We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They don't understand force major”
Review of Belnord Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Belnord Hotel
Ranked #300 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed September 9, 2017

I live in Houston and my trip was scheduled for August 30 it was exactly the week that we had a hurricane Harvey here in Houston. Because of the hurricane my flight was canceled not one but two times I try to buy tickets to fly another day even knowing that I was losing one or two days in New York but it was impossible because the airports were closed and It was not possible to complete the purchasing even through here through Expedia. I was not able to drive to Dallas or Austin to try to get a plane from there because I live in the area here in Houston that was completely flooded so unless I had a boat to go out of my house I could not leave my house we had 3 to 4 feet of water in the street. So I received back my refund for my plane ticket, I received back a refund from a ticket (non refundable)festival that I bought to go in New York . But Expedia wasn't able to give me a reply saying that I would receive my refund from the hotel, not even partial refund or not even a credit to go in and either weekend. it was the first major situation it was a hurricane I was locked inside my house and I have nothing as a possibility to go out I did not cancel my trip my airline cancel my trip because of the hurricane so the minimum that I was hoping from up hotel expensive like this one is understanding the situation and help me to receive something back because this was not cheap. So yes I am extremely disappointed.

Room Tip: Just don't try to cancel if you have a hurricane in your City.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cintia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,362)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

16 - 20 of 1,362 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2017 via mobile

The location is perfect. Really close to the Central park and the main attractions. Rooms is not big but equipped with all necessary things. They have no one cafe but around you can find a lot of it. The staff is friendly and like to help.

Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Dmitry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2017 via mobile

I picked up friends from this hotel. There are 2 staircase into the hotel. Initial observations, it was recently painted.
Room was small, limited space for suitcase. Closet, reminded me of school locker. Shower and toilet in one are, very small.
Location, 87th street, near Broadway, one Street from the 86th street Subway (train) station, the M104 bus, and the M86 crosstown bus. Within walking to the Museum of Natural History on Central Park West.

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Ita49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2017

Bad: The hotel is on a busy street so sleeping after 8.00 was difficult due to noise from construction and transport. Air conditioning in the hotel corridors made the temperature really, really cold. The personnel was not smiling and not very friendly.

Good: Free coffee/tea, free water, free wifi. Safe in the room. Good and free room service. Good spacious shower. Good television. Very clean.

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Liubov L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2017

I have travelled for business and pleasure for over 30 years,both in the USA and internationally.The room in the Belnord the past 4 nights was by far,the smallest i have ever stayed in!!!It was soo small that we had to turn sideways to get around the bed.Seriously!!!
For small,the bathroom out did the bed room.The sink was tiny and to spit out my mouth wash,i had to turn my head sideways,otherwise it would hit the floor.Crazy!!
The only thing the Belnord has going for it is: it was very clean and its location on the West Side near the 86th st station.
If you have to pay more for a room,i would suggest you do it,because there rooms are dreadfully small

Room Tip: all rooms are small.Go some place else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AFISHN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#384 of 470 in New York City
652 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Newton
Hotel Newton
#322 of 470 in New York City
1,586 reviews
Upper West Side
Astor on the Park
Astor on the Park
#397 of 470 in New York City
1,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Days Inn Hotel New York City-Broadway
Days Inn Hotel New York City-Bro...
#436 of 470 in New York City
2,026 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#222 of 470 in New York City
1,592 reviews
Upper West Side
Marrakech Hotel
Marrakech Hotel
#396 of 470 in New York City
1,646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belnord Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belnord Hotel

Address: 209 West 87th Street, New York City, NY 10024-2844
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in New York City
Price Range: ₱4,240 - ₱28,067 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Belnord Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upper West Side of Manhattan, walking distance to Central Park and the Museum of Natural History. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Belnord Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belnord Hotel New York City
Belnord Hotel Nyc
Belnord New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing