We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean but in need of renovation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Midtown West
Ranked #214 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 6, 2017

This hotel is ok, reasonably clean and a fair choice at breakfast . Bed was comfortable but the bedding had small holes in it. We arrived at 10.00 pm after a long flight and could really have done with out the chaotic reception area. Breakfast is ok but again chaotic and self served on plastic plates. The hotel is close to penn station and time square. However, it was difficult to find at night and would not advice lone individuals to walk round this area at night. Staff were friendly and third to help but there systems were not up to the job hence the delays in check in. Also the staff were using the only lifts to move stuff meaning a long Que. for visitors for lifts.

Room Tip: the building is very tall and slim so only 4 rooms per floor, watch out of you have mobility problem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skiersuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susana M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Midtown West, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2017

Dear skiersuk,
Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us! We are disheartened to hear that your stay during a very special time was not to your expectations. We will discuss you experience with our team so that we may exceed all expectations in the future. We apologize that your stay was less than what you expected and hope that this experience does not tarnish your future plans to stay at any of our IHG family hotels.

With warm regards,
Susana McCoon
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,122)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

40 - 44 of 1,122 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2017

We stayed for one night and were very happy with the hotel - it had everything we needed. I found the location to be very good - an easy walk to mid-town and the theater district, close to good restaurants (9th Ave has a great variety). I'm not sure why some reviewers have found the area around the hotel to be a problem - it felt very safe to us, even at night. The room was clean, comfortable and for the most part quiet, although there was a fair amount of noise from the hallway in the morning as people were leaving and the rooms were being cleaned. As other reviews have mentioned, the breakfast area gets quite busy, but the food was good and fresh and they kept it well stocked. The staff were helpful and friendly. I think the value for the price is excellent and would definitely stay here again - especially if you're looking for an affordable room with two beds, which can be hard to find in this city, this hotel is a great choice.

Stayed: September 2017
Thank thomas73331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susana M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Midtown West, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2017

Dear thomas73331,
Thank you so much for sharing your feedback with us! We are glad that you enjoyed our hotel ! We hope that our amazing location and adventurous city leaves you wanting to return to experience another magnificent stay experience!

With warm regards,

Susana McCoon
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2017

Great location, approx 10 minute walk to Times Square. Most of the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The only small problem we had was when we tried to use one lift and it wasn't working, so we waited for the next one, only to be told by Sandra Anne ? That we didn't know how to use the lift and that there was nothing wrong with it. So back in it we went, waited two minutes for Sandra Anne to realize that in fact it wasn't working, like we had already told her, however It was back in service by the time we came back to the hotel later that day. I travelled with my 17 year old daughter and had a room with a king size bed, which was more than adequate for the both of us to share. We stayed for 6 nights. The fact that breakfast is included is a huge bonus and the variety on offer Is great. Toast, pastries, yogurts, hot breakfast (eggs, bacon, sausages, turkey sausage burgers) pancakes etc. we did get up early each morning 6.30 to avoid the breakfast rush. Tea and coffee are available all day and to our surprise, one hot day on return from our day out returned to refreshing home made lemonade. I really would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a base for seeing the sights of the New York and surrounding areas. The subway is about a 10 minutes walk to get to most places, but we enjoyed walking to attractions. We had pre booked hotel transportation to and from the airport and the lady at the desk was more than happy to call up and arrange our pick up time for the flight home. Thanks for making our first time to New York a really great one

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank natalie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susana M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Midtown West, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2017

Dear natalie c,

Thank you for your review ! We would like to begin with an apology in reference to Sandra Anne's assumption and unnecessary guidance which ended up not being accurate during your stay. We are so happy to hear that your overall stay was not tarnished and that you felt the warmth and professionalism of our team! We are also thrilled that your visit to the "Big Apple" was a splendid one! We certainly hope we have the honor of welcoming you back again upon your next adventure to "the city that never sleeps"!

Best regards,
Susana McCoon
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2017

We booked our room on Hotwire and got a decent price. The room was clean but small. The only drawer was in the bedside table, so we had to stack our clothes on a shelf in the closet. The bathroom was small with very little space for toiletries, etc.

The bed was quite comfy and there was not much street noise.

The free breakfast was good and the free wifi worked well. The customer service was excellent.

We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank annbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susana M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Midtown West, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2017

Dear annbell,
Thank you for taking the time to share your stay experience with us! We are absolutely delighted to hear that your overall stay was to your expectations and that you enjoyed our amazing location and our award winning customer service! We continuously strive to create extraordinary stay experiences and genuinely care about our guest.On behalf of our entire team we thank you for sharing your experience and hope we have the pleasure to welcome you back once again!

Best regards,
Susana McCoon
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2017

We chose this hotel as it had good reviews, it was close to the bus station and the cruise terminal. We were very happy with our stay! Staff was very friendly and helpful on the phone as well as in person. The room was very clean although a little on the small side. It didn't bother us as we didn't spend much time in the room. There were tons of great restaurants and lots of great sight seeing within a 10 min ride. The best part of the hotel is the fact that they hold bags. So even after checking out, we left our suitcases behind the counter and toured the city without the burden of dragging our luggage around. This is a FREE service and there is no time limit!

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Meredith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susana M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Midtown West, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2017

Dear Meredith M,

Thank you for sharing your recent stay experience with us! We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay and that you really appreciated our complimentary luggage storage service that we offer to all of our guest.We would love to welcome you back upon another adventure to the city that never sleeps!

Best regards,

Susana McCoon
Assistant General Manager



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#290 of 471 in New York City
2,219 reviews
Midtown
Comfort Inn Midtown West
Comfort Inn Midtown West
#316 of 471 in New York City
590 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Ti...
#199 of 471 in New York City
1,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#260 of 471 in New York City
2,094 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn New York City - Times Square
Holiday Inn New York City - Time...
#182 of 471 in New York City
735 reviews
Financial District
Holiday Inn Express New York City-Wall Street
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#367 of 471 in New York City
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Midtown West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Midtown West

Address: 538 W 48th St, New York City, NY 10036-1102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #214 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: ₱5,478 - ₱19,730 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Midtown West 3*
Number of rooms: 179
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, IHG and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Midtown West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing