We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.comUS$98
Official HotelUS$98
PricelineUS$98
Hotels.comUS$98
eDreamsUS$98
Orbitz.comUS$98
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (172)
Filter reviews
172 results
Traveler rating
26
64
56
24
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
26
64
56
24
2
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 172 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

I was hoping for this to be a pretty decent place as it is near work. I was pretty sorely disappointed in the room itself along with a lot of street noise. There were some issues like no hangers in the closet, the glass doors in the shower would not stay closed because the floors are so uneven, And the lack of comfortable pillows or even an extra blanket. I would not recommend this hotel.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank kensmithld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 May 2018

We were traveling with a toddler so had a few things on our list "must have" list: microwave, fridge, not $$$. Compared to other places in SF, it was definitely cheaper. Microwave and fridge worked well. Fan unit worked well.

For breakfast, there were packaged danish type food, cereal, yogurt, apples and oranges, juice, milk, coffee and tea. We found it sufficient for us.

Location was not bad. Trader Joe's is nearby as well as a few restaurants. There's also a costco nearby and across the street from them is a street food/food truck space. Location was a few blocks from Market street where many trams and buses ran. Across the street from the hotel was a bus that would go to Fisherman's Wharf directly.

Only downside was the room was a bit smaller, parking was tight at times (but we had no problems getting a spot), interior was a bit dated but did not impact the function of the room, and housekeeping was inconsistent (you're going to want to wear shoes on the carpet). We had to constantly go back to the front desk to grab an extra set of towels despite that being recorded on their system multiple times. As well, it can get pretty noisy (traffic mostly, bass from the bar next door on Saturday night only) so we would stuff a towel under the door to fill the gap. We also kept the fan on low to drown out the noise outside. Some staff were extremely responsive, others not so much.

We wish we could've had another space to put the play pen for our toddler to sleep in but that's not a problem with the hotel. In retrospect, we should've thrown him in the bathroom.

Overall, it was adequate for what we needed at a reasonable price (compared to other accommodations) and was conveniently located and central to get to most things. A little further from Fisherman's Wharf but we didn't plan on spending more than a couple days there anyways.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Kevin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 May 2018

What can I say, rooms within the city are expensive, so we were looking for something a little more affordable that had good, free parking. This room checked all of the boxes. Clean rooms. Average, yet comfortable beds. Easy check in, and free covered parking. I was able to park the car, and then Uber everywhere that I wanted to go during our visit.
Would stay here again.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank alan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 March 2018

While we were unable to stay at San Francisco Inn, their leniency on cancellation policy earns 5 stars, in my book.
Our surgical procedure at UCSF had a last minute postponement. The inn staff took this into account, and contrary to their 48 hour cancellation policy, never did charge us.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank nicknmary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 January 2018

Pros:
Free Parking!!!
Friendly Staff
Free Coffee and Tea comes in handy

Cons:Walls are thin

S/C/V

Security: Exits marked, Card Key entrance to rooms

Cleaniness: Very Clean

Value: to be quite honest for the price i paid to be in SF peninsula and free parking it was worth it.

***Something you all should know. This is a Motel and not a Hotel.

People: Whats the difference between and Motel and a Hotel?

Me: About $100

Here is the difference Hotels are places that offer amenities for possible longer stays ranging in prices of $150+ Destination resorts $300+ Lux Resorts $800+ Hotels prices should be reflective of what is being offered to people and how much they are willing to cater to your every reasonable need for the money you pay.

Motels have bee designed to be for short stays, and yes sometimes by the hour. Motels filled a need for basic accommodation and no frills. $40-$125

SF INN is a Motel

It is a clean, properly furnished basic room. Shower/Toilet/TV/Bed/AC unit. It is NOT a hotel with valet service, Eames furniture, 600 thread count sheets, and 42" LCD TV.

So here is why i gave it a very good score for a Motel

Free parking! If you search around and look at parking rates in SF it goes from $35-$75(valet) per day! So if you rent a car it hurts twice as much everywhere else. This was the biggest + in my book, SF is great in the city but what if you want to go to Legion Hall? Napa Valley? Shopping outlet? you need a car.

I don't ask a lot from a motel and honestly neither should you. the Security of the building was key card access with is more that i can say for a lot of motels. Exits are clearly marked and i didn't feel i was in danger. As for the room its self, yeah it could use a refresh, the design of the char doesn't match the entertainment cabinet and the wall paper in the room does match the color of the bathroom wall.....but who cares! The bed was soft, clean sheets, good pillows, trash emptied, extra toilet paper, toiletries. Its a basic room....you know to sleep in. As for the Value aspect, for the price i found it for was reasonable and the free parking was too good to pass up. So yes i recommend it for what it is a Motel. I'm not gonna knock the motel for the homeless people that walk around, the number of emergency vehicles blaring down the road, people who don't know what a acceptable level of volume for a TV is. Those are things a business CANNOT control. But you can control where you place your comfort, safety, money.

Date of stay: December 2017
8  Thank FrugalAdventures78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews