We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$239
View deal
Free cancellation until 01/10/21
Expedia.com
US$239
View deal
Free cancellation until 01/10/21
Priceline
US$239
View deal
Free cancellation until 30/09/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.comUS$239
FindHotelUS$239
TravelocityUS$239
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,414)
Filter reviews
1,414 results
Traveler rating
780
423
127
48
36
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
780
423
127
48
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tenderloin heated pool free parking chambers restaurant pool party great pool fun place to stay civic center cool vibe cool hotel homeless people never felt unsafe love this hotel the heart of the city around the corner public transportation neighborhood
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 1,414 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2021

It’s hard to believe you can find such a beautiful hidden gem in Tenderloin. But here it is: stunning courtyard, great pool, fantastic art, welcoming staff and the most comfortable king bed I’ve ever touched!
Love everything about the hotel and the restaurant Chambers - oh so very great!
Will definitely return more. And more!

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ehayes982852
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando Lee, Guest Services / Front Office at Phoenix Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2021

Hello Ehayes,

We are so glad you had a great time with us and certainly look forward to seeing your smiling faces again! Stay in touch and i'll make sure you got the best , most comfy king size bed ever!

Cheers,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 July 2021

The call to book a room was easy, the arrival was exciting (the two lovely people working behind the desk told us about Brenda's & Vesuvio Cafe & City Lights Book Store), we enjoyed having a room right off the pool and Chambers was a fun night out with the best commute in the history of drunken commuting.

That said, on Sunday Morning you guys took a wrecking ball to my subconscious, unloading heavy equipment at 8AM to accommodate the union hours of a crew at the expense of people who were paying good money to sleep-in. Sigmund Freud is shaking his head in disbelief.

Next time, pay the crew time and a half to start at 1PM or don't allow guests on the night before you book an event. Suck it up, eat the loss! It's not nice to antagonize people in their dreams.

For the next month or so, I advise against reading Yelp Reviews. Generally speaking, as a mental health consideration, I advise against reading Yelp Reviews - it's the devil - but you guys certainly have it coming and I could use the laughs.

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank YesGregYes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando Lee, Guest Services / Front Office at Phoenix Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2021

We certainly apologize for the early load in and you can be assured NEVER AGAIN! We appreciate your feedback nonetheless and certainly look forward to hosting you on a normal day so that you can enjoy our oasis and relax to your heart's content.

Cheers,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 July 2021

This hotel has been nicely renovated into a retro/trendy motor lodge oasis. The staff was generally very helpful, friendly and accommodating. The pool (when the weather cooperated) was excellent and definitely the centerpiece of the property. The restaurant/bar was nicely done (albeit steeply priced) with friendly staff. The location was...as expected. (Do your research and avoid the property if the area is going to bother you too much) The location did hamper us from openly wandering the area for food and entertainment options, but we knew this coming in. The property itself (including the parking) was secure and safety wasn't really a concern when we were there.

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank S W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando Lee, Guest Services / Front Office at Phoenix Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2021

Hello

Firstly i would like to thank you so much for the high marks! From our whole team here we are sending you some LOVE! An even bigger thank you for taking the time and doing the research about our hotel and making the point to separate us from our surroundings. We work extremely hard to provide the best experience for our guests so when you check in you know where you are and when you walk through our gates you can relax and enjoy the experience for all the glory its worth! We love you and appreciate your kind words.

Cheers,


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 June 2021

Don’t let the tough streets of the Tenderloin fool you, there is a peace that exists once you enter the Phoenix Hotel courtyard that could be equated to entering a parallel universe. Not only is it retro and artistic, it has some interesting history too. Be prepared for an oasis within the bustling city.

Date of stay: June 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank bongomady
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando Lee, Guest Services / Front Office at Phoenix Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2021

Hello Bongo,

THANK YOU SO MUCH!!! Regardless of everything that is happening all around us it has been and always will be our goal to offer that transformative experience when you walk through our gates.

To forget about the outside world and enjoy our little oasis just as you ​said. You get us, you get what we do and how special this place is to all and i cannot be more grateful for your kind words.

Cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 June 2021

The Phoenix Hotel is an amazing gem nestled right in the mix of the always entertaining Tenderloin. The staff here is superb and ready to help and answer questions. Being such a rad hotel with great rooms, heated pool and dog friendly makes this a must stay hotel. Whether you're passing through SF or just need a staycation, this is the place to be.

Date of stay: June 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank dafnoah
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando Lee, Guest Services / Front Office at Phoenix Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2021

Hello Dafn,

Hello

We are so glad you have a wonderful stay here with us. As the world opens up you can always be sure that you will always have a home away from home here in SF and most certainly here at the hotel!


Cheers,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews