We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$176
US$156
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 35% below average rates

The price you found is 35% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$239/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$176
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$215/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$195
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$218/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$196
US$179
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 36% below average rates

The price you found is 36% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$279/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$212
US$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$231
US$206
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 29% below average rates

The price you found is 29% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$291/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Grand Hyatt San Francisco(San Francisco)
US$199
US$189
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 35% below average rates

The price you found is 35% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$293/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Union Square(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$185
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Fairmont San Francisco(San Francisco)
US$233
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 35% below average rates

The price you found is 35% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$360/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$205
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 37% below average rates

The price you found is 37% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$326/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (1,761)
Filter reviews
1,761 results
Traveler rating
434
720
395
122
90
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
434
720
395
122
90
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsunion squarecafe masongreat locationrooms are smallceiling fanaround the cornerboutique hotelstreet noisehomeless peoplehotel staffbart stationcentral locationpowell stheart of san franciscocable carfew blocksmarket street
Filter
Updating list...
71 - 76 of 1,761 reviews
Reviewed 18 May 2018

Pleasant room, nice lobby, BUT: no air conditioning! While AC is often unnecessary in SF, 25 years of living here previously tell me that it can and does get hot on occasion, and these rooms would be MISERABLE if that were the case. Since that cannot be predicted long in advance, I would never book here again. And at these prices, I cannot in good conscience rate this hotel even as "average", because AC is a non-negotiable expectation.

Only other complaint is the wireless: slow, frequently dropping out, etc. Tried several devices, over several days -- always the same.

  • Stayed: May 2018, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Essephreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerome C, Director of Front Office Operations at King George Hotel - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2018

Thank you for providing feedback regarding your recent stay with us at The King George Hotel. I am sadden that you felt miserable regarding no AC in your room. We offer AC in our rooms on the first floor just for future reference. Please give us the opportunity to make your next stay most comfortable and give us a call to discuss more in detail 415-781-5050. Thanks

Kind regards,
Jerome Collins, CRDE
Director of Front Office Operations
The King George, A Greystone Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 May 2018

We stay in King George for 3 night. Very nice location and a charming hotel. Very kind and helpful reception service. Feew steps from Union square. Small but lovely and clean room. Wifi is very slow and often doesn't work.

  • Stayed: April 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ilyca2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerome C, Director of Front Office Operations at King George Hotel - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2018

We are thrilled that your stay was most enjoyed! Very happy that the staff made you feel welcomed and pampered. Thank you also for you for advising regarding our wifi and we will look into this. Please book direct with us on your next visit for promotions and deals on rate. Than you and we look forward to seeing you soon!

Kind regards,
Jerome Collins, CRDE
Director of Front Office Operations
The King George, A Greystone Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 May 2018

we stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. great location, close to union square and many other activities in downtown. budget friendly, if you dont wanna spend $300-$400 a night in high end hotel.
Staff: Amazing, very helpful
Rooms: very small as you should expect in San Francisco, most hotels were built long ago, so no AC (you wont need it, temp in san francisco is nice)
Amenities: Wifi was ok, manageable, coffee in the morning, diners close by, they dont offer breakfast (most hotels dont in san francisco from my research or you have to pay) recently renovated so feels kinda new)

Room Tip: request refrigerator or rollaway bed in advance if you need one
  • Stayed: May 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nilay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerome C, Director of Front Office Operations at King George Hotel - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2018

Thank you for your kind review regarding your recent stay with us. Please come back and see us in the near future and book directly with us to receive deals. We look forward to seeing you soon!

Kind regards,
Jerome Collins, CRDE
Director of Front Office Operations
The King George, A Greystone Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 May 2018 via mobile

The wifi is a bit slow and the neighborhood might be a bit rough. But I guess it’s almost everywhere in San Francisco like that. There are a few homeless people but I never got bothered by any of them.

On the plus site the Hotel is super close to the Union Square and to the Market Street. The room was small which actually was no problem because I was traveling alone. The building is a bit older but got a nice facelift and in fact everything looked quite modern in there. The bar serves good drinks and you can play pool, darts and some other games there.

But what really stood out was the Service. I had a nice conversation during the checkin with Kerem about Istanbul and he gave me the feeling that I am welcome from the first minute. Also everyone else from the staff was super nice and helpful.

I know that service in the US is in general better than in Europe but in the King George Hotel it felt like they really appreciate your visit.

The price for that service, the central location and the Hotel in general is unbeatable. I had a great time. Thank you King George Hotel :)

Stayed: May 2018, traveled solo
Thank Marco K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerome C, Director of Front Office Operations at King George Hotel - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2018

Thank you for your wonderful review! I'm am pleased that the service was great and that Kerem made it extra special. We strive for excellence in service, I will share this review and Kerem and the team. Thank you and we look forward to seeing you soon! Thanks

Kind regards,
Jerome Collins, CRDE
Director of Front Office Operations
The King George, A Greystone Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 May 2018

Stayed at the King George Hotel for 3 nights. Great location within walking distance of Union Square and the cable car line. The hotel has undergone some renovation and it shows. Super clean room. It was a boutique style but ample room. The bedding was new and comfortable. Friendly staff. They have a happy hour but it really is just a discount on beer so we didn't partake. I understand they will be getting a liquor license soon. The lobby area is updated and fresh. I would definitively stay here again given the opportunity.

  • Stayed: April 2018, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank MaureenCincy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerome C, Director of Front Office Operations at King George Hotel - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2018

Thank you for your wonderful review! We are so thankful and pleased that your stay was most enjoyed. We are working on alot of things for this hotel to make it most comfortable for amazing guests like yourself. Thank you for the kind review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards,
Jerome Collins, CRDE
Director of Front Office Operations
The King George, A Greystone Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews