We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$184
US$159
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$210/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$334
US$176
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$235/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$205
Westin.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 36% below average rates

The price you found is 36% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$322/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$231
US$206
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$278/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$280
US$269
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$318/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$219
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$179
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 28% below average rates

The price you found is 28% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$248/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Grand Hyatt San Francisco(San Francisco)
US$189
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 38% below average rates

The price you found is 38% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$303/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

San Francisco Marriott Marquis(San Francisco)
US$244
US$239
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$292/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Union Square(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,176)
Filter reviews
1,176 results
Traveler rating
162
408
353
168
85
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
162
408
353
168
85
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop poolmarket streetcivic centermin walktwo double bedspublic transportationcityfunkysomabartmosconeuberwharfcable
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 1,176 reviews
Reviewed 21 May 2018

it was our first road trip to san Francisco and celebrate my wife 50th bday and we needed to a hotel room my family of four (4) and the hotel staff glenn Garcia was able to help us reserved one room for us the whole night, we appreciate it all. thank you much.

Room Tip: our room was spacious, orderly and clean... all in all great!
  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmmall0rca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles W, Front Office Manager at Americania Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2018

Hello jmmall0rca,

Americania Hotel was designed for guests on a road trip and we are thrilled to read your 5-star review! Thank you for allowing our Glenn to help your family celebrate your trip and special occasion. Please send our birthday wishes to Mrs. jmmall0rca from the whole Americania Team!

Warm Wishes,
Charles W
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 May 2018 via mobile

Had to grab a bite before we left San Fran so popped across the way from the Good hotel we were staying @.
I had the fallafal burger , tasted over cooked & no real flavour unfortunately.
My wife had tortillas & salsa . She said they were chewy & not great.
Restaurant was clean& enjoyed watching ice hockey on the large tv screens. If you have the time you would be better to find Dottie’s cafe 2-3blocks away .

Stayed: May 2018
Thank crashing c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles W, Front Office Manager at Americania Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2018

Hello crashing c,

Thank you for your review of K-OZ Restaurant and Brewery. We appreciate your feedback of the falafel burger and will share this with the restaurant management. They will be happy to hear that you enjoyed the large TVs while watching hockey.

Regards,
Charles W
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 May 2018 via mobile

Hotel condition was ok. Nothing great. Has a nice bar in the lobby with friendly staff and good drinks. Breakfast bags to go was a nice touch. Mainly chose this hotel because we needed to sleep 6 people.

Stayed: May 2018, traveled with family
Thank riehle277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles W, Front Office Manager at Americania Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2018

Hello riehle277,

We're happy to read that our friendly staff and spacious rooms that sleeps six was a good fit for your visit to San Francisco. K-OZ Restaurant and Brewery is a great option for breakfast, lunch or happy hours drinks and snacks.

On your next trip to San Francisco we hope that you'll choose Americania Hotel again.

Regards,
Charles W
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 May 2018

it was a nice hotel and i will stay there again and it was 8 years ago this Month when i went to San Francisco it was for my 16th Birthday and the pool was good :) also the room was nice as well and i will be back in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ross H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles W, Front Office Manager at Americania Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2018

Dear Ross H,

Thank so much for your 5-Star review! We greatly appreciate your review for your experience from 2010. Better late than never!

We hope to see you again for your upcoming birthday. Our heated pool is ready when you are!

Best Wishes,
Charles W
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 April 2018

The hotel is average or what you would expect for the price range. This was formerly a Best Western. Be careful of cancellation policies. After they dropped they BW franchise status, I tried to cancel and was told I was out of luck. Not a good start, but we stayed at the hotel anyways. Rooms are clean, but poorly air-conditioned/heated. Our room had a portable heating/AC unit with a hose running out the window. All of this is fine, however the neighborhood was too scary for my family. I'm a big guy and even I was scared of walking the neighborhood with all the homeless people. At least my kids got to see their first drug deal and we could have a conversation about not doing drugs. If you have a family, find somewhere closer to Fisherman's wharf or a more tourist centric location.

  • Stayed: April 2018, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gopherlawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles W, Front Office Manager at Americania Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2018

Hello gopherlawyer,

Thank you for sharing your experience. Many reservations have a 24-hour cancellation policy, though some, especially discounted rates and group rates are non-cancellable and non-refundable. All of our guestrooms have heaters. Recently, we began installing AC units in select rooms, but still do not advertise this feature. We are more than happy to see if an AC ready room is available upon check-in if requested. San Francisco is definitely a unique city in terms of its residents. Should you feel uncomfortable or unsafe, please speak with one of our front desk hosts. They are happy to offer safe and quick methods to navigate and explore San Francisco.

Warm Regards,
Charles W
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews