Hopefully they get an ice machine by then!

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Chakra_101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2017 via mobile

I had some reservations about the size of the room before I arrived after reading some of the past reviews but I was pleasantly surprised.
The room was more than enough space for me (I had a queen pod with private bath) the room was spotless and cleaned to a high standard every day! The bed was comfortable and the pillows were probably better than the ones I have at home.
As for people complaining about the noise of the air con, yeah it made a bit of noise but nothing that wasn't bearable (I slept like a baby). There is some noise from other people coming in and out of there rooms but nothing excessive or any different than most hotels. The shower is amazing as well and I love the fact the light has a dimmer switch, I love my baths so made for a relaxing shower in replacement of a relaxing bath.
The little cafe they have in the lobby sells nice coffee and pastries too and the staff there are lovely!
All in all I would definitely stay here or at one of their other pod hotels again and would recommend it to anyone who is travelling to New York solo soon as well!

Stayed: September 2017, traveled solo
2  Thank phalpal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2017

If you are looking for a comfy, safe and low cost place with an excellent this is a great option.

Pros:
1.)Location - really central, (Midtown East) - approximately 10 - 12 mins to Central Park, Time Square.
2.) Clean rooms - fresh towels daily.
3.) Decent shower - good flow and heat and easy to use*
4.) Nice rooftop area - open area, BOYB, chilled and relaxed.

Cons:
1.) Tiny rooms - If you need space in a hotel, this won't work for you. About the size of hostel rooms. (it's in the name to be fair).
2.)Found the receptionist on checking in a little crass. When I asked her where the room, she half rolled her eyes, a kinda you know where it is type look. Very unprofessional. Look could be a bad day - check out reception was very nice, enthusiastic and wished us well.
3.) Shower and bathroom was lovely - just beware that some rooms don't have a bathroom in the room so it's a shared bathroom.* (still very nice just FYI)

If you are out and about in NY city all day and just want to place your head down at night then this is a great place. Cheap, central, happy to recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2017

I booked a full pod and I stayed in it by myself. The room was very small, but well designed and it had everything I needed. There were plenty of outlets in the room for charging devices. The full bathroom was definitely compact, but again, everything I would expect from a more luxurious hotel was there, which was good because this place isn't cheap, even though it is on the more budget end for NYC.

The space was very tight. I'm one person, and very average sized. If I had been traveling with my partner, who is 6'3", I suspect there could have been a lot of issues, particularly with the bed and shower stall.

I had read other reviews that mentioned that the walls were super thin so noise was a real problem, so I was concerned, but that turned out to not be an issue. I rarely heard my neighbors.

The hotel staff were fantastic. The little cafe in the lobby was great for grabbing a quick breakfast in the morning. The seating areas were comfortable, with both indoor and outdoor seating.

The hotel offers "Podwalks" Monday through Friday, where they have a tour guide from a local tour company do a walking tour that takes most of the morning. I did the Thursday tour, which is Chelsea Market/Meatpacking District/Greenwich Village and it was excellent. The tours are free, though I did tip my guide generously at the end.

The hotel itself is very colorful and fun. There is music piped in all the elevators, and the entire hotel is very artsy. The rooftop deck is nice, though the building is significantly smaller than other buildings in Midtown, so it isn't a great view for sightseeing. But it is a lovely space to hang out and enjoy a glass of wine.

The hotel also offers a $40 flat rate car service to the airport, which I found more convenient, quicker, and cheaper than the taxi I arrived in.

The only complaint I have is that it was unseasonably hot when I was there and the air conditioner in my room wasn't the greatest. It did work, but not exceptionally well. Had it been typical September weather, rather than a heatwave, it wouldn't have been an issue at all.

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank E W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#415 of 470 in New York City
555 reviews
Midtown
Pod 39 Hotel
Pod 39 Hotel
#201 of 470 in New York City
3,456 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#220 of 470 in New York City
1,592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#355 of 470 in New York City
19,872 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#188 of 470 in New York City
826 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#276 of 470 in New York City
11,812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pod 51 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pod 51 Hotel

Address: 230 East 51st Street, New York City, NY 10022-6571
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#151 Business Hotel in New York City
#189 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: ₱4,240 - ₱13,983 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pod 51 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hippest affordable hotel in New York City, where new friends are made every day. Room types for every budget and preference. Free WiFi and week day walking tours. Kick back and relax in our lobby, grab a bite to eat at our cafe, or soak up the city in our beautiful rooftop garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pod 51 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pod Hotel New York City
The Pod Hotel
Pod Hotel Nyc
Pod New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing