We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
Tours from Revolutionary Tours NYC tend to sell out - travelers recommend booking in advance!
  
Ways to Experience Revolutionary Tours NYC
from US$35.00
More Info
from US$35.00
More Info
from US$35.00
More Info
Reviews (107)
Filter reviews
90 results
Traveler rating
87
3
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
87
3
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews central park tour knowledgeable tour guide history buff lower manhattan his passion three hours walking tour great history wonderful tour small group his knowledge new york highly recommend this tour hour tour wall street few hours hamilton
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 90 reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2018

Tourguide Bruce Racond has an encyclopedic knowledge of the history of the time. We read the Chernow biography of Hamilton, and the tour of lower manhattan locations, brought the macro history alive. There were also micro human interest stories and stories about the politics of the time. I've been living in New York city for some 48 years and I was admittedly unaware of the significance of so many of the sites that we visited. I recommend his tour for tourists and New Yorkers, without reservation.

(I don't know why the questionnaire is asking about "pay to skip the line")

Thank jkinny1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce R, Owner at Revolutionary Tours NYC, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2018

I'm so pleased you made many new discoveries on the Hamilton & Washington tour. Thank you for your review and your recommendation. I really appreciate it. Bruce

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 July 2018

We brought a group of 30 7th & 8th graders into the city and had a wonderful tour from Bruce. He is extremely knowledgeable and it was a great experience! The students were engaged and it was a wonderful morning.

Thank Ellen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce R, Owner at Revolutionary Tours NYC, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2018

Hello Ellen, Many, many thanks for bringing your students. It was a real pleasure to take around such an informed and enthusiastic group. Bruce

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 July 2018

Bruce was an amazing guide! Bucketing down rain meant my fiancé and I had effectively a private tour on a Saturday afternoon. We are huge Hamilton (the musical) fans, and have both read Chernow's epic biography, but we both learned a lot from Bruce, and were impressed with the amount of content he covered in three hours. Seeing the locations where historical events actually happened gives them new relevance, and Bruce's tour links the well-known historical events to the many-layered urban context of lower Manhattan. Bruce is clearly a very accomplished guide! His creative re-routing kept us mostly out of the rain, and we thoroughly enjoyed every minute of the tour. Can't wait to go back and take the Central Park tour. Would wholeheartedly recommend.

Thank WesterlyFlygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce R, Owner at Revolutionary Tours NYC, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2018

Thank you so much for your recommendation! I'm so glad that people who are fans of the musical "Hamilton" AND the Chernow biography still learned a lot. I look forward to seeing you on the Secrets of Central Park tour soon. Bruce

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 July 2018

Our group came to NYC from Boston for a Hamilton immersion weekend. Seeing the play on Friday night and then taking Bruce's tour on Saturday was a perfect combination. We truly appreciated Bruce's knowledge of history and geography, his treasure trove of original maps and writings, his love for his subject, and his willingness to engage with his tour-go'ers. He made the revolutionary history of Lower Manhattan (and Brooklyn) come alive! Highly recommended.

Thank Lynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce R, Owner at Revolutionary Tours NYC, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2018

Hello Lynn, Many thanks for your review and recommendation. It was my great pleasure and I'm also pleased to hear that taking the tour made the musical "Hamilton" that much more meaningful. Bruce

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 July 2018

Second time taking the "Hamilton & Washington: Secrets of the Past" tour. This time we brought a friend (whose father was a history professor and who is a history buff himself) and he loved Bruce's tour just as much as we did!! It was a very, very special 4th of July for us, in fact for me the best ever, thanks to the ever enthusiastic and knowledgable Bruce who brought us to so many historically relevant places and brought New York and Washington & Hamilton history alive. Highest recommendations!! Final note: our friend is in a wheelchair and Bruce quite literally went out of his way to find ramps and make sure we are able to go everywhere with the group. Thanks so very much, Bruce!!

1  Thank LoveOfMagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce R, Owner at Revolutionary Tours NYC, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2018

I'm SO pleased that you all enjoyed the tour. It was a very special July 4th for me as well, sharing this history was such enthusiastic, intelligent, kind and generous people. Thank you for taking the tour again and posting feedback. Bruce

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews