We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
King George Hotel - A Greystone Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$177
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 29% below average rates

The price you found is 29% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$248/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$204
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$231/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$170
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 39% below average rates

The price you found is 39% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$277/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Kensington Park Hotel(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$201/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Union Square(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$143
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$173/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Grand Hyatt San Francisco(San Francisco)
US$219
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$295/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

San Francisco Marriott Marquis(San Francisco)
US$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 38% below average rates

The price you found is 38% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$273/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$186
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 36% below average rates

The price you found is 36% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$240/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$159
US$142
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 39% below average rates

The price you found is 39% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$231/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$270
US$186
Westin.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 32% below average rates

The price you found is 32% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$274/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (1,706)
Filter reviews
1,706 results
Traveler rating
404
701
389
122
90
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
404
701
389
122
90
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscafe masonunion squaregreat locationrooms are smallsmall elevatorceiling fanaround the cornerboutique hotelstreet noisebart stationcentral locationtwo blockspowell stparking garageheart of san franciscocable carpublic transportation
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 1,706 reviews
Reviewed 18 May 2018

we stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. great location, close to union square and many other activities in downtown. budget friendly, if you dont wanna spend $300-$400 a night in high end hotel.
Staff: Amazing, very helpful
Rooms: very small as you should expect in San Francisco, most hotels were built long ago, so no AC (you wont need it, temp in san francisco is nice)
Amenities: Wifi was ok, manageable, coffee in the morning, diners close by, they dont offer breakfast (most hotels dont in san francisco from my research or you have to pay) recently renovated so feels kinda new)

Room Tip: request refrigerator or rollaway bed in advance if you need one
  • Stayed: May 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nilay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerome C, Director of Front Office Operations at King George Hotel - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your kind review regarding your recent stay with us. Please come back and see us in the near future and book directly with us to receive deals. We look forward to seeing you soon!

Kind regards,
Jerome Collins, CRDE
Director of Front Office Operations
The King George, A Greystone Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 May 2018 via mobile

The wifi is a bit slow and the neighborhood might be a bit rough. But I guess it’s almost everywhere in San Francisco like that. There are a few homeless people but I never got bothered by any of them.

On the plus site the Hotel is super close to the Union Square and to the Market Street. The room was small which actually was no problem because I was traveling alone. The building is a bit older but got a nice facelift and in fact everything looked quite modern in there. The bar serves good drinks and you can play pool, darts and some other games there.

But what really stood out was the Service. I had a nice conversation during the checkin with Kerem about Istanbul and he gave me the feeling that I am welcome from the first minute. Also everyone else from the staff was super nice and helpful.

I know that service in the US is in general better than in Europe but in the King George Hotel it felt like they really appreciate your visit.

The price for that service, the central location and the Hotel in general is unbeatable. I had a great time. Thank you King George Hotel :)

Stayed: May 2018, traveled solo
Thank Marco K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerome C, Director of Front Office Operations at King George Hotel - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your wonderful review! I'm am pleased that the service was great and that Kerem made it extra special. We strive for excellence in service, I will share this review and Kerem and the team. Thank you and we look forward to seeing you soon! Thanks

Kind regards,
Jerome Collins, CRDE
Director of Front Office Operations
The King George, A Greystone Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 May 2018

Stayed at the King George Hotel for 3 nights. Great location within walking distance of Union Square and the cable car line. The hotel has undergone some renovation and it shows. Super clean room. It was a boutique style but ample room. The bedding was new and comfortable. Friendly staff. They have a happy hour but it really is just a discount on beer so we didn't partake. I understand they will be getting a liquor license soon. The lobby area is updated and fresh. I would definitively stay here again given the opportunity.

  • Stayed: April 2018, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank MaureenCincy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerome C, Director of Front Office Operations at King George Hotel - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2018

Thank you for your wonderful review! We are so thankful and pleased that your stay was most enjoyed. We are working on alot of things for this hotel to make it most comfortable for amazing guests like yourself. Thank you for the kind review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards,
Jerome Collins, CRDE
Director of Front Office Operations
The King George, A Greystone Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 May 2018 via mobile

Friendly service, clean and well equipped room. Helpful reception staff. Nice and quiet at night. Daily room clean. Location is very central. Bar not well stocked but other than that highly recommended.

Stayed: May 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerome C, Director of Front Office Operations at King George Hotel - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2018

We are so pleased that your stay was amazing! We love what we do and that is to create amazing memories for our guest and make them feel most comfortable while staying with us. The team will be thrilled regarding your kind words, I will share this with them. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit!

Kind regards,
Jerome Collins, CRDE
Director of Front Office Operations
The King George, A Greystone Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 May 2018

San francisco was our first stop in USA for our family trip. I really loved to stay here. Warm welcome when we arrived. Nice , clean and cute rooms. Nice bar with happy hour everyday. Perfectly located in downtown area. Almost walking distance to everywhere. Bartender Declan was funny guy. Cleaners were really nice as well as front desk. supervisor guy is really polite and helpful. I wish we would have stayed more. If you are British like us this is great hotel :)

  • Stayed: May 2018, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Britishmanintheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerome C, Director of Front Office Operations at King George Hotel - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2018

We are so pleased that your stay was most enjoyed, I goal is to truley make our guest feel comfortable and pampered. i will share your kind review with Declan and the team as they will be thankful for your kind words. Thanks

Kind regards,
Jerome Collins, CRDE
Director of Front Office Operations
The King George, A Greystone Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews