We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on Tripadvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Ways to Experience Elvis Presley Birthplace & Museum
from US$101.54
More Info
Reviews (1,570)
Filter reviews
1,570 results
Traveler rating
822
514
183
35
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
822
514
183
35
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews room house humble beginnings gift shop elvis presley his life visiting graceland shotgun house childhood church small house grounds are beautiful gospel music grew up front porch birth home memorial chapel great stop worth the trip
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 1,570 reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2021 via mobile

Having lived in Memphis and seeing Graceland , it’s quite humbling to his his birthplace and how he ended up.

Pretty cool to see for the history buff.

Date of experience: March 2021
1  Thank 616MattC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 March 2021

The day I went the system was down, so they were only taking cash. I didn't have enough to take the tour so opted to just walk the property for free instead of going in the buildings. The lady at the counter wasn't very friendly, so I didn't make any effort to leave for cash to come back.

There is a big parking lot outside of the visitor center, with plenty of signs at each of the stops on the site. You can get a good visit without paying the fee to go inside and see period pieces, not stuff owned by the Pressley's. The gift shop was pretty big too.

Date of experience: March 2021
Thank Dewayne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 March 2021 via mobile

To visit this location is FREE but to go inside any of the buildings (besides the gift shop), watch the movies or tour the museum you will need a ticket. We are not huge Elvis Fans so we opted to tour the grounds, learn about his time in Tupelo and call it good. If only some people in your group are interested in doing the actual paid tour the others could likely be entertained by wandering around the free areas.

Anyone who visits is encouraged to pick up a FREE BOOKLET right inside the museum/ticket/gift shop area.

They offer a senior, child and military discount

Several RV parking spots available

On the grounds there are:
The home Elvis was born in and lived in until he was 3 with the historic marker
The walk of life - concrete walkway with significant dates and impactful life circumstances that changed Elvis’ path in life
Elvis left Tupelo at 13, there is a stone and statue of him at this age
Childhood Church - was moved here to be restored to what it looked like when he attended with his family
Memorial Chapel - for reflection and meditation and special events
Story wall/Fountain of life- people offered their first hand accounts of Elvis/his life
1939 Plymouth - a replica of the car that the Presley family took to move to Memphis
Reflections area- a park with pond meant to be a quiet place to reflect

Our biggest take away; Elvis means a lot to Tupelo and Tupelo meant a lot to Elvis. In 1957 when heard his birthplace was going to be restored he actually throw a benefit concert to help fund the efforts with the hopes that the area would become a park and gathering area for people.

Date of experience: March 2021
1  Thank hopalongrving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 March 2021

My wife and I enjoyed our time there. It was worth the trip. The lady selling tickets was about as friendly as a rattlesnake. That was a turnoff. When asked about ticket prices, she pointed to a small piece of paper with prices on it. I guess it was too much effort to talk. Aside from that, it was a pleasant experience.

Date of experience: March 2021
1  Thank advman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 March 2021

We brought my mother in law here because she is a huge Elvis fan. We flew her from Alaska and she was totally amazed at the information and history. Loved the house and the church. Plus the walk with all the plackets with dates and info. She walked down memory lane. Also went to Graceland. Loved it.

Date of experience: July 2020
2  Thank Martha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews