We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Belleclaire(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$190
US$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
Hotel Edison Times Square(New York City)
US$314
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness center
The Watson Hotel(New York City)
US$162
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$212
US$190
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
The Westin New York Grand Central(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$299
US$223
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$239
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
YOTEL New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$206
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
NYLO New York City(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$265
US$229
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$350
US$178
Official Site
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Blue Moon Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$263
US$150
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,586)
Filter reviews
2,586 results
Traveler rating
1,062
996
337
109
82
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,062
996
337
109
82
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstimes squarenew yorkfree breakfastport authoritythe breakfast areahot breakfastjavits centerrooms are smallyogurtbreakfast staffpenn stationfront desk staffbusiness centerconvenient locationwould definitely stay here againclean hotelfew blocks
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 2,586 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I am a regular Hampton visitor because of the Hilton Honors program. This hotel is in a good location and the price is fairly good for the location. It states the hotel was recently renovated which is true. The rooms are comfortable and clean and up to the normal standard. However, please be aware that the entire time we were there, only one elevator was working. We were on the 30th floor and had to wait up to 10 minutes for an elevator. It was also really frustrating when people staying on the 2nd floor would use the elevator. Everyone else would give them dirty looks when they got on or off. There were large groups of kids staying there and the line to get on the elevator went out the front door at one point! As for the digital key, I used it once and then it stopped working so we had to wait 10 minutes to go back down, get a regular key, and then wait 10 minutes to go back up. The front desk was very nice and asked if I was 3-5 feet away from the door when I tried to use the key. Um yeah, there are only 5 rooms on each floor so as soon as you get off the elevator, you are 3-5 away. Also, all the rooms will hear the elevator all night long. It is LOUD! We didn't hear anyone from any other rooms though.
The breakfast was actually pretty good for Hampton standards and the staff was attentive which is usually the case wherever we stay. I just think the elevator issue would be a serious deal breaker for most people.

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank badgrammerMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henry L, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear badgrammerMaryland,

It was such a pleasure having you as a guest. I do apologize for the inconveniences you faced during your stay in regards to elevator issues. This is certainly not the norm for us and we hope that you will still consider us for your future New York City travel needs as we strive to provide the best possible service to all of our guests and will take your criticism to heart.

Sincerely,
Henry L
Front Office Manager
Hampton Inn Times Square South.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Room was very small, like we couldn’t even use my daughters pack n play crib in the room. She had to sleep in bed with us. And they are double beds... Concierge had no idea about any thing, I was wondering if he actually worked for the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank jasonmU9519SQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henry L, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear JasonmU9519SQ,

Thank you for taking the time to fill out our Trip Advisor Survey. I would like to apologize for the service that you received as this surely isn't the customer service that we pride ourselves on. I understand that you were not able to fit the pack and play in your room and apologize for that as it must have come as a huge inconvenience to you and your family. Our rooms are standard size for Manhattan - Times Square Hotels. We do try our very best to accommodate each and every guest that stays with us and it seems like we dropped the ball in your situation. Please rest assure that we will be using this very situation as a training tool for the team.

Thank you again for statying with us.

Sincerely,
Henry L
Front Officer Manager
Hampton Inn Times Square South.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I came to NYC recently with a group of high school kids, many of whom had never been to NYC. The hotel was perfect for our stay. It is conveniently located and we were able to walk to so many places - Times Square, Broadway, the subway, shopping, street vendors (food and merchandise), the garment district, etc. It is on somewhat of a side street and a bit quieter, but there is still some noise - part of the NYC experience! The staff was always very friendly and always asking if we needed anything. There was a concierge to give us suggestions on places to visit and restaurants. You could buy snacks and drinks at the hotel, but so many street vendors and restaurants were within two blocks of the hotel so that you had a variety of food available. The hotel breakfast was wonderful - eggs, sausage, waffles (make your own), cereals, fruit, yogurt, pastries and breads, juices - there was something for everyone and is included in the price of the room. There is a coffee/tea/hot chocolate station 24/7. The hotel was very clean and comfortable. The two elevators are very fast, but you can have a bit of a wait if a group is using them to come or go. Another thing I really loved is that they have more than enough outlets and chargers in the rooms for phones, computers, etc. I definitely will stay there on my next visit to NYC.

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henry L, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Kathy G,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience during your stay with us. It is great to hear that you found the hotel to be in a perfect location for your needs. We can't wait to welcome you back again on your next visit with us.

Sincerely,

Henry L.
Front Office Manager
Hampton Inn Times Square South.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Spent 3 nights there and the staff couldn't have been friendlier. The breakafast was good with plenty to choose from. The room was on the smaller side but adequate with all amenities necessary for a great stay. If definitely stay there again.

Stayed: March 2018, traveled with friends
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henry L, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Steve R,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience during your stay with us. It is great to hear that you found the hotel to be in a perfect location for your needs. We can't wait to welcome you back again on your next visit with us.

Sincerely,
Henry L
Front Office Manger
Hampton Inn Times Square South.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Rooms are small, but average for NYC. But the HVAC was the quietest I’ve had in a long time. WiFi was easy to connect and the night light was a nice touch.
Breakfast was typical Hampton, well stocked, nothing elaborate.
Overall very good value.

Stayed: March 2018, traveled on business
1  Thank FrankF14304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henry L, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear FrankF14304,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Your five star rating is very much appreciated. We hope to see you back on your next visit.

Sincerely,
Henry L
Front Office Manager
Hampton Inn Times Square South.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews