We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dylan Hotel NYC
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Belleclaire(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$162
US$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
The Watson Hotel(New York City)
US$143
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$133
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$400
US$341
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$369
US$316
SmithHotels.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$139
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$137
US$110
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
NYLO New York City(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$265
US$212
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Park Central Hotel New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$225
US$123
Park Central
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness center
Blue Moon Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$249
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (953)
Filter reviews
953 results
Traveler rating
232
354
178
106
83
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
232
354
178
106
83
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgrand central stationbenjamin steakhousegreat locationnew yorkdrinking glassespershing squarebryant parkwake up callfront desk stafftimes squaresmall hotelchrysler buildingfew blocksnycconditionermidtownshampoo
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 953 reviews
Reviewed February 3, 2018 via mobile

Qasim, Rahman, and Randy were an amazing team, we will be back because of them for sure. They had great food suggestion and warm service. There is not another place we would stay in New York. perfect and an amazing location

Stayed: February 2018, traveled on business
Thank Erez L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David H, General Manager at Dylan Hotel NYC, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2018

Thank you for your visit and so glad you enjoyed your stay. And delighted to hear that our team - in particular Qasim, Rahman and Randy were so welcoming and helpful to you. They join me in thanking you for your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2018 via mobile

The Dylan is perfect for weekend trips in the Big Apple, with its amazing location. Although the reception bodes well, it’s clearly been a while since the hotel was refurbished - the carpets were well worn, the curtains were a bit sunbleached and the chairs in our room should have been replaced. However, the staff are amazing - due to a misunderstanding we’d managed to book a double room with a single queen size bed, but were upgraded to one with two. It made our stay so much more comfortable. The staff were always helpful with directions and suggestions. There’s also stairs all the way up, for those who don’t like elevators (which I suspect is a rare thing in Manhattan hotels).

Stayed: January 2018, traveled with friends
Thank Ina O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David H, General Manager at Dylan Hotel NYC, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2018

So glad you enjoyed your visit and that our team looked after you so well. To compliment our amazing location we are currently working on renovation plans in the near future and look forward to sharing more information shortly. Meantime, our team will continue to work to provide excellent hospitality and they join me in thanking you for your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2018 via mobile

Stayed at The Dylan for eight nights whilst in New York. The hotels location is great with it being a few minutes walk to Grand Central station or a 6 or 7 minute walk to Bryant park 42nd street station much of which can be done underground and out of weather. Good size room and bathroom and found room to be very clean and comfortable. Staff were friendly and helpful. Randy at front desk is really good gave us some great tips and always smiling and helpful.

Stayed: January 2018, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Leigh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David H, General Manager at Dylan Hotel NYC, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2018

Thank you for your very kind comments and so glad you found the hotel comfortable and that our team - especially Randy, looked after you so well. We appreciate your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2018

The location was perfect....we walked and walked and walked all over NYC. When we needed to take the subway, Grand Central was a block away. The staff was great, the hotel was clean, and breakfast in the restaurant was perfect to start our busy day off.

  • Stayed: January 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David H, General Manager at Dylan Hotel NYC, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2018

So pleased you enjoyed your weekend visit with us and we thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2018 via mobile

I want to be very careful here because this was a very strange and confusing experience. The hotel is located very nicely a block from Grand Central, in the heart of Midtown and with easy access to a wide variety of NYC sites including Times Square and the Theater District. The lobby is nice and the rooms are reasonably sized, though the ergonomics in the bathrooms could surely use some improvement, but I won’t dwell on that.
Our troubles began with having no shower hot water and low room temperature (59 and 60) for the first two nights. The hotel then relocated us to another room and Randy was very helpful in that regard. We had one night of heat and hot water and then the next day, after one of the coldest snaps NYC had seen for awhile, There was what appeared to be a significant leak in the lobby atrium with the area closest to the entrance cordoned off. When we arrived back at the hotel that night the room was cold. At about 8:30 we called downstairs and were told they had just fixed the heat and it would take a half hour to come on. At about 10:30 as the temperature remained cold, we called down again, were told the previous statement was a mistake but that the heat would come back in about an hour. At 1 am, when the temperature was 53 and we were sleeping in our winter coats, I called down again and was rather perturbed, to say the least. The night person on the phone named Joe indicated all the space heaters had been given out and there was in fact no heat, and that we were welcome to change hotels and would not be charged for the night. No offer of refund, no offer to help secure that move, nothing. We decided to tough it out and by the morning the temperature in the room was 47 degrees.
This is when things began to improve. The downstairs staff, I believe it was Randy and Bryan, apologized and offered to move us to another hotel. They offered two nights off our stay but given what had transpired, we insisted on a full refund. They relocated us in a town car, the new hotel was fine, and though it has taken awhile (they had a lot of guests to deal with on this one), they have secured a full refund for the visit.
In retrospect, the thing that really bothered me wasn’t the heat issues, though they were of course significant, as much as it was the lack of credible information and the inability of some of the staff to deal with what they knew to be a major, major issue. Again, I want to stress that Randy and Bryan were and have continued to be helpful in securing the refund. But let’s give the benefit of the doubt on the heat issues with our first room. Why, when the major issue happened Saturday, wasn’t there a proactive effort to contact each guest? Why weren’t there signs on the elevators telling guests what had happened and offering to relocate them? Why did it take until 1 in the morning Saturday night, when relocation looked like the worst possible thing in the world (as opposed to at 8 Saturday evening, when it could have been accomplished reasonably and before bedtime), to admit that this couldn’t be fixed and have us suffer through 47 degree room temperature?
So while I would recommend the hotel for some things...value, location, some staff’s friendliness, and follow through on the refund as promised....i have to say i have a significant issue with the management’s choices and the information we were given by other staff. I surely hope that the hotel uses this awful experience, and I’m sure it was equally bad for staff as well, no doubt, to evaluate how to deal with patrons during an emergency and how to put customer safety and service above and beyond all other considerations.
Sorry for the lengthy review, but I wanted to be as fair and objective as I could under the circumstances.

Stayed: January 2018, traveled with family
3  Thank Larry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David H, General Manager at Dylan Hotel NYC, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2018

Thank you for your very detailed commentary of the events during your stay and I shall be happy to provide you all the facts. New York City suffered a severe freeze event and temperatures on that weekend reached 0*F. Along with hundreds of other residential and commercial buildings we experienced a frozen water pipe event that caused flooding over three floors including our main lobby. This shut down the water in the building causing us to lose hot water and central heating. Our staff worked throughout the night to repair, clean up and arrange for alternative accomodations in event that affected guests needed to be relocated. We had repair companies on site throughout the evening and all night working on fixing this problem and we had no idea of how long it may take to make repairs to the heating system - it could have been 30 minutes, one hour or longer as the damage was serious. Ultimately the hotel was without heat for 24 hours. My team worked in difficult conditions trying to relocate guests who wished to move and we relocated all our arrivals for that day. Many guests chose to remain and we tried to make them as comfortable as possible All of us worked under difficult and very cold conditions to assist our guests as these events unfolded and information changed minute to minute. It is very easy to consider different solutions once events have past and we have more knowledge of what actually occurred. I am sorry you were not pleased with our efforts but we did best we could under challenging times. We refunded all our guests as you detailed in your comments and I am pleased that our staff worked so hard to assist you. Thank you again for allowing us to comment and we apologize for the events over this challenging time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews