We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just perfect...”

Oceana Coastal Kitchen
Reserve with OpenTable
Oceana Coastal Kitchen is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #55 of 5,193 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$20
Cuisines: Sushi, Seafood, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Oceana Coastal Kitchen is the vibrant, signature restaurant inside the Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa on San Diego’s Mission Bay. Opened in 2015, Oceana embraces fresh California flavors and a modern, marine-inspired design – including a quartz-topped cold bar embedded with mother-of-pearl and sea glass, an 800-gallon aquarium stocked with tropical jellyfish, and an outdoor patio that opens to panoramic views of the bay. Executive Chef Steven Riemer leads the kitchen and pays close attention to the use of high-quality, sustainable ingredients. Prior to Oceana, Riemer worked alongside The Lodge at Torrey Pines’ heralded Executive Chef Jeff Jackson for eight years, and he has cooked at the James Beard House in New York City and the Ritz-Carlton in Laguna Niguel. Oceana offers breakfast, lunch and dinner service with highlights including Sea of Cortez Scallops, Two Duck Risotto and more. Throughout the day visitors can also opt to sit at the cold bar, where handcrafted sushi is made before guests’ eyes. On Sundays, Oceana’s buffet-style brunch includes seemingly endless options like smoked salmon, fresh fruits, pastries and champagne. On Mondays and Tuesdays, guests can find flatbreads, sushi and craft cocktails for just $9 during happy hour. On Wednesdays, live music and $2 off craft beer is available throughout the evening, while Thursdays feature half-price bottles of wine on the menu.
Reviewed 29 December 2017 via mobile

We were looking for a place to have some nice seafood. Exceeded our expectation. Service was outstanding, and food was extremely good. We ordered crab cakes, oysters, tuna tartare and the chefs selection of five sushi rolls. Perfect for the four of us, did not order any entres, but had our fair share of desserts. The sushi was very fresh, flavorful, and well prepared. Crab cakes were tasty, crunchy outside, full with crab meat and hardly any breading. Great atmosphere... nice views of the bay. Oysters were also very fresh and tasty. Tuna tartare was appropriately seasoned tuna was the star of the dish. Went with another couple.

Thank Alberto C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan N, Manager at Oceana Coastal Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Thank you for your kind words! It is wonderful to know that you enjoyed a myriad of fresh seafood dishes during your dining experience at Oceana Coastal Kitchen. We hope to welcome you back for another meal soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (471)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 47 of 471 reviews

Reviewed 28 December 2017

We were looking for a fun place to eat a relaxing Christmas dinner, and Oceana did not disappoint. Great gluten-free options for my wife, a solid menu starring some fantastic fresh seafood, and unbeatable location with shockingly affordable prices. The Fillet is a never miss option, and the scallops and ceviche were both a hit. There is flatbread pizza for the kids, and the jellyfish tank is hauntingly beautiful. We have eaten here twice, and will do so again.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank C H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan N, Manager at Oceana Coastal Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed a relaxing and delicious Christmas dinner with your family. We are happy to provide fresh menu options for all palates alongside a beautiful view of Mission Bay. We look forward to welcoming you for another memorable experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 December 2017 via mobile

The food was terrific, but the service was a standout. The four of us had creative cocktails and shared multiple ceviches, a crudo, mussels and clams, as well as several flat breads, and a lovely scallop dish with braised greens and cauliflower. The staff was attentive and helpful as we chose dishes and made sure we hade everything we needed, never an empty water glass.

At the bottom of the menu, there was a notice that there would be a 2% surcharge due to local ordnance’s minimum wage increases. My first reaction to this notice was to get up and walk out. If I hadn’t just driven from LA to stay in the resort, I might have. The idea that the management is unwilling to pay the staff and wants me to know is really off putting. The staff deserve better. Just a raise the price and leave the destain for your staff off of the menu.

1  Thank Lori b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 December 2017 via mobile

Hi:) we had a lovely table near the jellyfish and our waitress Kasha was wonderful!!! I had many questions about the winelist so she had Patrick the Sommelier came to our rescue and he suggested the Belle Glos Pinot noir which we LOVED with our dinner. The bread and butter was my favorite (sorry) but the ribeye was just so so. I know I should have ordered the fish with name like oceana but I will come back again and try new things. Merry Christmas! Tanya and Chris

Thank cmz166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan N, Manager at Oceana Coastal Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are very happy to know that Patrick and Kasha were able to make your dining experience special. We look forward to welcoming you back again to try other menu options. Thank you again for dining with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 December 2017

We were serviced by Myles and Jake. Immediately they made us feel at home. Their suggestions were spot on. The fillet was very tasty. We highly recommend this restaurant.

Thank Gord S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan N, Manager at Oceana Coastal Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Thank you for recommending Oceana Coastal Kitchen! We are thrilled to hear that our team members made you feel at home and that the food was spot on. We look forward to serving you on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oceana Coastal Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Oceana Coastal Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing