We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
₱5,527
Fully refundable before Sat, Mar 2
No prepayment needed
Algotels
Skyscanner.com
₱4,825
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (179)
Filter reviews
179 results
Traveler rating
29
64
56
25
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
29
64
56
25
5
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 179 reviews
Reviewed November 4, 2016

Clean, comfortable, located in SOMA. Safe and free guest parking. Reasonable prices. Good complementary breakfast. Helpful gentleman at the front desk. Within walking distance of some interesting dining.

Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank docjifast
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Taha A, General Manager at San Francisco Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2023

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience at our hotel. We're thrilled to hear that you found our location in SOMA convenient and that you enjoyed the clean and comfortable accommodations.

It's great to know that you felt safe and appreciated the free guest parking. We're glad that the prices were reasonable and that you enjoyed the complimentary breakfast. Your kind words about the helpful gentleman at the front desk are much appreciated.

Thank you for choosing our hotel, and we look forward to welcoming you back on your future visits.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2016

The hotel is very old. I thought at first, it started out as something else, but then, "it is San Francisco". I didn't choose the hotel. A friend there for a conference did because it was in their budget. At first, I was a little put off, but quickly got over it. We stayed one week. At over 160 a night, that seemed steep to me, but, "It is San Francisco". We quickly found out that a very famous drag club was right next door, as in, attached to the building. I was worried about noise, but it was never a problem. I did get to see some of the night life, and it was quite entertaining. (in a good way, totally) There is everything (and I mean everything) you need within walking distance. I quickly ran to Trader Joes and picked up breakfast things to stock in my fridge. I do not do pastry for breakfast, or cereal, and that is what you get for their included breakfast. The only protein is yogurt, which I don't do either. Having the fridge was great. It was basically a place to shower and sleep. The staff is what makes this place worth staying at (unless it's only because it's cheap "for San Francisco") There are many good places close by to eat. A few blocks away on Harrison around the I-15 entrance, near Best Buy, there is a food truck park, with a big screen TV in a sitting area that had some big baseball game going, with all the food trucks surrounding you. I had some of the BEST pizza ever from one of those trucks. A wood fired oven pizza. (still wishing I had some of that) Lots of other choices as well, all what I would call "cheap eats", but with SanFran quality. Lot's of folks come, order and sit with their family to eat, some bring their dogs, really nice outdoor atmosphere. Then, there is Rocco's Italian in the opposite direction on Folsom. Incredible everything. Of course, more pricy but totally worth it. Nothing disappoints and we went twice. From steamed clams in white wine to the blackberry pie a la mode, just incredible. Lots of locals there at lunch and dinner, which says something. The hotel is an older hotel, no elevator, and had to walk up 2 flights of stairs with the luggage, but no big deal. My AC worked great (I'm prob the only person using AC in San Francisco in October, but when we arrived, they were having a weird heat wave) Parking is free, (1st come, 1st served) we used Uber or a taxi most of the time if we didn't walk and they were always there in minutes. We did walk from fishermans wharf back to the hotel one day. It wasn't easy but we did it, and we walked many other places. Don't let the area scare you. San Francisco is really one of the safest cites anywhere. Yes, there are a lot of homeless, but I think they actually come there because the city services are so darn good. If you are looking for a less expensive place, but still located well within everything you could possibly need, this is it. And again, the staff, all the way from the front desk to housekeeping are just some of the nicest people I've ever met. Without that, I would not rate the hotel as high as I did. Its older, no room service, but they do have a delivery service that will bring you just about anything you want at any time of the day or night. Probably better than room service, less expensive and better food. Overall, I'd stay again, cool location, great staff, and for San Francisco, a bargain. The staff overall speak about 6 different languages. It came in quite handy.

Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank leigh c
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Taha A, General Manager at San Francisco Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2023

Thank you for providing such a detailed and insightful review of your stay with us. We appreciate your thorough feedback and are delighted to hear that, despite the initial concerns about the hotel's age, you had an enjoyable experience overall.

It's great to know that the location and the nearby amenities suited your needs. We're pleased that you found the staff to be accommodating and friendly, and we're especially grateful for your understanding about the hotel's older structure.

Your recommendations for local eateries and your insights into the neighborhood are valuable for future guests, and we appreciate you sharing your positive experiences.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back on your future visits to San Francisco.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2016

During Photonics West time hotel price goes up in San Francisco. For those who visit P/W and do not want to spend too much on hotel stay, San Francisco Inn will be a good choice.
It locates on 9th Street; 1.1 miles away from the Convention Center, 20 minutes walk, along the Howard St. and parking free.
Small size room; but clean and comfortable.

Date of stay: February 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stenley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Taha A, General Manager at San Francisco Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2023

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and recommend our hotel for those attending Photonics West. We understand the importance of finding budget-friendly options during peak event times, and we're glad to be considered a good choice for such occasions.

We're pleased to hear that our location, within a reasonable distance from the Convention Center and offering free parking, was convenient for your needs. Your acknowledgment of our clean and comfortable rooms is much appreciated.

Thank you for choosing San Francisco Inn, and we look forward to welcoming you back on your future visits, especially during events like Photonics West.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2016

The room size was decent. There is no lift so please ensure you can carry your luggage up to two stairs. The room allotted to us was good (road facing). Not much noise though. Good view. Parking is decent and complimentary (not usual in this part of town). The receptionist was kind and helped us with the Map and directions. Breakfast was with limited options and we expected it to be that ways. Wifi, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, AC - all worked just fine. would recommend this place.

Room tip: No lifts. Rooms facing the road seem to be spacious.
Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank ciploc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Taha A, General Manager at San Francisco Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2023

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience with us. We're thrilled to hear that you found our location very good and appreciated the amenities at an awesome price.

We're glad the room size met your expectations, and we appreciate your understanding about the absence of a lift. It's great to know that you enjoyed the road-facing room with a good view and that the parking, a complimentary offering, added value to your stay.

We appreciate your kind words about our receptionist and are pleased that the provided amenities, including Wi-Fi, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, and AC, met your needs.

Thank you for recommending us, and we look forward to welcoming you back on your future visits.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2016 via mobile

When we arrived we were greeted by a friendly man who checked us into our room. We asked him about restaurants near by and he directed us up the street towards Market. He warned us about possible run ins with the homeless and drunk people. The room was clean, facility was clean and everyone we ran into was friendly. Location is good but would have rated this a higher score but the bed wasn't the greatest and the walls were a little too thin. Price was a little high for the room but it's the city so it's expensive anyway. Would stay here again if we needed to due to the friendly staff and free parking.

Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank afroginlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Taha A, General Manager at San Francisco Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2023

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay with us. We're delighted to hear that you experienced great service and appreciated the free parking.

We're glad our staff was friendly and helpful, providing you with recommendations for nearby restaurants. We appreciate your understanding about the city dynamics, and we're pleased that the overall cleanliness of the facility and the friendliness of everyone you encountered left a positive impression.

Your comments about the bed and walls are duly noted, and we'll use them for further improvements. We value your feedback, and we're glad to hear that the positive aspects, including the friendly staff and free parking, would bring you back for another stay.

Thank you for choosing our hotel, and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews