We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fancy Dinner”
Review of Waterbar

Waterbar
Ranked #111 of 5,859 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $50
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: South Beach
Cross street: Harrison
Description: Waterbar is located on the South end of Rincon Park on San Francisco's scenic Embarcadero. If you're looking for a San Francisco restaurant with a view, Waterbar features panoramic views of the Bay and San Francisco skyline serving the freshest seafood.
Reviewed September 1, 2016 via mobile

First of all, we ordered 6pcs of oysters (3 different kinds), they were really really good!!!!

We waited for a little while even though we made our reservation ahead of time. We even asked for a menu while waiting since no one gave us one.

1. Food was okay
2. Plating was really beautiful
3. It's an open kitchen, it was fun to watch the chefs while prepping the customer's order.
4. Servers and staff cleaning the table were super nice and attentive.
5. I hope host/hostess were attentive.
6. Wished there were more choices of wine by the glass.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank Yang C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviews (1,556)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

583 - 587 of 1,556 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2016 via mobile

Food, service, drinks, location, and view were all top notch. Our waiter was exceptional and enjoyed talking through all aspects of each dish. I would eat here again for sure if I find myself in SF again.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank EvetsP
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed August 25, 2016 via mobile

Yay: view of the enchanting Bay Lights!
Nay: taste combinations.

The prime location of this restaurant is a highlight, and we were looking forward to a good seafood meal. While the main courses were alright, the appetizers were poor. The sashimi was mixed with the sweet taste of melon killed by a spicy sauce, salty crackers, and coconut sorbet with herbs. It was horrendous. My taste buds were so confused.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank Ludionthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed August 25, 2016 via mobile

We had just spent a week in Sonoma and decided to come into the city for lunch on the way to the airport. It's location is very convenient. This was our second visit. Previous was March 2015. We had loved the seafood and oysters.
We again had oysters which were great as was the seared tuna. Overall we had a good lunch but several items were not on the menu at 1.20 pm when we placed our order and the substitutions were pretty poor. They also messed up our drink order. We sat outside as it was plenty warm enough. Great atmosphere. Service was prompt and attentive. Even brought my sister a surprise chocolate plate with a candle for her birthday. Would definitely go again.
But please note management if you are going to substitute you should try to keep it as close to the menu dishes not something that is really very different. Eg the Alaskan Halibut BLT substitute was the smoked fish sandwich with sauerkraut which was ready in the menu. Very very different from the Halibut with aioli and Cucumber. They were also out of sole and substituted with a blue water fish? .....slightly disappointing as we had had a brilliant lunch last year....

Date of visit: August 2016
1  Thank Lou V
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed August 25, 2016 via mobile

We recently dined at the Waterbar and it was a great experience from the moment we arrived til the moment we left. We were greeted immediately and given a nice table for two with a great view of the Bridge. Our waiter was attentive and knowledgable. We started with a Cosmo and a Gin and Tonic. Our first course was a grilled peach wrapped in prociutto with corn meal on the side which we shared. We both ordered the Halibut which was perfect. Best ever. Desert was a decadent chocolate recommendation of the waiter. All was washed down with a bottle of Cloudy Bay Sauvignon Blanc. As we left we talked about how great the Waterbar was and promised to return.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank 570JohnM570
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Travelers who viewed Waterbar also viewed

 

Been to Waterbar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2023 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Philippines. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.