We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (86)
Filter reviews
86 results
Traveler rating
7
16
16
15
32
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
7
16
16
15
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviews front desk lady comic con would stay again walking distance pillows microwave
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 86 reviews
Reviewed 6 February 2018

The front desk lady was cheerful and helpful. Our room was spacious and clean--a cleaning lady comes everyday. The location is very central to downtown--you can walk to cafes and local restaurants. The area does have a lot of homeless people but that is basically everywhere in San Diego.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank Davina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 November 2017 via mobile

Okay, where to begin with this review... firstly I’ve never get the need to create a trip advisor account. I stay in many hotels, but this was a new low in hospitality so I feel the need to warn about the property. For some it may be great, but this was our experience.

Before we got to the room, the reception clerk was being quite rude to customers on the phone. She actually told one customer they were full when they weren’t full, because she didn’t like the way she was speaking to her. Yikes..

Okay so the room wasn’t too bad on arrival, but When you look a little closer and settle in to the room, you realize what there is. Cleanliness was awful. The toilet had fecal matter (from previous guests I assume) around the rim of the toilet. The shower had hair in it. The floors were dirty and dusty in both the bedroom and bathroom. There were also brown smears on the bathroom door....the feeling of the room was quite disgusting.

Other disappointments during he stay: The shower doesn’t project water outwards - you have to stand under it like your hugging the wall. The towels had brown rust stains and were about 10 years old. The air con sounded like a freight train, impossible to sleep with it on, so we stayed hot.

The noise - haha this deserves its own section. When someone in the apartment above flushed their toilet you here it wash down. Very pleasant! Next we woke to someone vomiting in the room next to us. Could hear everything. Next we had drunk people outside our room fighting at 2:00am. Then I had a dream because of the noise and thought someone was in the room and I scared the crap out of my partner... (sorry babe).

Lastly someone double parked us in when we went to leave. Had to wait around for the sleepy head to finally come and move his car.

I think that’s it. We were super close to leaving the hotel in the middle of the night but we stuck it out.

This is an affordable hotel, but it just didn’t represent any value, it in fact set us back. But we grew in character! Heading home now an looking forward to a chemical bath to cleanse.

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
7  Thank rjdc98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 October 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights and very good location just off the freeways and 15 mins walk to downtown. Rooms are clean and tidy with good space. Only negatives I found were- walls were thin, you could hear next door clearly. We stayed at room 206 which has a dodgy door to open, staff know about it an helped us get in... why not just fix it? And there was no iron. Would stay again if in the area

Date of stay: October 2017
1  Thank rbuckoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 August 2017 via mobile

They say free high speed WIFI, but there's absolutely no wifi in this hotel. You won't be able to get wifi in your room. The girl working here today (August 15th) had the worst attitude ever and was no willing to help at all.
Her coworkers the nights before were really nice, but she actually ruined the few days we were here.

Almost acting like her salary depends on it.

She pretended to be the boss of the place ... her service was so bad she didn't want to call her boss.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank Amayele S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 August 2017

We Had a son at the Naval Hospital very close by. We needed a hotel for 3 days until my son's brain surgery. we would stay in his hospital room for a week while he recovered. Well they could not operate on him because of complications. well we now needed a hotel room for another 8 days and we had 2 hours to find one we could afford. Well the staff not only helped me out with the room but helped with pricing too. The hotel is not a 5 star hotel it is in down town near everything but it is a little noisy. being down town.Owner and staff are 5 star all the way. Hotel is a great location, to Naval hospital, Balbo Park and Downtown, rooms are neat clean and basic.

Room tip: Second floor is a little quitter. no one over you and less road and AC noise
Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank thebatchman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews