We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Lobster, Best Service! Theater deal...”
Review of Oceana Restaurant

Oceana Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Oceana Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #175 of 14,125 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$60
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: Between 6th and 7th
Transit: Public transit stops; B,D,D,V: 47th-50th/Rockefeller Center; N,R,W: 49th Street 1: 50th Street
Description: Under the guidance of the Livanos family and Co-Owner Paul McLaughlin, Oceana has provided New Yorkers with an exceptional seafood destination since 1992. Oceana's a la carte menu, coupled with its convenient Midtown/Theater District location, make it a perfect spot for a quick business lunch or pre-theater dinner. From the spectacular marble bar to the fresh lobsters and whole fish cooked to order, as well as a significant selection of prime meats, the team delivers a fresh, innovative and approachable menu. Oceana has a 70 seat Cafe with a 18 seat marble bar. Great for lunch, after work cocktails & snacks, pre-theater dinner and post-theater desserts. An award winning international wine list with some 800 selections. Spring and Summer bring a 75 seat outdoor dining area, private dining options include our Chef's table for 4-5 to our Grand Salon for 80.
Reviewed August 2, 2016 via mobile

My wife and I spent four days in New York city, and ate here twice. We will definitely go back!

First, we were headed to the theater, so we needed a relative quickie! Seafood that is...Oceana has an awesome Theater Menu, four courses for a fixed price of $47. Plus $8 upcharge for Lobster. That proved to be the best meal in a long while. Definitely a great value!!! The service was awesome. These guys are true professionals.

So we came back the next night. My wife had the scallops, and I did the seafood tower.The scallops were very good and the combination of shrimp, oysters, clams and sauces was fantastic. Again, excellent service!.

By the way the drinks were just right!

Bon apetite!




Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livanos F, Guest Relations Manager at Oceana Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2016

WOW! Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review and share your recent experiences with us. (Plural!) Oceana's convenient proximity to the theater district is indeed a bonus to theater-goers. We're so glad to hear that you took advantage of our pre-theater prix fixe and enjoyed it so much that you came back again a second time in four days! We sincerely appreciate your business and hope to see you again next time you find yourself back this way. Enjoy the rest of your summer!

The Livanos Restaurant Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (928)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

184 - 188 of 928 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2016

Ate here with my wife on July 14th. This is a large restaurant with plenty of space around each table and a very nice ambience.
As the name suggests it is primarily a fish restaurant although does have meat if fish is not your scene.
Service was excellent, prices were mid range and we had a lovely dinner . Fish dishes were terrific. I would definitely go back at the drop of a hat and would thoroughly recommend the restaurant which is on 49th Street.

Thank J0Gil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livanos F, Guest Relations Manager at Oceana Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2016

Thank you so much for you recent visit and for taking the time to leave a review! We are so glad that you enjoyed our spacious ambience and fresh seafood selection. If you ever find yourself in Midtown Manhattan again, we would love to have the pleasure of serving you!

The Livanos Restaurant Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2016

Over the years I have been to many NYC restaurants, but never here. A close friend recommend it for a little friends meal. Well I was very pleasantly surprised. Food was excellent, service was very good and ambiance was fine. The price fixed dinner was excellent and did not leave me hungry! I would certainly go back here!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank A C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livanos F, Guest Relations Manager at Oceana Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2016

Thank you so much for your recent visit and taking the time to write a review! We are so glad you decided to give Oceana a try. We are even more pleased to hear that you had such a positive dining experience. The prix fixe menu is a great option! Perhaps you would like to consider singing up for our newsletter on our website to keep up with special offerings. We would like to thank you again for coming in and we hope to serve you again soon!

The Livanos Restaurant Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2016

My 16 year old son found this restaurant online after searching for seafood restaurants. We were visiting New York from the UK. We managed to get a reservation for the evening that morning and are so glad we did. The food and service were outstanding. The restaurant had a lovely ambience, was quiet and had one thing that a lot of restaurants don't have...Space. The tables are not rammed together to get as many diners in as possible. This is always a major plus for us. I would definitely go back in a heartbeat.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank piphow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livanos F, Guest Relations Manager at Oceana Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2016

Thank you so much for your recent visit and for taking the time to write a review! We are so glad you chose to dine at Oceana while in New York. We are also thrilled to hear that all aspects of your dining experience exceeded expectations-- from the food and service to the ambience. We hope to have the pleasure of serving you again if you and your family find themselves back in New York!

The Livanos Restaurant Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2016

I liked the fact that most of the guests were not tourists. That means the place has to serve excellent food. We enjoyed the dorado in salt, the paella and some appetizers. Everyone was happy in our group. The desserts were also out of this world. Highly recommended. Only concern service was a bit slow. If you don't want to sit there for hours, tell them you are in a hurry.

Thank galisgr8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livanos F, Guest Relations Manager at Oceana Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write a review! We are so glad that you and your party enjoyed their dining experience. We apologize for any delay in service you experienced, but are thrilled that your appetizer, entree, and dessert selections all exceeded expectations. We truly hope to have the pleasure of serving you again in the future.

The Livanos Restaurant Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oceana Restaurant also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Oceana Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing