We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Wyndham Garden Chinatown
Ranked #159 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I live nearby the hotel and has also stayed at this hotel when my boyfriend visits. I've seen this hotel grow and become the hotel now. It started off as just a hotel with a restaurant downstairs with a lounge upstairs. They have now also made an outdoor beer garden with tons of tv for sports games. They have also started doing night events which I haven't been in but have seen a lot of people dressed up at night going in and out. There is also a great rooftop bar where you can just relax and hang out with friends.

The rooms are not huge, but you can't expect much from a hotel in NYC. It is spacious enough and clean. They provide necessities and free wifi. I also stayed in a room with balcony once. The balcony connects with all the other rooms on the floor and can see into everyone's windows. The balcony itself is nice, but I was walking down and ended up seeing a man changing with his window curtains opened (awkward).. The staff is friendly and accommodating. You can leave your luggage there for the day after check out and pick it up any time before 9pm. They allowed me to have late check-out every time I stayed (about 3-4 times).

  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Minxchievous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,582)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

10 - 14 of 1,582 reviews

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Receptionists aren't accommodating. Their answers are blunt no-s without offering any form of solutions. I felt like I had to brighten their days. The room was clean and neat but I had a room facing bowery street with traffic noise. Convienient, close walk to metro line 6 but quite a walk to other subway lines. The area is fun to explore including lower part of soho and little italy and the given chinatown.

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank pastelwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

If you're looking for a hotel in China town area. This one is ideal. It's very close to everything. The hotel is clean and comfortable. Check in and out is easy. Keep in mind that since it's in the middle of China town, it's noisy and busy. If you plan to be on the go (like us), this hotel is for you.

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
1  Thank 673venusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2017 via mobile

We chose to stay at Wyndham Garden Chinatown for our New York leg of our trip to America, which was a 5 night stay. This is not our first visit to New York and we wanted something different to the tourist trap of Times Square.

The area on first glance is ok but nothing special, Bowery is the edge of chinatown so you don't get the "watches, watches, bags bags" while on the road itself as soon as you're off the road the area leaves a lot to be desired and I would suggest only breathing through your mouth especially on a morning! There were discarded pigs legs, fish and rubbish strewn in the road right outside to hotel! There's a subway station a couple of minutes away though which is good.

The hotel checked us in quickly and we went up to our room on the second floor. This floor has a balcony outside the glass door in the room which is shared with all other floors so you can't open your curtains as there's always someone strolling by! The door had some tape on the edge of it I assume this was to stop the draft coming in but it didn't work as it was freezing on a night on that side of the bed. The room is a good size and has a fridge, large tv and coffee making facilities. The bathroom is good too but the fact you can see others showering when in the bedroom is massively offputting - perfect for a peeping tom! The shower was hot and powerful but the fixings were loose and the shower tray rusting, the shower also makes a screaming noise when running which I'm sure our neighbours didn't appreciate at 6am (we were in room 204 if you want to look at fixing that). The housekeeper did a great job of keeping the place clean and tidy, the main problem I had is that whenever we were in the room we were getting bitten by something which was leaving large red lumps on our arms, legs and bodies, we never saw what was causing it but it was definitely only when in the room.

The rooftop bar has amazing views BUT the music is too loud, like ridiculously so. So much that you genuinely can't hear the person sat next to you and it stopped us going up again after the second visit. The bar underneath is also very loud - I'm writing this draft while on night 4 of the 5 night stay and I genuinely cannot sleep due to the noise from downstairs and the noise from the road too, I'm dreading tomorrow as it's our last night and we need to be up at 3am for the airport. The lifts are also just full of people going up to floor 18 making it harder to get to your room. Also, we asked the receptionist where we could buy some water for the room and we're sent into the hotel shop where we got charged $4 for a small bottle. The Hong Kong supermarket over the road do a large bottle for under $2.

In summary - I'm genuinely confused as to what this hotel is aiming itself at as it seems nice but the uncomfortably loud music and number of visitors who don't seem to be staying in the hotel are stopping us enjoying the hotel for what we booked it for - relaxing and sleeping. That, coupled with the bites from whatever is feasting on us mean that on our next visit to New York we wouldn't consider this hotel again which is a shame as it could offer guests so much more by way of being a hotel rather than a nightclub.

It was difficult to choose between 2 and 3 out of 5 for this hotel but I went for 3 as the description of 'average' is about right for what is on offer as a hotel meant for sleeping in and relaxing in.

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank littlepoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2017 via mobile

We have enjoyed 7 nights at Wyndham Garden Chinatown. Room 1604 had an amazing view uptown so we never felt as though we were missing anything.
Room had everything we needed and bathroom great (with same view).
Staff all really helpful especially Emily at foh.
Hotel is minutes fron subway and we loved being so close to chinatown little italy soho nolita. An easy walk to Brooklyn and Manhatten bridges and ols seaport.
Subway gave us everywhere else in minutes with aircon! Photos all taken from 1604

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chinatown
The Leon Hotel
The Leon Hotel
#222 of 469 in New York City
395 reviews
Little Italy
NobleDEN Hotel
NobleDEN Hotel
#14 of 469 in New York City
707 reviews
Chinatown
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
#4 of 469 in New York City
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Hotel Mulberry
Hotel Mulberry
#224 of 469 in New York City
594 reviews
Chinatown
Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel
Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel
#263 of 469 in New York City
1,281 reviews
Lower East Side
Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Side
Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Sid...
#215 of 469 in New York City
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Garden Chinatown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Chinatown

Address: 93 Bowery, New York City, NY 10002-4915
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chinatown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #159 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: ₱8,104 - ₱22,298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Garden Chinatown 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyndham Garden Chinatown is a boutique style hotel ranked among the highest 4 star properties in New York City and located in Lower East Side. Just steps from Soho and Little Italy there is shopping, museums, art galleries and fine dining in walking distance. Currently top 20% ranked for overall service on Tripadvisor in all of New York City and recently won Expedia's Insider's Select Award which is based on guest reviews and value of the hotel. The hotel has views from the guest rooms of the Empire State Building and New York City Skyline. Wyndham Garden Chinatown is a full service property with amenities such Rooftop93 our year round rooftop Lounge, room service, full service restaurant, Beer Garden, 24 hour fitness Center, and Lobby Bar. This hotel is surrounded by great shopping, tourist attractions and convenient to several subways stops such as the B,D,J,Z,6,R. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA and Expedia so you can book your Wyndham Garden Chinatown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing