We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice stay, nothing to complain!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Midtown West
Ranked #214 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 12, 2017 via mobile

It's an economic hotel, so basically, you get what you pay. However, there are still some good things about this hotel.

1. It's located in a relatively quiet neighborhood. If you don't mind walking for a few blocks to take the subway, or transportation is not an issue, this hotel can be an option.

2. The room is clean even though it's quite small. You still can find everything you need in your room. The bed is comfortable. Luckily, I had a partial view of those beautiful tall buildings from my room.

3. They provide free breakfast. Nothing fancy but basic, which can save you some money and time, and also feed you well.

4. The staff is nice and helpful.

Overall, it's worth my money. With the money I paid, I have nothing to complain.

Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank taipeibear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susana M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Midtown West, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2017

Dear taipeibear,
Thank you so much for sharing your feedback with us! We are glad that you enjoyed our hotel and awesome team! We hope that our amazing location, extraordinary service and adventurous city leaves you wanting to return to experience another magnificent stay experience!

With warm regards,

Susana McCoon
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,122)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

12 - 16 of 1,122 reviews

Reviewed December 9, 2017

Location, location, location. To discover Manhattan you need to be well positioned and better than this you do not get. Half a block off a major Ave and 15 minute walk from many New York Landmarks. Being on 48th street was perfect for our walking adventure tour. We even walked to New World trade Centre and Wall street! Clean, modern and funky and the breakfasts are just right to tank up for a days exploring.

Room Tip: North facing rooms are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antonio d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susana M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Midtown West, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2017

Dear Antonio d,

Thank you for your great 4 star review! We are delighted to hear that your experience with us was "A perfect New York Base"! We are also happy to hear that you loved our location (definitely ideal if you are interested in being near Times Square, Rockefellar and the theater district) We hope that we have the honor of welcoming you back to create another splendid experience!

With warm regards,
Susana McCoon
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2017

My daughters and I are coming to this hotel for this weekend. We are very excited. We don't come to NYC very often. I called the hotel yesterday and requested a room with low noise and if possible, with a nice view. They did change our room, but told me it would be $20 additional per night. I agreed, as we don't go there very often and want the experience to be a good one, but as I thought about it more, was dishearten by this. The other time we went to NYC, I did the same thing (different chain) with no additional charge. I'm a IHG member as well. Future guests please be aware of this.

  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roseann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susana M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Midtown West, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2017

Dear Roseann L,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us! We are disheartened to hear that you stay had a few hick ups. We apologize that you were unaware of the additional fee for an upgraded room type. Typically we upgrade all members that book directly through IHG reservations at no additional charge however, in this case we did not have your IHG rewards number on file since the reservation was made through a third party wholesale website. In any case we would be more than happy to offer a friends and family rate upon your next trip please contact me directly at Info@hienychk.com
We would love to have you return so that we may create the experience you deserve upon your next visit to the "BIG Apple"!

Best regards,
Susana McCoon
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2017

The good - Bed was comfortable, room comparable size to others in NYC, good location, room was not street-side so that was helpful. Good deal compared to other rooms in Manhattan. Free breakfast is always a plus.

The disappointing - We got a discounted rate on this room through Hotwire, so I can understand not getting as great of a room as those who booked direct. First there were some stains on the bathroom wall that were a little icky. Our room was113 - literally the closest to the lobby, some type of staff closet/supply area, and breakfast area. I realize that the hotel was also sold out that day, so choices were limited and somebody has to take the room but maybe something could be done for noise. It was fine until about 2 AM, when I was kept awake by staff knocking and banging things around all night. Then around 6 AM, the chairs being moved around non-stop in the breakfast area and people talking was a lot.

Thankfully my husband had ear plugs so we could do something about it. But maybe the hotel should provide this to these rooms or have courtesy signs asking people to be quiet. Staff should not be making so much noise at 2 AM. I expressed my concerns to the front desk, who just shrugged and agreed that the room location is the worst.

I'm sure other rooms were better experiences.

Room Tip: Do not get a room on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JL185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susana M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Midtown West, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2017

Dear JL185,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us! We are disheartened to hear that your stay during a very special time was not to your expectations. We will discuss you experience with our team so that we may exceed all expectations in the future. We apologize that your stay was less than what you expected and hope that this experience does not tarnish your future plans to stay at any of our IHG family hotels.

With warm regards,

Susana McCoon
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2017

we booked this hotel through expedia , nice hotel ,very clean and well maintained .
rooms were comfortable and looked after ,my sister and i shared a room with 2 large double beds ,really happy ,Towels changed daily ,
tea and coffee provided ,fridge in the room ,air con iron and ironning board
central to all plans ,good location

Room Tip: we were on level 4 ,room 417 not much of a view ,my son was in room 402 main street view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank sara m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susana M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Midtown West, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2017

Dear Sara M,

Thank you for taking the time to share your stay experience with us! We are absolutely delighted to hear that your overall stay was to your expectations and that you enjoyed our amazing location and our award winning customer service! We continuously strive to create extraordinary stay experiences and genuinely care about our guest.On behalf of our entire team we thank you for sharing your experience and hope we have the pleasure to welcome you back once again!

Best regards,
Susana McCoon
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#288 of 471 in New York City
2,219 reviews
Midtown
Comfort Inn Midtown West
Comfort Inn Midtown West
#317 of 471 in New York City
590 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Ti...
#197 of 471 in New York City
1,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#262 of 471 in New York City
2,094 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn New York City - Times Square
Holiday Inn New York City - Time...
#181 of 471 in New York City
738 reviews
Financial District
Holiday Inn Express New York City-Wall Street
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#368 of 471 in New York City
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Midtown West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Midtown West

Address: 538 W 48th St, New York City, NY 10036-1102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #214 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: ₱5,657 - ₱19,926 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Midtown West 3*
Number of rooms: 179
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, IHG and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Midtown West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing