We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This place is shut down”

Hurricane River Cave
Ranked #4 of 15 things to do in Harrison
Attraction details
Hillsboro, Texas
Level Contributor
377 reviews
116 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“This place is shut down”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

I was told the owner died a couple years ago and it has been shut down. I did drive by there and the gate is chianed up and it looks like noone has been there is quite awhile. :(

Visited April 2017
Helpful?
Thank Dogpilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    4
    3
    2
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Real caving experiences”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2016

Guide is great Very knowledgable. Many different types of trips from novice to experienced. Highly recomend.

Visited June 2016
Helpful?
Thank rosy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hurricane River Cave”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2016

I grew up in Harrison, AR and worked at Hurricane River Cave in the 70's. I had a blast driving my little blue Maverick car down the tiny road leading to the cave. Jim Shermerhorn brought the cave back to life in 1968. He bought the property and worked hard at the cave and his convenience store on Hwy 62-65. It was the summer job before my senior year. Unfortunately Jim died right after his dream came true. I worked at both places,

Visited August 2015
Helpful?
Thank Sharon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrison, Arkansas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Truly an Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2016

I went here a few times and love the waterfall and the views inside. I took pictures here that were Amazing.I took family from out of state and they loved the tour,amazing inside. There is also a wild cave tour you can take it is muddy when you crawl but so well worth it.

Visited August 2015
Helpful?
Thank Rhonda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
156 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“This cave was closed when we went by it!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2015

Please note that this attraction is currently closed. If you are in Harrison,AR you can go to Mystic and Crystal caves or better yet, head east and go to Blanchard Springs caverns which are very good!

Visited November 2015
Helpful?
Thank Denise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hurricane River Cave also viewed

 

Been to Hurricane River Cave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing