We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok Pho, ok food, good service”

Sao Mai Vietnamese Cuisine
Ranked #3,193 of 16,031 Restaurants in New York City
Cuisines: Vietnamese
Neighborhood: East Village
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: East Village
Reviewed 3 March 2017

Not the best pho I had. the brought was salty and I missed actual real chillies. Instead, they served green jalapenos of some sort. Had better pho. Good service. Quick.

Date of visit: March 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kateSastro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (55)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2017

Most people go there for the pho, which is quite good, but the tamarind soup (a bit spicy) is even better. The summer rolls are not bad, either. Service is excellent.

Date of visit: December 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Redfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 January 2017 via mobile

Not only is the best phở I've had in NYC, the menu is extensive and offers many vegetarian options. We usually go for brunch on Sundays, and the place is busy but we haven't had to wait. The staff is friendly and the price is right. I have recommended it so many times.

Date of visit: December 2016
Thank 533davidh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 November 2016

If you are looking for the best Pho in NYC, look no further than Sao Mai. The House Special Pho is filled with 3 different meats, noodles and veggies.

Date of visit: November 2016
Thank Presto67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 July 2016 via mobile

My boyfriend found this small place in Thrillist as one of the top 10 best Pho in the city.

Service was fast.

Appetizer came out within 5 minutes.

Their house special Pho was awesome. It cured my hangover.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank nesza00000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sao Mai Vietnamese Cuisine also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Sao Mai Vietnamese Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing