We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best VN food I've had in NYC”

Sao Mai Vietnamese Cuisine
Ranked #3,209 of 16,093 Restaurants in New York City
Cuisines: Vietnamese
Neighborhood: East Village
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: East Village
Reviewed 1 January 2017 via mobile

Not only is the best phở I've had in NYC, the menu is extensive and offers many vegetarian options. We usually go for brunch on Sundays, and the place is busy but we haven't had to wait. The staff is friendly and the price is right. I have recommended it so many times.

Date of visit: December 2016
Thank 533davidh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (55)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 29 November 2016

If you are looking for the best Pho in NYC, look no further than Sao Mai. The House Special Pho is filled with 3 different meats, noodles and veggies.

Date of visit: November 2016
Thank Presto67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 July 2016 via mobile

My boyfriend found this small place in Thrillist as one of the top 10 best Pho in the city.

Service was fast.

Appetizer came out within 5 minutes.

Their house special Pho was awesome. It cured my hangover.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank nesza00000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 June 2016

We dined here for a quick dinner. Two of the party ordered the pho-- vegetarian and steak pho. I ordered the lemon grass chicken rice plate. The prices were very reasonable-- for three people about $30 (no beverages). My chicken dish was below average compared to other Vietnamese restaurants with the same dish, mainly because of the quality of the chicken. Very thin pieces- not sure it was fresh chicken-

The place if popular but the service is good. Stick with the pho.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sharkisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 June 2016 via mobile

Best spring rolls we have had. Chicken Curry was delicious. Great service for how busy restaurant was. My wife got chicken mushrooms and loved it.

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank Kyle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sao Mai Vietnamese Cuisine also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Sao Mai Vietnamese Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing