We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,938)
Filter reviews
1,938 results
Traveler rating
972
751
135
50
30
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
972
751
135
50
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jeanne d'arc golden retriever french hotel basement restaurant french theme claw foot tub different french artist hand painted french toast or pancakes union square charming hotel bush and powell american breakfast cable car small hotel hot breakfast breakfast was included
Filter
Updating list...
664 - 669 of 1,938 reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2015

It takes you back to the french era of the 19th century.Rooms are cozy and neat.Loved the piccaso paintings throughout the hotel and the complimentary breakfast served was great. This is a hotel with great ambiance, great location, nice neat rooms with wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: September 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank SHRESTHA P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 September 2015

The hotel is located within blocks of Union Square and Chinatown. The hotel is also located next to the Powell Cable Car route. The hotel offers a complementary full breakfast. The rooms are clean and well maintained. The staff is very friendly. Very good value, we will return! SEE VIDEO ON YOUTUBE CHANNEL: nwaynesworld

  • Stayed: September 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nwaynesworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 September 2015 via mobile

People are super friendly and the "house dog golden retriever " Michelle, always welcomes you at the lobby. Good food in the restaurant. Rooms are quaint. A little tired but still good. Would definitely stay there again. Location is good. With walking distance of downtown if you don't mind going back up the hill. If you do they are right beside the cable car line so super easy to access.

Stayed: September 2015, traveled on business
1  Thank Dan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 September 2015

My sister, niece and I was there for the weekend and it's a charming place. Icing on the cake for my niece was the dog! Staff were really helpful and the person who serves breakfast remembered what we liked the previous day. They had free coffee and tea all day too!
Location is great since it's not right on top of the crowded area but just on the corner close to everything.
Really loved this place and will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: September 2015, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MiihiriM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 September 2015

The past few years when we traveled to San Francisco we've stayed at the Cornell Hotel de France. It is a great location, comfortable bed, great staff, yummy breakfast, and interesting place. I highly recommend it.One year SF had an earthquake the first night we were there and we felt safe. It is close to about everything you want to see in SF if you are limited to a few days. Bathrooms were updated this trip and are much nicer. The hand painting throughout the hotel is beautiful. Did I mention a great price?

Room Tip: One of the ones with updated bathroom.
  • Stayed: August 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Doris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews