We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
12 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Official Website
$170
View deal
Booking.com$170
Expedia.com$170
Hotels.com$170
Travelocity$170
Agoda.com$197
Vio.com$170
View all 20 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,289)
Filter reviews
2,289 results
Traveler rating
1,476
598
140
41
34
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,476
598
140
41
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviews loews hotel loews boston precinct bar police headquarters heated towel rack great location copley square excellent hotel within walking distance newbury st south end visiting boston king bed valet parking beacon hill fenway park concierge
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 2,289 reviews
Reviewed November 7, 2022

The staff at this hotel was one of the friendliest and most accommodating we have experienced in our travels. From the moment we stepped into the beautiful Back Bay building which originally was home to a police precinct station, we we welcomed and the staff went out of their way to make sure our stay was perfect. The location was definitely perfect, with all the town's main attractions within walking distance. The rooms were very quiet and lovely, and we slept like babies in the super comfy beds. This will definitely be our go-to hotel for future Boston trips!

Date of stay: November 2022
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ajsteinberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Robert Rivers, General Manager at Hotel AKA Back Bay, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2022

Dear Guest,

We love your review and thank you for taking time to share your experience in Boston and as a guest of Hotel AKA Back Bay!

Our team and I read every review and we celebrate those 5 bubble reviews, such as yours' and look for opportunity to continue to improve our performance and enhance our product. Truly, reviews are key to operating any hotel and our appreciation is evident in our commitment.

We hope that your travel plans allow a return to Boston, and we hope to have you again as our guest,

Robert

Robert Rivers
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2022 via mobile

This was a lovely 12-hour stay in Boston. The valet check in was the warmest we have ever received. Reception check in was equally friend. The entire staff went out of their way to be kind and warm and funny. We stay in Boston hotels at least once a year and this was our first time at AKA. It has easily risen to the top. Can’t wait to be back. Kudos to the leadership team!

Room tip: Make sure to take complimentary tea or coffee in the library.
Date of stay: November 2022
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank SharonW189
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Robert Rivers, General Manager at Hotel AKA Back Bay, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2022

Good morning Sharon,

We could not have been grateful enough that you chose Hotel AKA Back Bay for your recent Boston travel, and then to provide us an online review with a 5 bubble rating, is literally the icing on the cake! From our entire team, thank you!

Today's travel has changed and it certainly has not gotten any easier or less crowded, and why our team is so focused on creating a hotel that feels like a welcome oasis after travel. Simply, we hire personality and passion and this model continues to be successful, and comments, such as yours' ensures us that we have the correct formula.

Please let me know of your return visit so that I might thank you in person.

Be well,

Robert

Robert Rivers
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2022 via mobile

AKA Backbay was located perfectly for a couple to visit Boston for the first time and wanted to WALK the city. Boston is so easy to see by walking or electric bike. We walked 28 miles including a Boston history foodie tour and e- bike tour that I highly recommend. Mention Bob and Charles. Local Bostonians.

Date of stay: October 2022
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank DrBill2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Robert Rivers, General Manager at Hotel AKA Back Bay, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2022

Dear Bill,

That is some serious mileage, and why Boston is nicknamed 'America's Walking City'!

Now that you are rested, we truly appreciate you having taken time to offer Hotel AKA Back Bay a five bubble rating and our staff is provided copy of every guest review. Reviews, such as yours' applauds our efforts and we all thank you.

We are fortunate to be in such an historic city and our address in Back Bay, at corners of Berkeley and Stuart provides a starting point to all that is Boston. As well, an easy location to return to after a long day.

We hope that you will again visit Boston and we would love to welcome you back,

Robert

Robert Rivers
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2022 via mobile

We received a VIP expedia benefit of $23 on food and drink, which is good if you can use it, we were told 35 minutes wait for a coffee, if the phone was answered, so opted for the pantry in reception.

The room was nice albeit the TV cabinet was too big and actually took up more room than anything else (strange in a small room). Which meant it felt cramped, when it doesn’t need to. Great bed, very comfy.

We found a used coffee lids on the floor behind the lamp?!? And toiletries provided was shower gel, Soap and lotion (strange), had to phone and ask for others, as we handnt brought our own.

The AC made noises all night and it seemed to decide if it was blowing hot or cold on its own

Nice hotel though and the reception team were always friendly and helpful. It was a average stay, we won’t remember it for good or bad reasons.

Date of stay: October 2022
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Freedom33500295038
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Robert Rivers, General Manager at Hotel AKA Back Bay, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2022

Dear Visitor,

Thank you for visiting the city of Boston and for selecting Hotel AKA Back Bay as your home away from home!

Our goal is to create memorable visits which our guests will cherish for many years, and it appears that while we performed well we did not meet that expectation. We respect your assessment and will continue to review our performance in these peak months and discover service opportunities that will be more memorable.

We review our housekeeping performance each day and apologies that we missed an item in our inspection process and will share with our attendant.

We strive each day and will work harder at being memorable,

Robert

Robert Rivers
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2022

I have been a frequent guest at Hotel AKA Back Bay (previously Loews). I find that this hotel is hands down one of the best options in Boston for quality, price, staff and cleanliness (vey important to me). I want to make two specific call outs. First the transition of new ownership; they have all the same staff (who are top notch) I know well and the new owners will be adding new options like rewards exc only further enhancing the offering. Two for the amenities, and overall experience this is my top recommendation in Boston for either work or leisure travel.

Date of stay: October 2022
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew009911
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Robert Rivers, General Manager at Hotel AKA Back Bay, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2022

Good afternoon Andrew,

We are so grateful that you have remained a loyal return guest, to now Hotel AKA Back Bay, and for sharing that our team is top notch!

It was very important to outgoing Loews Hotels and new owners, AKA Hotels, as success at this hotel has been result of our team. We are fortunate that 100% of our team and leaders remained at this location and will continue to embrace our service culture.

We look forward to your return and please reach out if I might ever be of assistance,

Robert

Robert Rivers
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews