We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing Music venue”

House of Blues Restaurant & Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
House of Blues Restaurant & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #655 of 5,142 Restaurants in San Diego
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: House of Blues Restaurant & Bar offers made-from-scratch, Southern-inspired cooking, including iconic dishes such as New Orleans jambalaya and gumbo, Lowcountry shrimp & grits, house-smoked Carolina pulled-pork barbeque, Memphis-style baby back ribs, and Delta fried chicken. The menu also offers signature Southern-inspired recipes such as Voodoo Shrimp and Carolina Mess, as well as a wide range of burgers, sandwiches and salads. The House of Blues bar is dedicated to showcasing a unique blend of classic and contemporary specialty cocktails, spirits & craft beer. Located in the Gaslamp District near Petco Park and the San Diego Convention Center, House of Blues experience brings together authentic American food, live music, and art like no other place on Earth. The sounds are electric, the art is inspiring,and our kitchen is as rockin' as the talent onstage. Closed on Mondays, but open on show nights from 4pm-11pm.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Visited “House of blues” in Chicago a few years ago which had 2 “blues” bands playing in 2 rooms “back to back” free of charge. Informed in San Diego that they had 2 bands on at $19 cover charge playing A variety of genres. “What no blues” - the main room was empty, just open 1-2 nights. Told the place was dedicated to “The Blues Brothers”, come on, there must be many great BLUES bands local ! And you have vacant rooms, just keep MUSIC LIVE !, did not stay for a meal was sooooo disappointed.

Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole D, Manager at House of Blues Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Hi Steve,

We're sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your experience with us. We have a variety of live music on our stage whenever possible and it's always FREE with no cover! Our ability to have live music in our restaurant is dependent on whether or not we have a show in our Voodoo Room upstairs, so unfortunately it's not always consistent. You can check for free live music on our website calendar. We hope you have you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (156)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 5 of 157 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Consistently offering an excellent selection of live entertainment to San Diego as well as a Southern inspired lunch and dinner menu, extensive cocktail and beer selections. Staff very polite and friendly during our visit, be patient for service during live events as venue becomes extremely crowded. Be prepared for temperatures to soar in concert hall, no hint of any air circulation/ventilation during our concert in spring. Overall a memorable and favorable experience for our group.

Thank basdgl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HouseOfBluesSD, Manager at House of Blues Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for the positive review! We're happy to hear about your experience and hope you'll come by for another gospel brunch soon. They happen every month and are always a great time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Good barbecue and happy hour drinks- enjoyed the house band too! Glad we took a chance and stopped in

Thank PaigeBu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HouseOfBluesSD, Manager at House of Blues Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Paige, I'm happy to hear you stopped by for happy hour and enjoyed your time. Make sure to stop by again sometime, happy hour is every day 4-6!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2018 via mobile

We came here to see ZZ Ward! The line up was great and the main band was great as well. We really enjoyed the atmosphere and had a blast!

Thank jennyrs2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2018

Watched Dua Lipa perform live here. Was so happy to find it was a small venue where we could see her so close on stage. Would highly recommend for concerts or shows - you can see the stage so well from the steps by the bar as well!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank omgitsgale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HouseOfBluesSD, Manager at House of Blues Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2018

Thank you for the great feedback! We are happy to be able to provide an intimate space for artists and fans to interact. Come see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed House of Blues Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 

Been to House of Blues Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing