We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lebanese favourite ”
Review of Mazzat

Mazzat
Ranked #1,245 of 6,309 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: Lebanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Hayes Valley
Cross street: Laguna
Reviewed 7 June 2017 via mobile

Our third visit to this Lebanese restaurant in Hayes Valley. We booked this time- worth doing as it is small and gets busy. Good selection of hot and cold dishes. Good for vegetarians and wheat -free diners. Try Lebanese wines!

Date of visit: June 2017
Thank lancasterlady2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (47)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2017

Newbies out looking in San Francisco’s Hayes Valley neighborhood for somewhere to eat after a plane journey, we more or less stumbled into Mazzat, and were we glad that we did! It’s a small, narrow, busy place with not more than a dozen tables, and we got seated at just about the last one available mid-evening on a Wednesday. Not quite hungry enough to venture on the Mazzat Platter combo deal (3 Cold Mazzat + 3 Hot Mazzat @ $20 per person and “NO exception”!), we settled instead, without too high expectations, for the Lebanese Style Chicken Artichoke Pizza and the Kafta Wrap (“Ground beef and lamb mixed with parsley and onions wrapped in a lavash with hummus eggplant, potatoes, tahini sauce, and pickles”). The pizza was delicious (chicken in small delicately-seasoned cubes, with a strong basil presence – completely different from your usual bbq chicken pizza) but relatively modest in size, befitting its $10 price-tag, but the $13 wrap was a sumptuous monster – everything listed was in there, sure enough, and in perfect tasty proportion. We went back on our last night, the following Sunday, but… “sorry sir, around 90 minutes to wait for a table” – shoulda booked!

Date of visit: May 2017
Thank davidjbrown10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 January 2017 via mobile

Where I'm from there's a huge Lebanese community so I've tasted authentic Lebanese food as well as in many restaurants in Beirut. I would say the food here is quite authentic & delicious! The chili humus, batata harra, labneh, and 'pizza' made with feta, tomato, & zaatar were all so tasty and spot on! The ambience is lovely with twinkling lights and great music. The staff is amazing particularly a waitress named Semra (hope I spelled it right) she was very helpful with recommendations and always making sure glasses were filled & warm bread was plentiful. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone I know visiting San Francisco looking for great food & ambience.

Date of visit: January 2017
Thank travelbug4886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 December 2016

We enjoyed our dinner at this restaurant. We often eat Lebanese food at home and this was different than we are used to but still very good. We tried about 8 different hot and cold dishes and enjoyed them. Service was attentive and good.

Date of visit: November 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank debs0712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 October 2016 via mobile

I can't figure out why this place isn't packed every night with people, this restaurant is a little gem in SF!

Why? Well, the food is simply delicious if you like Mediterranean style, service is nice, price very cheap and there's always room to sit!

What are you waiting for?

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank Julien S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mazzat also viewed

San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Mazzat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing