We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An iconic Fisherman's Wharf restaurant--still going great!”
Review of Scoma's Restaurant

Scoma's Restaurant
Reserve a table
Ranked #96 of 5,823 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$31 - US$50
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Fisherman’s Wharf
Cross street: Jefferson Street
Transit: Muni - #10, #15, #30, #47 Street Car - F Line Cable Car
Description: Scoma's is a San Francisco icon and the only restaurant located in Fisherman's Wharf with a commercial licensed Fish Receiving Station. Freshness and high quality are the main reasons the restaurant has been successful for more than 55 years. Whether guests want to watch the commercial fishing boats in action or enjoy the view of the Bay from the cocktail lounge, come in an join the Scoma's family for one of the best dining experiences San Francisco has to offer. For updated operation information, please visit: https://scomas.com/operations/
Reviewed 2 September 2021

Covid has wiped out many of the classic restaurants on Fisherman's Wharf, yet Scoma's has kept the spirit and quality alive, and they have been doing so for decades. Take some time to view the photos of celebrities, etc along the walls--this was the place to get seafood in the City and it still is.
Many of the servers have worked here for decades, their knowledge of the menu and preparations are amazing. Our server was Sal--friendly, happy, helpful and knowledgeable. Ask for his section when you make the necessary reservations.
The food is prepared and presented superbly. The servers are attentive, yet respect your space and pace...always monitoring, not interrupting. This is a great place for a high end romantic seafood dinner in the City. You cannot leave this place still hungry--very generous portions of all dishes.

Date of visit: August 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Duke1140
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (6,081)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 9 of 6,081 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2021 via mobile

Located right on the waterfront with nice views. They even have their own fish receiving station to prepare fresh catch for the restaurant. Food was excellent and decent portions. Staff was seasoned and highly attentive. Prices are high.

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank SharonB231
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 August 2021

Probably my all time favorite for their variety of local caught fresh fish. Scona’s has their own fishing boats snd staff that go out daily for fresh catch. Whenever I want to enjoy fresh seafood, I head to Scona’s

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank antiaging2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 August 2021

We lived in the Bay Area in the 60s and 70s. Moved to the East Coast (big mistake) but returned every so often to visit friends. First visit since the pandemic and we were absolutely thrilled to realize that Scomas is still the best around. Very disappointed to see that many of the best known wharf restaurants are gone. Also, new to us that Scomas was accepting reservations. Since we were just visiting it made our scheduling easier. A must visit if you are looking for the best dining experience in the area.

Date of visit: August 2021
1  Thank Daniel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 August 2021

I wanted to love this place. It offers classic seafood dishes. The atmosphere on water is comfortable and casually classy. There are lots of seemingly seasoned staff. It just seemed like things were a bit tired? Our main server was friendly but not attentive, we continually needed to remind him for water, bread, remove dirty plates and glasses, etc. Easy stuff. I would expect a little more effort. The place wasn’t crazy busy. I ordered a signature market grilled seafood platter that looked like it sat under the warming lights too long and then had fresh greens put on top to cover up the fact. The accompanying sauce had developed a “skin” from sitting out too long. I was with a couple of lady friends we were well dressed and well mannered and celebrating a special event. When you dine out you want to feel treated a little bit special and it just didn’t feel that way. And yes, I do understand that we are in a time of stress in the world and I am grateful I can dine out but can we all agree to make just a bit of effort?

Date of visit: August 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scoma's Restaurant also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Scoma's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Philippines. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.