We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (796)
Filter reviews
796 results
Traveler rating
382
275
87
34
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
382
275
87
34
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews city hall civic center performing arts time share hard boiled eggs asian art museum continental breakfast yogurt boutique hotel public transportation european style hotel sitting room small hotel there is no air conditioning european feel valet parking coffee maker
Filter
Updating list...
78 - 83 of 796 reviews
Reviewed 11 December 2016

What a treasure find this boutique hotel is in the heart of civic center right next to the opera house! Friendly, welcoming, helpful, and certainly priced right for a City hotel! Step back in time and enjoy this Jewel of the City!!

  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Phil Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisabeth_EAE, Owner Care at Inn at the Opera, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2017

Thank you so much for sharing this feedback, Phil. We appreciate that you took the time to share your experience with us. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Inn at the Opera. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 December 2016

This is a true step back in time! One elevator, with the window so you see the floors, and you have to open an exterior door! It is an older building, and they have kept it as true to the history, or as close as possible! Very cute, GREAT valet service, but you will have issues with all the things that come with an older building. Slow (but cool) elevator, smaller rooms, less sound proofing and the bathrooms aren't quiet what you are use to in a newer hotel. What will balance that out is wonderful service, and very nice continental breakfast (bagels, croissants, breads for toasting, english muffins,seasonal breads (dessert) cereals and instant oatmeal as well as teas and wonderful coffee! Walking distance to all of Hayes Valley (so much fun!) and Max's at the Opera and so many other sites to either walk to or a short cab ride!

  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JULIE M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah S, Case Specialist, Owner Care at Inn at the Opera, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2017

Thank you for this great feedback, Julie. This will allow us to continue to enhance the vacation experience at our resort. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 November 2016

This Inn is at a convenient location for our needs. There are really no good hotels in the Hayes Valley, Civic Center area. It's clean, service is excellent and the continental buffet breakfast is a treat. The only improvement I would make would be in getting King sized beds for the rooms. They are on the small side. This is our second visit to the hotel and we'll be going here again.

  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ken Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 November 2016

This is a very quiet hotel even though it is in the middle of the city. The rooms are very small ; but nicely laid out and clean. It is close to public transportation. It is within easy walking distance of symphony,opera,ballet and yummy restaurants.

Room Tip: If you need a large room choose a more expensive room.
  • Stayed: June 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thewhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 November 2016

Stayed for a week at the Inn through Interval exchange.Rooms are clean, front desk polite and helpful, breakfast - good selection and excellent service. Hotel is centrally located, took about 30 minutes on BART train from SFO airport to the Civic Center station,then 7-10 min walk to the hotel. You can easily manage without a car within the city limits-Uber is the fastest and cheapest way to get around. Inn is in the historic building, so the areas are on a smaller side, however, i found the room and breakfast lounge quite comfortable. Staff is friendly, gave us a map of the city and recommendations re: dining and attractions. The room had a tiny kitchenette with sink, microwave and tiny fridge. they supplied tea towels, dish soap, coffee, filters and a set of plates/glasses for 2 people. Eventhough we did not cook, it was nice to have it all just to chill and serve the drinks.

  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Torontasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews